$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
325 out of 325
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New London, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Beautiful Lobby!

The location and lobby of this hotel were wonderful BUT the room had some problems, especially the bathroom. It was not clean and the tub was multicolors if grey....ick!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MoyteAli
Business
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2011

Stay Away From This Place!

I stayed at this place for 6 nights (March 2nd through March 8th). I read a lot of reviews, so I thought I knew what I was going to get, but I was wrong! I was expecting a 2.5 to 3 star hotel, for a really great price, but it was more like an overpriced .5 to 1 star motel. The place is a real dump. It ruined my vacation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but after a day of sightseeing or being at the beach, I dreaded heading back to the rooms. The staff was extremely rude, especially the manager named [...] . The rooms were disgusting. They say they are renovating, but I didn't see any work being done. It looks like they gave the lobby a cheap makeover (I say cheap, because it looks like it is already falling apart) but the rooms haven't been touched. The elevators were old and shook the whole time going up or down. The carpet was stained and smelled like mold was growing under it. When we first walked in our room on the 9th floor, it looked like all they did was make the bed. There was still garbage in the drawers and it was definitely not vacuumed. The TV was old and we only got reception for 4 or 5 channels. CNN, HLN & TNT were the only channels we could watch. They didn't even have ABC, CBS, NBC or FOX (I really wanted to watch American Idol!). They still use metal keys instead of card keys, which you have to leave with the front desk if you want your room cleaned. We did this, but all they did was make the bed. The sheets weren't changed and they floor still wasn't vacuumed. Also, if you lost the key, they were going to charge you $75. The room had two medium sized windows that faced the beach, but they were very old and didn't stay open. If we wanted to smell fresh air, we had to hold them open, which was difficult because they were very heavy. The day after we checked in, [...] and two other hotel employees, came banging on our door, asking to come in to smell our room because they suspected that we were smoking in the room. I told her this was ridiculous because neither of us smoke! She gave me a dirty look as if I was lying to her and threatened to charge me $250. Meanwhile, almost everyday we smelled smoke in the hall, which was definitely not coming from our room. The day we were checking out, I realized I didn't have cash for the taxi to take us to the Airport ($20 from the hotel), so I asked the doorman to watch our bags while we ran to the store 3 blocks away to use the ATM. When we returned our bags were missing. We tried to ask him where our bags were, but he brushed us off and said wait. I knew something wasn't right because I couldn't see my bags anywhere. I had to go to the front desk to have them ask him where our bags were. The doorman had put our bags in someone else's taxi. I freaked out because I thought our bags were gone for good. Thankfully there was taxi driver hanging out outside the hotel who happened to know the driver who had our bags. He called him up on his cell and had him meet us at the airport to give us back our bags. We barely made our flight home. This place was a nightmare. While we were staying there we decided to check out some of the other hotels in the area to compare to what we were staying in. The difference was night & day. If you can spend just a little bit more, I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It looked clean, the staff was friendly and it was just a short walk to the beach. If you need to stay in the same price range as the San Juan Beach Hotel or want to be closer to the beach, stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel or the Atlantic Beach Hotel. Both of those are cleaner and in a better location. They are right on the beach, in a part where you can actually swim. I just wish someone else had told me this before I booked my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for .75 cents to Old San Juan. It's beautiful and lots to see and great food.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladyvbug's Nana
Business
tulsa, ok
Mar 9, 2011

Close to Old San Juan

Was glad to find it was so close to Old San Juan where we planned to spend most of our time. We chose the ocean side, and were pleased. Could hear the waves. However, the view was through two small windows, which did not open. Others who chose the other side of the hotel said it was VERY noisy, because of the street, and they got little sleep. Would stay here again, but definitely paid the extra for the ocean side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several places very close to eat, including a Cold Slab Creamery right next door, a Chili's about a block away and several 'local' places within a few blocks.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jordan, UT
Mar 8, 2011

Very nice hotel for the money

The hotel was very nice. We stayed the day before our cruise and the day after. Both rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant was out of this world. Very Good. We would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2011

Broke down palace!

I am so glad I was just passing through! An 8+ story hotel had 4 chairs at the pool. With paint and walls falling down, I was worried about asbestos. Oh yes, how can I forget about the mold in the bathroom and the stains on the carpet that matched the stains on the bed spreads. Hmmmmm, did I mention the roaches crawling on our toothbrushes when we woke the following morning? And who could forget the rude front desk personnel that acted like I should have thanked them because I wasn't camping! Absolute SxxxxxxE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2011

Broke down palace!

I am so glad I was just passing through! An 8+ story hotel had 4 chairs at the pool. With paint and walls falling down, I was worried about asbestos. Oh yes, how can I forget about the mold in the bathroom and the stains on the carpet that matched the stains on the bed spreads. Hmmmmm, did I mention the roaches crawling on our toothbrushes when we woke the following morning? And who could forget the rude front desk personnel that acted like I should have thanked them because I wasn't camping! Absolute SxxxxxxE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waltham, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Scant but Clean and Friendly

We stayed at this hotel the night before a cruise. We arrived at midnight and had no trouble checking in so late, and it was in between the airport and the pier. The staff was friendly, helpful, and allowed us to store our luggage for hours after checkout. Although everything seemed to be clean, the rooms were very bare and a bit dingy, and the bed was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brown
Business
Florida
Feb 13, 2011

Save your money!!!

Do not stay Here! The pictures of the place must have been taken 40 years ago. Looks good on the net but wait until you get there. Everything is outdated to say the least. Front desk people do not seem to have complete information to inform the guests. They will tell you one thing and it winds up being the opposite. Ask numerous questions on any and all subjects. Example: Will our room be serviced daily? If so what is the procedure? In the bar the prices varied from bartender to bartender. Do not pay for upgrades, this is like throwing money out the window. The spectacular view could be seen if they would only clean the windows, won't happen. We were told by a local, (From Tampa) you should have seen the place before the rentivated it, ha,ha,ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is "gambling" located close. Live entertainment is in old San Jaun, 3.5 mile walk or $18.00 cab with tip.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brown
Business
Florida
Feb 13, 2011

Save your money!!!

Do not stay Here! The pictures of the place must have been taken 40 years ago. Looks good on the net but wait until you get there. Everything is outdated to say the least. Front desk people do not seem to have complete information to inform the guests. They will tell you one thing and it winds up being the opposite. Ask numerous questions on any and all subjects. Example: Will our room be serviced daily? If so what is the procedure? In the bar the prices varied from bartender to bartender. Do not pay for upgrades, this is like throwing money out the window. The spectacular view could be seen if they would only clean the windows, won't happen. We were told by a local, (From Tampa) you should have seen the place before the rentivated it, ha,ha,ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is "gambling" located close. Live entertainment is in old San Jaun, 3.5 mile walk or $18.00 cab with tip.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Walsh
Business
Nebraska
Feb 8, 2011

Average

Lobby and restaurant were pretty. Rooms were below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the place across the street with the balcony...bad food.

Back to menu Return to top