San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
259 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (259)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
259 out of 259
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Clean Me
Maine
Feb 24, 2010

What a nightmare

What a disapointment. For being the only ones checking in at the time I do not understand why it took two clerks 15 minutes to check me in. They tagged in and out trying to finish what one would think should be an easy task. Consider I had payed in advanced and verified my reservation the day before. Whats funny we actually got on the cruise ship faster the next morning. We got to the room and the smell of mildew was sickening. I should have known because the hall leading in was preparing me. The bathroom had rust on the metal ceiling trim. I actually was able to write "Clean Me" through the dirt on the windows. We could not get out of there fast enough. Be smart stay in Old San Juan or even the bus station. To top that of I payed for an ocean view and got....not a ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DaveNYC
NYC
Feb 18, 2010

Poorly Run Hotel

After waiting 15 minutes for the person before us to be checked in, and not being acknowledged, it took a further 40 minutes for us to be checked in, and we had arrived at 11pm. The front desk was a mess, no one knew where anything was, and they could not find the key to our room. Only some of have the rooms have electronic keys, and we noticed odd wires hanging out of most of those. The room was nice, except we had no hot water. We couldn't call the front desk to tell them because our phone did not work at all. Check out took another 10 minutes after waiting 20 and a long line formed behind us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
texrecan
DFW Texas
Feb 18, 2010

rent by hour hotel

arrive early 10am and had a 3pm check in,that wasn't a problem it was the 4:25 check in that was. Not having hot water to bath was my next problem and the rooms had a moldy smell covered up with cleaner smell. The bed springs keep waking me up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

mexican restauant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ninbel
fall river ,MA
Feb 17, 2010

the ugly expierence

horrobable...and never going back.it was bad smelling and bad rooms and servises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Feb 12, 2010

Needs an overhaul!

The location was convenient, but the condition of the hotel was just laughable. The staff explained that they were planning to totally remodel the hotel this coming year, but it was just silly. I guess I felt "safe", but it was dirty and the towels did not even match. The door had epoxy holding it together. : )One good thing is that the room was very spacious. It was the cheapest place that seemed to be in a safe neighborhood. One interesting note is that the hotels in this neighborhood (some of which were very fancy) transform their lobbies into dance clubs at night. We were warned b fellow travelers ahead of time, otherwise we might have been upset. Another important note is that most hotels require you to pay $20+ for valet parking....you don't really have much of a choice if you have a rental car. Appareantly rental cars are very much a target for theft all over Puerto Rico, so be mindful of this fact. : ) Bottom line, I would recommend this room if you were needing to get a cheap room, but still feel like you were in a "safe" part of town. but if you have more money to spend, go somewhere else. : )

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
vivian's trip
atlanta, ga
Feb 11, 2010

hotel from hell

The hotel was being renovated.. dust was everywhere and noise level was equally high. The room was a horror. Mold on the walls, spots on furniture and beding. I remained at that this hotel long enough to relocate to another estimated one hour. We forfeited one night fee in doing so but I could not expose my son nor myself to unhealthy conditions. My son nicknamed this hotel..Hell Hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

everything is walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Digusted in SJU.
ATL
Jan 21, 2010

Disgusted in SJU.

When we checked in we waited 1 hr and decided to go eat since there were more guests ahead of us that had not checked in. There was only one person checking in the guests. When we came back from dinner we still had to wait. The light in the bathroom wasn't working, however they took care of that. The towles in the bathroom didn't look clean, so I used my own. The worst part was the pillows that had mold on them. Really disgusting. We checked out the following morning, we were suppose to stay two more nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
W7C
TEXAS
Nov 30, 2009

THE GOOD, THE BAD

WAS DIFFERENT THAT I SAW, IN THE INTERNET SAID THAT THE REMODELATION WAS FINISH IN OCT 30, 2009, AND IS NOT FINISH YET. DONT HAVE SERVICE OF TELEPHONE ONLY FOR THE LOBBY, DONT HAVE SERVICE OF INTERNET, DONT CLEAN THE ROOM. ONLY WE LIKE THE LOCATION THAT IS THE HOTEL.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Diego
Nov 30, 2009

The bad, The worse, and the really ugly"

The San Juan Beach Hotel is a very terrible place to vacation at. The hotel was on the outer edege of Town next to a dirty Lagoon.The beach view was not any better with it being full of trash, no access to the beach cause it was locked.The pool was a royal mess, ladders were unblolted and ripped out of the side wall, all kinds of gross green stuff was growing on and inside the pool, it was cleaned or maintained and not fit to swim in.The room was a torn down and not maintained, sheets blankets and pillows all smelled like mold and were not clean.The bath room and the rooms needed to be remodeled and taken care of soon.The ceiling was constructed of tile sytle ceiling with rust falling from it!!!The tub and shower area was full of mold dirt and grime and smelled.tub had holes and rusted areas throughout!The whole room was some what finished from construction but a long ways from being listed as anything to sleep in.The service and staff was rude un friendly and not helpful.No free breakfest and way to much money for over priced food.The location of the hotel is in the dirty far part of san juan with construction going on all around, with run down hotels leaking of sewer water and stench.The hotel was bad and i dod not recommend at all!If you have no car don't take the taxi rent a car the taxi service is 15 bucks and up and get pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

If you stay in san juan don't eat any of the dinners there to expensive and way over charged head to old san juan the whole time your there friendly people and the culture is true lived there..and much cleaner

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
TX
Nov 22, 2009

Disaster

I unfortunately had to cancle my reservation due to the room windows not closing due to paint drying & not letting the windows close fully, 1/4 of roll of Tissue paper, ONLY 1 towel in a 2 person reservation. I was ONLY offered a DIRTY room because the cleaning staff left at 5PM. On top of that, they were forcing one to use a Valet Parking charging you $21/day claiming they do not have parking in the hotel. You have a young 21 year old girl in the Lobby with a 23 y/o boy as her night supervisor. Neither one of them able to handle the situation that was piling up a the front desk. The young female had to go track someone that ran off with the keys to the keybox in order for her to give me my room key.I work for the US ARMY & travel to Central, South America & the Carribean. I've gone to third world countries that offer better rooms than this & service with a smile, no matter what. I only need a clean bed to sleep on & Nice cool room (Which was going to happen due to the window not being able to close), but the complaints I heard in the lobby while waiting to check in made me think twice after inspecting my room.A few complaints were the following:- No clean towls in 2 days since a customer has been in the hotel. (Clean Towls were even requested)- No Tissue Paper.- No Clean Bed sheets (Even upon request)Let's not forget that the Hotel is STILL NOT FINISHED with its remodeling (Which was suppose to be done by 31 Oct 09).I fortunately had a plan B & it was to stay with my godchild in his apartment. But I needed to stay in the city for a few days to conduct buisness & visit friends since I had lived in Puerto Rico for 4 yrs.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your reserch before you arrive. Talk to someone that has been there or lived there. Best Place to shop for Souveniers is Old San Juan. Always carry small bils separate fom larger bills before going shopping. Leave expensive jewelry at home (Any country you travel to). Travel by taxi, phone books have a pretty good list after arriving in county). Old San Juan has many attractions that would take you most of a day to look at, but most are out of town & I would recomend a rental w\GPS so you don't get lost.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top