$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
texrecan
Business
DFW Texas
Feb 18, 2010

rent by hour hotel

arrive early 10am and had a 3pm check in,that wasn't a problem it was the 4:25 check in that was. Not having hot water to bath was my next problem and the rooms had a moldy smell covered up with cleaner smell. The bed springs keep waking me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mexican restauant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ninbel
Business
fall river ,MA
Feb 17, 2010

the ugly expierence

horrobable...and never going back.it was bad smelling and bad rooms and servises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 12, 2010

Needs an overhaul!

The location was convenient, but the condition of the hotel was just laughable. The staff explained that they were planning to totally remodel the hotel this coming year, but it was just silly. I guess I felt "safe", but it was dirty and the towels did not even match. The door had epoxy holding it together. : )One good thing is that the room was very spacious. It was the cheapest place that seemed to be in a safe neighborhood. One interesting note is that the hotels in this neighborhood (some of which were very fancy) transform their lobbies into dance clubs at night. We were warned b fellow travelers ahead of time, otherwise we might have been upset. Another important note is that most hotels require you to pay $20+ for valet parking....you don't really have much of a choice if you have a rental car. Appareantly rental cars are very much a target for theft all over Puerto Rico, so be mindful of this fact. : ) Bottom line, I would recommend this room if you were needing to get a cheap room, but still feel like you were in a "safe" part of town. but if you have more money to spend, go somewhere else. : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vivian's trip
Business
atlanta, ga
Feb 11, 2010

hotel from hell

The hotel was being renovated.. dust was everywhere and noise level was equally high. The room was a horror. Mold on the walls, spots on furniture and beding. I remained at that this hotel long enough to relocate to another estimated one hour. We forfeited one night fee in doing so but I could not expose my son nor myself to unhealthy conditions. My son nicknamed this hotel..Hell Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Digusted in SJU.
Business
ATL
Jan 21, 2010

Disgusted in SJU.

When we checked in we waited 1 hr and decided to go eat since there were more guests ahead of us that had not checked in. There was only one person checking in the guests. When we came back from dinner we still had to wait. The light in the bathroom wasn't working, however they took care of that. The towles in the bathroom didn't look clean, so I used my own. The worst part was the pillows that had mold on them. Really disgusting. We checked out the following morning, we were suppose to stay two more nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2009

The bad, The worse, and the really ugly"

The San Juan Beach Hotel is a very terrible place to vacation at. The hotel was on the outer edege of Town next to a dirty Lagoon.The beach view was not any better with it being full of trash, no access to the beach cause it was locked.The pool was a royal mess, ladders were unblolted and ripped out of the side wall, all kinds of gross green stuff was growing on and inside the pool, it was cleaned or maintained and not fit to swim in.The room was a torn down and not maintained, sheets blankets and pillows all smelled like mold and were not clean.The bath room and the rooms needed to be remodeled and taken care of soon.The ceiling was constructed of tile sytle ceiling with rust falling from it!!!The tub and shower area was full of mold dirt and grime and smelled.tub had holes and rusted areas throughout!The whole room was some what finished from construction but a long ways from being listed as anything to sleep in.The service and staff was rude un friendly and not helpful.No free breakfest and way to much money for over priced food.The location of the hotel is in the dirty far part of san juan with construction going on all around, with run down hotels leaking of sewer water and stench.The hotel was bad and i dod not recommend at all!If you have no car don't take the taxi rent a car the taxi service is 15 bucks and up and get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you stay in san juan don't eat any of the dinners there to expensive and way over charged head to old san juan the whole time your there friendly people and the culture is true lived there..and much cleaner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
W7C
Business
TEXAS
Nov 30, 2009

THE GOOD, THE BAD

WAS DIFFERENT THAT I SAW, IN THE INTERNET SAID THAT THE REMODELATION WAS FINISH IN OCT 30, 2009, AND IS NOT FINISH YET. DONT HAVE SERVICE OF TELEPHONE ONLY FOR THE LOBBY, DONT HAVE SERVICE OF INTERNET, DONT CLEAN THE ROOM. ONLY WE LIKE THE LOCATION THAT IS THE HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trip traveler
Business
In the US
Nov 22, 2009

Not great but they handel every need!

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 22, 2009

Disaster

I unfortunately had to cancle my reservation due to the room windows not closing due to paint drying & not letting the windows close fully, 1/4 of roll of Tissue paper, ONLY 1 towel in a 2 person reservation. I was ONLY offered a DIRTY room because the cleaning staff left at 5PM. On top of that, they were forcing one to use a Valet Parking charging you $21/day claiming they do not have parking in the hotel. You have a young 21 year old girl in the Lobby with a 23 y/o boy as her night supervisor. Neither one of them able to handle the situation that was piling up a the front desk. The young female had to go track someone that ran off with the keys to the keybox in order for her to give me my room key.I work for the US ARMY & travel to Central, South America & the Carribean. I've gone to third world countries that offer better rooms than this & service with a smile, no matter what. I only need a clean bed to sleep on & Nice cool room (Which was going to happen due to the window not being able to close), but the complaints I heard in the lobby while waiting to check in made me think twice after inspecting my room.A few complaints were the following:- No clean towls in 2 days since a customer has been in the hotel. (Clean Towls were even requested)- No Tissue Paper.- No Clean Bed sheets (Even upon request)Let's not forget that the Hotel is STILL NOT FINISHED with its remodeling (Which was suppose to be done by 31 Oct 09).I fortunately had a plan B & it was to stay with my godchild in his apartment. But I needed to stay in the city for a few days to conduct buisness & visit friends since I had lived in Puerto Rico for 4 yrs.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your reserch before you arrive. Talk to someone that has been there or lived there. Best Place to shop for Souveniers is Old San Juan. Always carry small bils separate fom larger bills before going shopping. Leave expensive jewelry at home (Any country you travel to). Travel by taxi, phone books have a pretty good list after arriving in county). Old San Juan has many attractions that would take you most of a day to look at, but most are out of town & I would recomend a rental w\GPS so you don't get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ualjulie
Business
Warrenton, VA
Nov 17, 2009

renovation needed

We were only there for one night and it was enough! This will probably be very nice when the renovation is completed, but for right now I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms were decorated in the late 70's style and the mattress felt like it was that old too. The towels were grey and dingy, and the carpet stained. The front desk was very disorganized and couldn't seem to figure out where to put the guests and we were asked to stand aside while they took care of guests that had "reservations". We did book on short notice but I don't think that we needed to be kicked to the back of the line until the front desk got themselves organized. The area surrounding the hotel is nice and I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the mofongo or any other traditional dish at Bebo's cafe. It is near De Diego Street and was delicious. It is standard cafe decor but the food is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top