$82 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2014 Check-out: Sep 5, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
266 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (266)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
266 out of 266
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MoyteAli
New York, NY
Mar 12, 2011

Stay Away From This Place!

I stayed at this place for 6 nights (March 2nd through March 8th). I read a lot of reviews, so I thought I knew what I was going to get, but I was wrong! I was expecting a 2.5 to 3 star hotel, for a really great price, but it was more like an overpriced .5 to 1 star motel. The place is a real dump. It ruined my vacation. I didn't spend much time in the room, but after a day of sightseeing or being at the beach, I dreaded heading back to the rooms. The staff was extremely rude, especially the manager named [...] . The rooms were disgusting. They say they are renovating, but I didn't see any work being done. It looks like they gave the lobby a cheap makeover (I say cheap, because it looks like it is already falling apart) but the rooms haven't been touched. The elevators were old and shook the whole time going up or down. The carpet was stained and smelled like mold was growing under it. When we first walked in our room on the 9th floor, it looked like all they did was make the bed. There was still garbage in the drawers and it was definitely not vacuumed. The TV was old and we only got reception for 4 or 5 channels. CNN, HLN & TNT were the only channels we could watch. They didn't even have ABC, CBS, NBC or FOX (I really wanted to watch American Idol!). They still use metal keys instead of card keys, which you have to leave with the front desk if you want your room cleaned. We did this, but all they did was make the bed. The sheets weren't changed and they floor still wasn't vacuumed. Also, if you lost the key, they were going to charge you $75. The room had two medium sized windows that faced the beach, but they were very old and didn't stay open. If we wanted to smell fresh air, we had to hold them open, which was difficult because they were very heavy. The day after we checked in, [...] and two other hotel employees, came banging on our door, asking to come in to smell our room because they suspected that we were smoking in the room. I told her this was ridiculous because neither of us smoke! She gave me a dirty look as if I was lying to her and threatened to charge me $250. Meanwhile, almost everyday we smelled smoke in the hall, which was definitely not coming from our room. The day we were checking out, I realized I didn't have cash for the taxi to take us to the Airport ($20 from the hotel), so I asked the doorman to watch our bags while we ran to the store 3 blocks away to use the ATM. When we returned our bags were missing. We tried to ask him where our bags were, but he brushed us off and said wait. I knew something wasn't right because I couldn't see my bags anywhere. I had to go to the front desk to have them ask him where our bags were. The doorman had put our bags in someone else's taxi. I freaked out because I thought our bags were gone for good. Thankfully there was taxi driver hanging out outside the hotel who happened to know the driver who had our bags. He called him up on his cell and had him meet us at the airport to give us back our bags. We barely made our flight home. This place was a nightmare. While we were staying there we decided to check out some of the other hotels in the area to compare to what we were staying in. The difference was night & day. If you can spend just a little bit more, I would stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It looked clean, the staff was friendly and it was just a short walk to the beach. If you need to stay in the same price range as the San Juan Beach Hotel or want to be closer to the beach, stay at the Sandy Beach Hotel or the Atlantic Beach Hotel. Both of those are cleaner and in a better location. They are right on the beach, in a part where you can actually swim. I just wish someone else had told me this before I booked my vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus for .75 cents to Old San Juan. It's beautiful and lots to see and great food.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ladyvbug's Nana
tulsa, ok
Mar 9, 2011

Close to Old San Juan

Was glad to find it was so close to Old San Juan where we planned to spend most of our time. We chose the ocean side, and were pleased. Could hear the waves. However, the view was through two small windows, which did not open. Others who chose the other side of the hotel said it was VERY noisy, because of the street, and they got little sleep. Would stay here again, but definitely paid the extra for the ocean side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several places very close to eat, including a Cold Slab Creamery right next door, a Chili's about a block away and several 'local' places within a few blocks.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
South Jordan, UT
Mar 8, 2011

Very nice hotel for the money

The hotel was very nice. We stayed the day before our cruise and the day after. Both rooms were nice and clean. The staff was very helpful. The restaurant was out of this world. Very Good. We would stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indianapolis
Mar 3, 2011

Broke down palace!

I am so glad I was just passing through! An 8+ story hotel had 4 chairs at the pool. With paint and walls falling down, I was worried about asbestos. Oh yes, how can I forget about the mold in the bathroom and the stains on the carpet that matched the stains on the bed spreads. Hmmmmm, did I mention the roaches crawling on our toothbrushes when we woke the following morning? And who could forget the rude front desk personnel that acted like I should have thanked them because I wasn't camping! Absolute SxxxxxxE!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Waltham, MA
Feb 28, 2011

Scant but Clean and Friendly

We stayed at this hotel the night before a cruise. We arrived at midnight and had no trouble checking in so late, and it was in between the airport and the pier. The staff was friendly, helpful, and allowed us to store our luggage for hours after checkout. Although everything seemed to be clean, the rooms were very bare and a bit dingy, and the bed was not comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Brown
Florida
Feb 13, 2011

Save your money!!!

Do not stay Here! The pictures of the place must have been taken 40 years ago. Looks good on the net but wait until you get there. Everything is outdated to say the least. Front desk people do not seem to have complete information to inform the guests. They will tell you one thing and it winds up being the opposite. Ask numerous questions on any and all subjects. Example: Will our room be serviced daily? If so what is the procedure? In the bar the prices varied from bartender to bartender. Do not pay for upgrades, this is like throwing money out the window. The spectacular view could be seen if they would only clean the windows, won't happen. We were told by a local, (From Tampa) you should have seen the place before the rentivated it, ha,ha,ha.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Nightlife is "gambling" located close. Live entertainment is in old San Jaun, 3.5 mile walk or $18.00 cab with tip.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Walsh
Nebraska
Feb 8, 2011

Average

Lobby and restaurant were pretty. Rooms were below average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't eat at the place across the street with the balcony...bad food.

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
atlanta
Feb 7, 2011

a future opportunity

business trip, 3 nights. hotel location excellent for all use. staff very good attitude and helpful. onsite parking. inhouse restaurant excellent. rooms very poor. completely worn out, however, sheets were clean, everything worked in the room. hotel has excellent rates, but in process of a complete re do to up grade to an acceptable standard. a salesman's hotel, would not want to take my wife to this property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
portland OR
Feb 6, 2011

ok for a night

It was a delay to check in but upgraded to a large ocean view room. Hotel in an awesome locations, generally pretty clean, but with a loud air conditioner and pretty humid conditions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Can catcha bus for 75 cents to downtown for easy walking sight seeing

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
MONTREAL, CANADA
Jan 18, 2011

NICE HOTEL

Nice and modern hotel. Appreciated pool overlooking the beach(towels and chairs supplied free of charge). It's a 45 minute walk to Old San Juan or approx. $15 US taxi ride. Hotel room was extremely spacious. Staff was ver helpful:gave us a room with King size bed, with ocean view at no extra charge. Would recommend hotel. Also, very close to port for those taking the cruise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top

Change search