$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
262 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
eddie reyez.
Business
nyc.
Jun 5, 2009

unbeatable price.

To whom it may concern;I josephine pappalardo/my husband harry luis rivera.we were not awered that the san juan beach hotel was under construction.in our first three days the hotel had to close building water line. do to construction.breakfast schedule 6am.to 10am. but breakfast was not searve to after 7am. my husbend harry luis rivera.is a travel consultan.and we fill that it was inconvience for us i hope the hotel management can compensate for a future stay.thank you.josephine pappalardo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Jun 4, 2009

HORRIBLE

THERE WAS CONSTUCTION IN THE LOBBY AND THE HOTEL WAS AT A TERRIBLE LOCATION. THE HOTEL ROOM WAS SMALL AND DIRTY. THE HOTEL NAME IS THE PERFECT WAY TO CON PEOPLE INTO MAKING A RESERVATION TO STAY THER. WE THOUGHT IT WOULD BE A RESORT TYPE SETTING ON THE BEACH WITH WONDERFUL SERVICE.. WE WERE TOTALLY WRONG. WE CANCELLED OUR RESERVATION AND STAYED SOMEWHERE ELSE THE SAME DAY WE GOT THERE. WE WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN EVEN IF IT WAS FOR FREE.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lastchance
Business
springfield Il
Jun 1, 2009

lol they need to update there page!!!!

the pool was only open the day we got there and due to the construction was closed the rest of the time (it was ok i don't think pools are supposed to be slime green) Our power in our room went out twice. and then finally had to move to a better room (with power) everything was damp and smelled a lil like mold. (there was mold on the ceiling of our room) I think this hotel will be great once the construction is done and they install dehumidifyers. The staff however was great and very helpfull. this hotel just needs someone to take care of it and i don't think the owners are doing a very good job of checkin to see if the rooms are cleand correctly and everything is in order for there guests. sad its in such a great spot and is not being takin care of.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Video bar is a short walk and pretty cheap if you wanna chill and have a few drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
angelinabond
Business
Irvine, CA
May 26, 2009

If you're not high maintenance & single.

The location of this place is amazing - and most of the rooms have a direct view of the beach, so you can hear the waves all night. I loved that. However, for about 3 hours there was no running water due to the massive construction in the lobby. This was the cheapest hotel I could find, so I couldn't complain... but for $75/night, I would like water and clean towels (not blackened). However, the staff was very nice and helpful. The sheets and towels don't look or smell like they are cleaned after every guest, but again... for the cheapest price you can get in Conado, this is what you get. Def doable if you're not high maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

2 miles away from old san juan - walking distance: 1 hr. Bus stop is nearby. Banks are nearby. Other hotels are nearby. Isla verde is nearby and so is the airport. But unlike hotels in Isla Verde, in Conado you don't hear a plane every time one takes off or lands.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Gentleman
Business
Massachusetts
May 22, 2009

Great location, great price

The San Juan Beach Hotel is in a great location in lying right at the Condado Beach, 10 minute bus drive to Old San Juan and everything you could possibly need when staying on a vacation. Walgreens about 2 blocks away, park where the beach is, 24 hour convenience stores, swimming part of the beach was less than a 5 minute walk away, Chilli's across the street, Subway a little farther down, Starbucks, Haagen Dazs, souvenir shops, local restaurants and bars, bus stops very close to the hotel, tattoo shop near by. Everywhere we went seafood was very cheap (I'm from MA so I know seafood prices). The pool was in the back of the hotel with a view of the beach and was great. The people who didn't use it lost out on a lot. It lies right under the sun so it's a very refreshing swim. The staff was very helpful when we asked them anything, the lobby was under construction but you can't knock them down for that every place has to go through it. Computer with internet and pay phones available where the lobby was. Elevator was surprisingly quick (we were on the 9th floor and it felt like we were on the 2nd or 3rd floor). The complimentary breakfast was very good. It had OJ, fruit punch, bagels, muffins, cereal, omelette's were 3 bucks each and were very good and definitely worth it. The only negatives I found were that towels and bed sheets had been in the hotel for a while (stains) and the carpet in the hallway was a little stained too and the WiFi didn't have a strong signal. Otherwise, great place to be and definitely will go again without question.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Haciendo Don Jose was absolutely amazing. Oceanview seating and food out of this world. The mofongo was 5 stars easily (if you don't know what it is look it up).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joel & Dejana
Business
Orlando, FL
May 6, 2009

San Juan beach hotel

Unfortunately, the experience that me and my wife had was definately NOT what we had in mind. I mean that not in a nice way. Firstable, the hotel didn't have a lobby. It was under construction!The room was disgusting, not to mentioned I had to call three times for them to fix the shower. I am originally from Puerto Rico and I want it to show my wife this beautiful Island. Definately NOT what I want it her to experienced. The pictures you have posted in your website about this hotel are definately not updadated. I don't understand why they are charging so much, especially when they are under construction. They shall not be allow to operate under those conditions. It is a health hazard and a safety hazard to stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
May 4, 2009

not worth the price of admission

Room was totally enclosed. you could not open a window to take in the night air. The elevators were constantly being repaired, the hallways were dull and smelly and the ice machine was out of order. I'll make sure that I never stay at or recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

From hotel to old San Juan is a five minute drive. eveyone should visit it and enjoy all the shops.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
cleanqueen
Business
Boston MA
May 4, 2009

musty dirty bedding!! Never again!

the entire hotel was under construction! The staff was rude and discourteous. I went out to buy blankets because my comfortor was dirty from the last guest that stayed there. My luggage still smells like that dump!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at angels cafe great service and the guys will fill you in on what's happening!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UNSATISFIED!
Business
Upland, CA
May 4, 2009

Worst Stay EVER!

I have been to Puerto Rico Several times on business and this was my worst stay anywhere. The staff is extemely unfriendly. When you ask a question they make you feel like you are bothering them. They claim that all rooms have internet access and they don't. When i asked about it they told me to just use my computer in the lobby. They also don't tell you that they charge $20 a day for their valet parking. I didn't find that out till i was checking out. Staying at this hotel was a HUGE mistake and I will never stay there again! If you want a place where you are treated friendly and with good customer service DON'T STAY HERE! There are plenty other places in Puerto Rico that have better service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Celia & Mike
Business
New Jersey
May 4, 2009

Nightmare

When we arrived at the hotel we were completely shocked by what we encountered. The hotel lobby was completely gutted out. There were no walls, windows wires were hanging from every part of the lobby. It looked like the place was bomb. We were afraid to walk into the place. The manager insisted that we look at the rooms , he said they were beautiful. Well I can't imagine what he considered to be beautiful. The rooms were disgusting, the ceilings were falling down, the rooms smelled of cat urine. The bathroom towels were used, dirty and wet. The rugs were filty you couldn't even walk on them, let alone sleep on the filty beds. I can't believe that Orbiz would have this hotel listed as a place to stay. We will NEVER stay at that hotel.Sincerely,Aracelia MercadoMichael Corio[@]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top