$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 1, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
262 reviews
Reks in Puerto Rico

The hotel staff was wonderful. The courtesy and professionalism was surprisingly perfect. I felt... See full review

  • Reks
  • Sep 15, 2014
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
Stylish beachfront boutique hotel located in the trendy Condado Ashford Avenue. Superb service and spacious rooms with spectacular views of the Atlantic Ocean and the Condado Lagoon. The hotel is ideally located only 3 miles from Old San Juan, 7 miles from the international airport, 3 miles to the Cruise pier, and only 10 minutes from the business district. Shop at 'Garbo' in-house clothing boutique or take a 2 minute walk to the European designer boutiques such as Cartier, Salvatore Ferragamo, Louis Vuitton, Montblanc and others. Many high end dining options or family venues such as Chili's, Subway and others within a minute walk. For the joggers and walkers Ashford Avenue offers a jogging route to all of Condado or to Old San Juan.
Guests can visit the hotel's restaurant lobby bar, where the who's who of San Juan gather and mingle the night away, enjoying the view of the Atlantic Ocean while listening to lounge music. The restaurant & lounge also overlook the ocean and serves creative cuisine to satisfy you for lunch, dinner. Enjoy the oceanfront views at our oceanfront pool deck and terrace and enjoy some ice cream at our 'Coldstone' Ice Cream parlor.
Hotel amenities: Offers 24-Hour Valet Parking Service / 24 hour Ocean-front swimming pool / free Broadband Internet service / conference facilities / Ocean Ballroom serves up to 200 ppl. with Condado's most amazing ocean views/ The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meetings of 10 to 20 ppl. / Lagoon Ballroom can serve up to 60 people.. The Executive and Lagoon have beautiful views of the Condado Lagoon.
We can make arragements for many local tours, Old San Juan, Rainforest (El Yunque), Bioluminescent Bay, Horseback and many others.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (262)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
262 out of 262
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
boriqua family
Business
orlando fl
Mar 19, 2011

THE GRANDEST(CON-JOB) OF ALL CON-JOBS

ok,were do i start ? the best idea for me to start with is from the begining and adding a little rhyme,,oh romeo,oh romeo were are thou romeo,you just checked into MOTEL HELL. my nightmare starts upon check inn,i flew down here to assist my wife and mother in law with the final fixing of a home my mother in law owns here in carolina p.r. so i thought the best option for a hotel(mother in law house was not habitable)was to stay in our famous san juan condado area,seeing as its close to carolina puerto rico.sounds good so far,umm.any way i chose condados (SAN JUAN BEACH HOTEL) or as i call it (MOTEL HELL)as i checked inn the front of the hotel is beautiful,rolling stair well is the first thing you notice when you walk inn. you say to your self a grand scale of a hotel here wow,i was very inmpressed.and also the fancy resturant next to the check inn desk with a beach view and beautiful dinning areas.sounds good so far,wait the rest will bust your blissfull bubble.when i checked in the clerk told me there is no parking(as not avertised in there web site)the only parking was valet.for a 20 dollar a day charge for every day of your stay.i said to my self,,self not problem,i can do this (7 day stay at 140 dollars)a hotel this fancy well why not.ok i valet my car unload the wife,dauther and mother in law for a restfull night stay and got my key and off to our room,first thing i noticed was the roaches,secound thing was the rust on ALL THE LAMPS,3rd thing was phone was broken,4th thing was no running water (in all of the hotel)5th thing i noticed,was beach view was available from a window that looked like a window installed for prison inmates in the county jail,6th thing i noticed was i stept back in time to a hotel that was totaly negleted,run down,abused and not even your most dingiest of hotels can compare to this hole in the ocean.so i asked my self,how can a hotel so beautiful in the front can be so HORRIBLE ,well after complaining to the front desk clerk about my amazment as to how this hotel does not match the web site and the front desk,he said and i quot,its a ,,ready for it,,,A CONDADO BEACH FRONT HOTEL,in other words ,,its a SCAM,,A TOTAL SCAM,,what they did is dress up the front of this hotel and in fact its a horrible hotel. Ok so the front desk said the issue with the water was temporary , and it did eventually come back . But then we start noticing the lack of amenities that we consider basic in any hotel ,no coffee pot or refrigerator or microwave as was stated in the website as being included in the room . We've stayed in hotels all over the U.S. and even the cheapest one had a coffee pot . It's Puerto Rico where coffee is tradition! The phone was never replaced so we were moved to another room after complaining for a third time to the front desk . The attitude of the front desk manager wasn't the best either . It was like "Oh well , thats just how it is " . The only positive feedback was from the valet . They not only park your car , but are the ones who helped us move to the other room and tried initially to fix our phone. Too bad they don't own the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New London, CT
Mar 14, 2011

Beautiful Lobby!

The location and lobby of this hotel were wonderful BUT the room had some problems, especially the bathroom. It was not clean and the tub was multicolors if grey....ick!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MoyteAli
Business
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2011

Stay Away From This Place!

I stayed at this place for 6 nights (March 2nd through March 8th). I read a lot of reviews, so I thought I knew what I was going to get, but I was wrong! I was expecting a 2.5 to 3 star hotel, for a really great price, but it was more like an overpriced .5 to 1 star motel. The place is a real dump. It ruined my vacation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but after a day of sightseeing or being at the beach, I dreaded heading back to the rooms. The staff was extremely rude, especially the manager named [...] . The rooms were disgusting. They say they are renovating, but I didn't see any work being done. It looks like they gave the lobby a cheap makeover (I say cheap, because it looks like it is already falling apart) but the rooms haven't been touched. The elevators were old and shook the whole time going up or down. The carpet was stained and smelled like mold was growing under it. When we first walked in our room on the 9th floor, it looked like all they did was make the bed. There was still garbage in the drawers and it was definitely not vacuumed. The TV was old and we only got reception for 4 or 5 channels. CNN, HLN & TNT were the only channels we could watch. They didn't even have ABC, CBS, NBC or FOX (I really wanted to watch American Idol!). They still use metal keys instead of card keys, which you have to leave with the front desk if you want your room cleaned. We did this, but all they did was make the bed. The sheets weren't changed and they floor still wasn't vacuumed. Also, if you lost the key, they were going to charge you $75. The room had two medium sized windows that faced the beach, but they were very old and didn't stay open. If we wanted to smell fresh air, we had to hold them open, which was difficult because they were very heavy. The day after we checked in, [...] and two other hotel employees, came banging on our door, asking to come in to smell our room because they suspected that we were smoking in the room. I told her this was ridiculous because neither of us smoke! She gave me a dirty look as if I was lying to her and threatened to charge me $250. Meanwhile, almost everyday we smelled smoke in the hall, which was definitely not coming from our room. The day we were checking out, I realized I didn't have cash for the taxi to take us to the Airport ($20 from the hotel), so I asked the doorman to watch our bags while we ran to the store 3 blocks away to use the ATM. When we returned our bags were missing. We tried to ask him where our bags were, but he brushed us off and said wait. I knew something wasn't right because I couldn't see my bags anywhere. I had to go to the front desk to have them ask him where our bags were. The doorman had put our bags in someone else's taxi. I freaked out because I thought our bags were gone for good. Thankfully there was taxi driver hanging out outside the hotel who happened to know the driver who had our bags. He called him up on his cell and had him meet us at the airport to give us back our bags. We barely made our flight home. This place was a nightmare. While we were staying there we decided to check out some of the other hotels in the area to compare to what we were staying in. The difference was night & day. If you can spend just a little bit more, I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It looked clean, the staff was friendly and it was just a short walk to the beach. If you need to stay in the same price range as the San Juan Beach Hotel or want to be closer to the beach, stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel or the Atlantic Beach Hotel. Both of those are cleaner and in a better location. They are right on the beach, in a part where you can actually swim. I just wish someone else had told me this before I booked my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for .75 cents to Old San Juan. It's beautiful and lots to see and great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladyvbug's Nana
Business
tulsa, ok
Mar 9, 2011

Close to Old San Juan

Was glad to find it was so close to Old San Juan where we planned to spend most of our time. We chose the ocean side, and were pleased. Could hear the waves. However, the view was through two small windows, which did not open. Others who chose the other side of the hotel said it was VERY noisy, because of the street, and they got little sleep. Would stay here again, but definitely paid the extra for the ocean side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several places very close to eat, including a Cold Slab Creamery right next door, a Chili's about a block away and several 'local' places within a few blocks.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
South Jordan, UT
Mar 8, 2011

Very nice hotel for the money

The hotel was very nice. We stayed the day before our cruise and the day after. Both rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant was out of this world. Very Good. We would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2011

Broke down palace!

I am so glad I was just passing through! An 8+ story hotel had 4 chairs at the pool. With paint and walls falling down, I was worried about asbestos. Oh yes, how can I forget about the mold in the bathroom and the stains on the carpet that matched the stains on the bed spreads. Hmmmmm, did I mention the roaches crawling on our toothbrushes when we woke the following morning? And who could forget the rude front desk personnel that acted like I should have thanked them because I wasn't camping! Absolute SxxxxxxE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waltham, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Scant but Clean and Friendly

We stayed at this hotel the night before a cruise. We arrived at midnight and had no trouble checking in so late, and it was in between the airport and the pier. The staff was friendly, helpful, and allowed us to store our luggage for hours after checkout. Although everything seemed to be clean, the rooms were very bare and a bit dingy, and the bed was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brown
Business
Florida
Feb 13, 2011

Save your money!!!

Do not stay Here! The pictures of the place must have been taken 40 years ago. Looks good on the net but wait until you get there. Everything is outdated to say the least. Front desk people do not seem to have complete information to inform the guests. They will tell you one thing and it winds up being the opposite. Ask numerous questions on any and all subjects. Example: Will our room be serviced daily? If so what is the procedure? In the bar the prices varied from bartender to bartender. Do not pay for upgrades, this is like throwing money out the window. The spectacular view could be seen if they would only clean the windows, won't happen. We were told by a local, (From Tampa) you should have seen the place before the rentivated it, ha,ha,ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is "gambling" located close. Live entertainment is in old San Jaun, 3.5 mile walk or $18.00 cab with tip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Walsh
Business
Nebraska
Feb 8, 2011

Average

Lobby and restaurant were pretty. Rooms were below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the place across the street with the balcony...bad food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Feb 7, 2011

a future opportunity

business trip, 3 nights. hotel location excellent for all use. staff very good attitude and helpful. onsite parking. inhouse restaurant excellent. rooms very poor. completely worn out, however, sheets were clean, everything worked in the room. hotel has excellent rates, but in process of a complete re do to up grade to an acceptable standard. a salesman's hotel, would not want to take my wife to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top