$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
287 out of 287
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Italian woman very upset
Business
Italy
Nov 16, 2009

the worst hotel I've ever seen in life!

the hotel didn't conclude restructuring (announced for 31/10), there is people working, lot of noise: anyway they didn't restructure rooms, still dirty, orrible, wet (originally '60). The lobby will be perfect in a few weeks but the entire floor is a disco!! the first dance-party was on up to 3am, with all the people (few, anyway) in the rooms very upset. The hair dry did't work, there are no phone in many rooms, and they don't work!! the only public phone is in the first underfloor, close to a dead mouse! Sometimes they forgot to clean the room and we find at night the bed and everything like it was in the morning. orrible. never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2009

The bad, The worse, and the really ugly"

The San Juan Beach Hotel is a very terrible place to vacation at. The hotel was on the outer edege of Town next to a dirty Lagoon.The beach view was not any better with it being full of trash, no access to the beach cause it was locked.The pool was a royal mess, ladders were unblolted and ripped out of the side wall, all kinds of gross green stuff was growing on and inside the pool, it was cleaned or maintained and not fit to swim in.The room was a torn down and not maintained, sheets blankets and pillows all smelled like mold and were not clean.The bath room and the rooms needed to be remodeled and taken care of soon.The ceiling was constructed of tile sytle ceiling with rust falling from it!!!The tub and shower area was full of mold dirt and grime and smelled.tub had holes and rusted areas throughout!The whole room was some what finished from construction but a long ways from being listed as anything to sleep in.The service and staff was rude un friendly and not helpful.No free breakfest and way to much money for over priced food.The location of the hotel is in the dirty far part of san juan with construction going on all around, with run down hotels leaking of sewer water and stench.The hotel was bad and i dod not recommend at all!If you have no car don't take the taxi rent a car the taxi service is 15 bucks and up and get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you stay in san juan don't eat any of the dinners there to expensive and way over charged head to old san juan the whole time your there friendly people and the culture is true lived there..and much cleaner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lindenwold,nj
Dec 7, 2010

dissapointed

the room was not as expected. the hotel provide parking at a rate of $18/day plus $1.00 for the valet. the entrance needs improvement. the bathroom was having a lot of rust. the tv was having only basic no cable. small area for email. no eating facility available need to go out to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

none available. view was nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brown
Business
Florida
Feb 13, 2011

Save your money!!!

Do not stay Here! The pictures of the place must have been taken 40 years ago. Looks good on the net but wait until you get there. Everything is outdated to say the least. Front desk people do not seem to have complete information to inform the guests. They will tell you one thing and it winds up being the opposite. Ask numerous questions on any and all subjects. Example: Will our room be serviced daily? If so what is the procedure? In the bar the prices varied from bartender to bartender. Do not pay for upgrades, this is like throwing money out the window. The spectacular view could be seen if they would only clean the windows, won't happen. We were told by a local, (From Tampa) you should have seen the place before the rentivated it, ha,ha,ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is "gambling" located close. Live entertainment is in old San Jaun, 3.5 mile walk or $18.00 cab with tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2011

Broke down palace!

I am so glad I was just passing through! An 8+ story hotel had 4 chairs at the pool. With paint and walls falling down, I was worried about asbestos. Oh yes, how can I forget about the mold in the bathroom and the stains on the carpet that matched the stains on the bed spreads. Hmmmmm, did I mention the roaches crawling on our toothbrushes when we woke the following morning? And who could forget the rude front desk personnel that acted like I should have thanked them because I wasn't camping! Absolute SxxxxxxE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Apr 12, 2011

The Good, the bad and the really ugly

This hotel was terrible. The staff was not at all pleasant. The rooms were cheaply furnished and very unclean. The bathtub had been painted and the paint was peeling off. A terrible place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
achaura
Business
Fremont, CA, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Puetorico getaway

Not Pleasant , No breakfast is provided , parking is extra 18$ a day , hotel rooms lack cleanliness.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Roche family
Business
Connecticut
Feb 20, 2012

Mid Winter Visit

First impression was average. However, when we were made aware that there was no parking at the hotel, yet they offered valet in the parking of the hotel was $18a day! We had to leave a deposit prior to receiving the key to the room. The shower only had HOT water in a carribean island! The hotel had a musty, old food smell! The check out times were not coordinated with our departure flight, We were told that to extend our stay it would be at a $50 an hour charge. However, when we asked how much to rent for the day if we walked in from the street we were told $60 for 8 hours! We had to constantly go downstairs from the 8th floor to request towels. The phone in the room didn't work and the windows had no curtains. There was still hair in the shower so we provided our own housekeeping. Not to mention the sheets were only flat sheets that continued to move off the bed. The location was excellent because of all the shops and options of restaraunts and right on the beach. The staffing need to focus on more customer service satisfaction and not treat there customers like below average people! I would suggest that maybe offering a cup of coffee for those who arrive at 5am in the morning or even a snack for the children till the restaraunts open up. You had to go to different floors to get ice or something to drink. I will return to Puerto Rico, but not to the San Juan Beach Hotel! Next time accommidations should be made to coordinate check in and check out times according to customers with vacation packages!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Denny's for breakfast, Cafe Caribe located across from Denny's for dinner. I would suggest walk around to the shops because there is no parking!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Norma P.
Business
Los Angeles, CA 90033, USA
Mar 18, 2012

Not what I expected

I had read poor reviews about this place but I was traveling on a budget. The location is good, steps away from the beach but very rocky. Five minutes away, you can rent beach chairs for $5 all day. The room was very dirty, I walked in to the bathroom and there was toilet tissue paper on the floor and the bathtub, there was other people's hair in the "clean" towel. The few furniture pieces in the room were way old and looked like they were ready to brake. The carpet was dingy and old. The beds were some what uncomfortable , the bed was hard and I think there were flees or some sort of bugs on the bed. A few days into my stay I saw I had bug bites on both my legs. There are hardly any Mosquitos so I know it wasn't a mosquito bite. The room smells humid, I was afraid it was mold I was smelling. The walls of the building have paint that scraping off and the corridor carpet has bumps on it. I took a bottle of alcohol and sprayed everything you can possibly touch in the room. The bathtub was really gross I dumped most my alcohol on it. I met someone staying at the same hotel and she had to keep her ac on the entire time at 68 degrees to keep her wall from leaking water. The other thing that REALLY bothered me was the number of pool chairs the hotel had. I was there for one week and not once was I able to us the pool. There was 5 pool chairs! The hotel has almost 100 rooms. This was unbelievable. I was upset every time I wanted to soak in some sun I had to walk to the next nearest beach. The restaurant in th lobby area was good but expensive. I arrived 1 hour early to check in so I had to wait. I went to restaurant and I ordered water. I was told something was wrong with the filter and that they had bottled water. Stupid me, I didn't think they would charge me for the water but they did...$4 for a small bottle of water! Outrageous. Later I found out that wa bogus. I was bummed. Then I go back to try to check in at 3pm and I was told my room was still not ready and I had to wait again. The people in this hotel operated with absolutely NO sense of urgency. I was in line for 30 minutes trying to check in....there was only 2 people in front of me! I will not be staying at this property again. Pay the extra cash and stay somewhere nicer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunkin doughnuts is the cheapest breakfast meal about 10 minutes away for around $5.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ms. Cuba
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Mar 31, 2012

Misguided

I thought that it would have been better than it was, I was disappointed in it but was able to deal with it for 4 days, Staff is awesome very attentive to ur needs but it needs to be upgraded badly everything old..I wouldn't stay there again...Lesson learned

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top