$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
264 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (264)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
264 out of 264
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TruePRican
Business
Boston, MA
May 20, 2013

Great Experience

My only complaint is: Internet signal was very poor in my room and I had to frequently go downstairs to the lobby or pool area to connect my laptop. All other things were perfect... great attention to the customer, nice and clean pool area, location is excellent, lobby staff was very attentive. I definitively recommend this hotel to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cosmopolite
Business
Dallas, Texas
May 12, 2013

San juan Beach Hotel

Excellent location, Clean, quiet, safe. good experience overall. I woud return. The hotel is older, but well maintained.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You are in a tourist area so do not expect bargains

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Area Traveler
Business
Riverdale, MD
May 12, 2013

Enjoyed My Stay

The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. My room was large, clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jacobus
Business
Belgium
Apr 24, 2013

older couple

After having read the reviews, we were prepaired for a the worse, but it turned out much better. The hotel must have made some improvements, for the room was big, clean and recently painted. The furniture was dated, but ok. We had a lovely 5 days in San Juan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ladyisdog1
Business
wappingers falls ny
Apr 24, 2013

disappointed

The hallway smelled of old paint, room moldy. No working lights. 2nd room: no curtains, no working phone, no remote control, no garbage can, no coffee pot, no microwave, no room service. Still under construction, and I was given one with three small children and no apology from nite staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lewis Y
Business
Georgia
Apr 18, 2013

Good value. Good experience

I read a lot of negative commments about this hotel before. I was nervous checking in. This place turn out to be of great value! Room is clean, although furniture is old. Staff is ok, and the restaurant downstairs is wonderful! You can eat and drink by the sea. There is no smell in my room at all. Elevator is working well. Considering the price, which is half of the rate with nearby hotels, it's a good place to stay. It's within walking distance to the luxury shops, and 5 minutes drive from old San Juan. Parking is 18+tax/day, which is a bit expensive. If you go a few feet, parking is only 8/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Peruvian restaurant downstairs is great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LOLAGIRLCAFE
Business
Mount Laurel, NJ
Apr 5, 2013

NEVER AGAIN!!!!!

I must say that San Juan, PR overall is beyond beautiful. Our family stay at the hotel (San Juan Beach Hotel) left much to be desired, such as the staff's overall friendliness and hospitality. On two occasions I walked into our sleeping quarters from getting out the shower and housekeeping was actually cleaning the room!!! Totally deplorable...plus when I mentioned her knocking before hand... she had the nerve to tell me to put the DO NOT DISTURB sign up the next time...staff overall was very rude!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

OLD SAN JUAN ATTRACTIONS AND TOURS WERE GREAT!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Brenda renee
Business
Mexico
Apr 2, 2013

Good

It was a good staying, but some person in the front desk needs to be nicer with the clients.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wen310
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Awful

Basically, you get what you pay for. That being said, I should've know. Regardless, the staff itself should put their best foot forward and be welcoming. There was never a time when we approached the front desk and someone greeted us. NEVER. We had to say excuse me for any kind of acknowledgement. They were either in conversations with each other or texting. The room was dirty, filthy. I put my baby on the carpet to crawl and his knees and feet were black when i picked him up. The so called baby pool was full of sand. The bathrooms were dirty and we constantly had to ask for fresh towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hacienda Don Jose right down the street. good food, decent service and an amazing view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYC Big Dog
Business
New York City
Mar 18, 2013

Not Bad for a 2 Star

For a 2 star hotel it was very pleasant, however I was not thrilled with the car rental right next to the valet which caused congestion but the young men were able to handle it and get to my car and I sustained no damages. This hotel has had a lot of good work done to it and the the staff was very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at Dunkin Donuts or Wendys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top