San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
262 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Stylish beachfront boutique hotel located in the trendy Condado Ashford Avenue. Superb service and spacious rooms with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Condado Lagoon. The hotel is ideally located only 3 miles from Old San Juan, 7 miles from the international airport, 3 miles to the Cruise pier, and only 10 minutes from the business district. Shop at 'Garbo' in-house clothing boutique or take a 2 minute walk to the European designer boutiques such as Cartier, Salvatore Ferragamo, Louis Vuitton, Montblanc and others. Many high end dining options or family venues such as Chili's, Subway and others within a minute walk. For the joggers and walkers Ashford Avenue offers a jogging route to all of Condado or to Old San Juan.
Guests can visit the hotel's restaurant lobby bar, where the who's who of San Juan gather and mingle the night away, enjoying the view of the Atlantic Ocean while listening to lounge music. The restaurant & lounge also overlook the ocean and serves creative cuisine to satisfy you for lunch, dinner. Enjoy the oceanfront views at our oceanfront pool deck and terrace and enjoy some ice cream at our 'Coldstone' Ice Cream parlor.
Hotel amenities: Offers 24-Hour Valet Parking Service / 24 hour Ocean-front swimming pool / free Broadband Internet service / conference facilities / Ocean Ballroom serves up to 200 ppl. with Condado's most amazing ocean views/ The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meetings of 10 to 20 ppl. / Lagoon Ballroom can serve up to 60 people.. The Executive and Lagoon have beautiful views of the Condado Lagoon.
We can make arragements for many local tours, Old San Juan, Rainforest (El Yunque), Bioluminescent Bay, Horseback and many others.

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gr8days
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 9, 2013

So much to do

This hotel is in the perfect location! The hotel was recently renovated and the staff were very friendly and helpful! This was a girls trip and we never ran out of things to do! Strongly reccomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Old San Juan and El Yunque!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki n John
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Dirty hotel stay.

Location is great, Lobby/ Restaurant/ pool areas look very nice and fancy! We had to wait around for 3 hours to check into our hotel on a Sunday. They allowed us to use the pool and free wi-fi. We checked into our 2 rooms (we had 8 people). In my room I noticed about a 5 foot by 5 foot area by the air conditioner was soaking wet. Our TV had terrible reception, our pillows had mold spots, our shower had very poor water pressure and the light in the bathroom was out, it smelled very musty. I tried to look past all of these things but couldn't. I told the front desk about all the issues and they assured me a repair man would take a look. About an hour later my husband had enough. He went to the front desk to ask for another room. She happily gave us keys to a different room, this room was better. I definitely expected something more clean but maybe you can't find that outside of the USA. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you just looking for a bed and don't mind a dirty room that smells musty your all set. i would definitely spend more and get something clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot of food places and bars close to this restaurant! Also a short drive to the air port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Midwest Honeymooner
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Mar 5, 2013

Disappointing

Stayed here for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay somewhere that was close to Old San Juan, which this hotel was. The pictures that this hotel puts on the booking websites are terribly misleading. The room was musty and smelled of mildew. The blinds did not work. When we arrived, there were no towels in the bathroom. That leads me to the worst part of this room...the bathtub was rusting and had obviously been painted. A rubber mat had been suctioned to the bottom of the bathtub, which only made it harder to stand in. It was a miracle that neither of us slipped and fell while taking a shower. The only saving grace of this hotel was the front desk staff. They were attentive and always had a smile. I just wish that they would have offered a new room after having to call down with issues twice in the first evening. The hotel hot tub did not work the entire time we were there. The bar/restaurant staff seemed uninterested in serving us when we stopped in. This was fine, however, since we really had no interest in sticking around the hotel in the first place. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definitely be visiting San Juan again, but will not make the mistake of staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the street food vendors when in San Juan. The food can be rather pricey in San Juan and the vendors offer local food options at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
excited mom
Business
condado
Feb 27, 2013

needed to get away

was dissappointed there is no complimentary breakfast,no free internet access,hotel loooked like it was going thru some renovations, no washcloths in the bathroom which I though was weird

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go on the boat trip in old san juan....good time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lloyd allen
Business
San Diego, California
Feb 23, 2013

PR getaway

Well to start off, it wasn't good.. I paid in advance $1500.00 and when I get there I had to deposit another $250.. That sounds more like a motel, than a Hotel.. Had an ocean view, but the windows were dirty so it took away from the view. Needs alot of housekeeping, the housekeeper made the bed everyday but, only cleaned the floors maybe once or twice my whole 15 day stay. The frontdesk staffing was not very friendly or knowledgeable on things in the area, like where I could go to do laundry.. Overall I Love Puerto Rico and that Area, so I still had a Fantastic Vacation!! Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Atlantic Beach Hotel with a very nice Restaurant and Bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Dawood
Business
New York
Feb 22, 2013

Wonderful Stay!

The staff is great! The room was a great value for your money. The location is perfect. If you are going on a budget vacation...stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A short ride to old san juan and isla verde.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A Local from Puerto Rico
Business
St. Louis, MO
Feb 18, 2013

Weekend Escapade

If it wasn't for this website deal package I would have not purchased it. The price from the hotel website is too over priced. I went from booking at $500 to $300 for St. Valentine's weekend. I booked an ocean view, king size bed with fridge. I was then put in that lagoon view but with the same amenities. For a 10th floor that was renovated, it still needs some finishing touches.Also, the carpet, the windows and the curtains need to be clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Just walk around the Condado area, no need for a taxi.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ChetY
Business
Boston
Feb 12, 2013

Nice location but.....

Oh does this place need serious work. Of the 6 days we were there...4 had no hot water. It's really too bad because the location is excellent...walking to most everything. The staff is pleasant enough but they are always apologizing for shabby, filthy rooms and things that don't work. There should be someone in the lobby just for complaints. We were told they had renovated the place. They HAVE NOT. Nice pool area, close to beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rita Brig
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 2, 2013

It's ok!!

The hotel is at a great location! The bathtub was dirty, and the water wasnt going down, it was stuck for hours. What suck is that there is no parking, and valet is overpriced! But overall it is an ok hotel. I will recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Good walking distance restaurants!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Born to Travel
Business
Salinas, CA
Jan 23, 2013

Nothing Like the Pictures!

I use travel discount websites all the time and this is the first time that the hotel does not match the description and pictures found online. The rooms are bare, there is no scenic backyard beach, and the location is not walking distance from the center of Old San Juan. Yes the hotel is very affordable so I guess you get what you pay for, but do not be fooled by the pictures. The backyard beach is not even accessible and is surrounded by rocks so you cannot event get in. Also when we arrived the hotel had no running water for 20 minutes and our phone line did not work nor did they ever fix it even though we informed them about it. I would not stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top