$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
265 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (265)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
265 out of 265
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vivian's trip
Business
atlanta, ga
Feb 11, 2010

hotel from hell

The hotel was being renovated.. dust was everywhere and noise level was equally high. The room was a horror. Mold on the walls, spots on furniture and beding. I remained at that this hotel long enough to relocate to another estimated one hour. We forfeited one night fee in doing so but I could not expose my son nor myself to unhealthy conditions. My son nicknamed this hotel..Hell Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Digusted in SJU.
Business
ATL
Jan 21, 2010

Disgusted in SJU.

When we checked in we waited 1 hr and decided to go eat since there were more guests ahead of us that had not checked in. There was only one person checking in the guests. When we came back from dinner we still had to wait. The light in the bathroom wasn't working, however they took care of that. The towles in the bathroom didn't look clean, so I used my own. The worst part was the pillows that had mold on them. Really disgusting. We checked out the following morning, we were suppose to stay two more nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego
Nov 30, 2009

The bad, The worse, and the really ugly"

The San Juan Beach Hotel is a very terrible place to vacation at. The hotel was on the outer edege of Town next to a dirty Lagoon.The beach view was not any better with it being full of trash, no access to the beach cause it was locked.The pool was a royal mess, ladders were unblolted and ripped out of the side wall, all kinds of gross green stuff was growing on and inside the pool, it was cleaned or maintained and not fit to swim in.The room was a torn down and not maintained, sheets blankets and pillows all smelled like mold and were not clean.The bath room and the rooms needed to be remodeled and taken care of soon.The ceiling was constructed of tile sytle ceiling with rust falling from it!!!The tub and shower area was full of mold dirt and grime and smelled.tub had holes and rusted areas throughout!The whole room was some what finished from construction but a long ways from being listed as anything to sleep in.The service and staff was rude un friendly and not helpful.No free breakfest and way to much money for over priced food.The location of the hotel is in the dirty far part of san juan with construction going on all around, with run down hotels leaking of sewer water and stench.The hotel was bad and i dod not recommend at all!If you have no car don't take the taxi rent a car the taxi service is 15 bucks and up and get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you stay in san juan don't eat any of the dinners there to expensive and way over charged head to old san juan the whole time your there friendly people and the culture is true lived there..and much cleaner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
W7C
Business
TEXAS
Nov 30, 2009

THE GOOD, THE BAD

WAS DIFFERENT THAT I SAW, IN THE INTERNET SAID THAT THE REMODELATION WAS FINISH IN OCT 30, 2009, AND IS NOT FINISH YET. DONT HAVE SERVICE OF TELEPHONE ONLY FOR THE LOBBY, DONT HAVE SERVICE OF INTERNET, DONT CLEAN THE ROOM. ONLY WE LIKE THE LOCATION THAT IS THE HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trip traveler
Business
In the US
Nov 22, 2009

Not great but they handel every need!

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 22, 2009

Disaster

I unfortunately had to cancle my reservation due to the room windows not closing due to paint drying & not letting the windows close fully, 1/4 of roll of Tissue paper, ONLY 1 towel in a 2 person reservation. I was ONLY offered a DIRTY room because the cleaning staff left at 5PM. On top of that, they were forcing one to use a Valet Parking charging you $21/day claiming they do not have parking in the hotel. You have a young 21 year old girl in the Lobby with a 23 y/o boy as her night supervisor. Neither one of them able to handle the situation that was piling up a the front desk. The young female had to go track someone that ran off with the keys to the keybox in order for her to give me my room key.I work for the US ARMY & travel to Central, South America & the Carribean. I've gone to third world countries that offer better rooms than this & service with a smile, no matter what. I only need a clean bed to sleep on & Nice cool room (Which was going to happen due to the window not being able to close), but the complaints I heard in the lobby while waiting to check in made me think twice after inspecting my room.A few complaints were the following:- No clean towls in 2 days since a customer has been in the hotel. (Clean Towls were even requested)- No Tissue Paper.- No Clean Bed sheets (Even upon request)Let's not forget that the Hotel is STILL NOT FINISHED with its remodeling (Which was suppose to be done by 31 Oct 09).I fortunately had a plan B & it was to stay with my godchild in his apartment. But I needed to stay in the city for a few days to conduct buisness & visit friends since I had lived in Puerto Rico for 4 yrs.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your reserch before you arrive. Talk to someone that has been there or lived there. Best Place to shop for Souveniers is Old San Juan. Always carry small bils separate fom larger bills before going shopping. Leave expensive jewelry at home (Any country you travel to). Travel by taxi, phone books have a pretty good list after arriving in county). Old San Juan has many attractions that would take you most of a day to look at, but most are out of town & I would recomend a rental w\GPS so you don't get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ualjulie
Business
Warrenton, VA
Nov 17, 2009

renovation needed

We were only there for one night and it was enough! This will probably be very nice when the renovation is completed, but for right now I would not recommend this hotel. The rooms were decorated in the late 70's style and the mattress felt like it was that old too. The towels were grey and dingy, and the carpet stained. The front desk was very disorganized and couldn't seem to figure out where to put the guests and we were asked to stand aside while they took care of guests that had "reservations". We did book on short notice but I don't think that we needed to be kicked to the back of the line until the front desk got themselves organized. The area surrounding the hotel is nice and I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Try the mofongo or any other traditional dish at Bebo's cafe. It is near De Diego Street and was delicious. It is standard cafe decor but the food is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark,NJ
Nov 17, 2009

Good Price might be a nice place when

Took advantage of the hotels location in the Condado Colombos has a good late night Happy hour down the street. They just need to finish the renovation the look is starting to shape up real nice they just need to do the rest of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Colombos good food cheap drinks and late night happy hour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Italian woman very upset
Business
Italy
Nov 16, 2009

the worst hotel I've ever seen in life!

the hotel didn't conclude restructuring (announced for 31/10), there is people working, lot of noise: anyway they didn't restructure rooms, still dirty, orrible, wet (originally '60). The lobby will be perfect in a few weeks but the entire floor is a disco!! the first dance-party was on up to 3am, with all the people (few, anyway) in the rooms very upset. The hair dry did't work, there are no phone in many rooms, and they don't work!! the only public phone is in the first underfloor, close to a dead mouse! Sometimes they forgot to clean the room and we find at night the bed and everything like it was in the morning. orrible. never again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mr. Disatisfied
Business
San Juan PR
Oct 12, 2009

What an eye sore

This room was very moldy on the walls and in the bathroom, Hallways and room smelled like mildew, no phones in the room you needy something you had to go down to the front desk, turned the TV on sounded like it was about to blow up with the static that was coming out from it, bed had long black hair on it and Im a bald man, I took pictures of this to complain this hotel should not be on the listing until it gets renovated

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurant I ate at had very good PR local food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top