$76 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 14, 2014 Check-out: Sep 17, 2014

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.3
out of 5
267 reviews
the resturant at hotel was horrible puerrican

Loved it top floor nice view pool was great also had a bar near the pool also have valet staff was... See full review

  • orlando cotto
  • Jun 26, 2014
The location is amazing

You're right next to the beach !!! The Chinese n Japanese restaurants were amazing ! Our rooms were... See full review

  • Kalii
  • Apr 18, 2014
Minimalist design with fresh, white decor sets the scene for the Beach Hotel, San Juan. One of the more affordable hotels on the oceanfront in San Juan's Condado area, its guestrooms have spectacular water views, including the Condado Lagoon. For a bit of relaxation, lay out and soak up the sun next to one of the crystal-clear swimming pools that both kids and adults can enjoy. Hungry? Please your palate with a meal from the Perurrican Restaurant & Lounge. Garbo is an exclusive boutique in the hotel, inviting guests to stop in for a browse.
Key facts
  • 96 guestrooms, all of which have either ocean or lagoon views
  • On-site adult and kiddie pools
  • 4 meeting rooms
  • On-site Perurrican restaurant
  • 24-hour valet parking service
Neighborhood
The hotel offers direct access to the beach, making it ideal for those that enjoy sandy strolls and water-related activities. The concierge offers guests pointers on where to rent a kayak, jet ski, or paddle surf for some fun on the Condado Lagoon. Art lovers will marvel at the exhibitions of the Museum of Art of Puerto Rico, before shuffling down the quaint cobblestoned streets of Old San Juan. When you get tired of sea and sand, the only tropical rainforest of the U.S. National Park Service is roughly half an hour's drive away.
Hints and tips
Attentive staff at the restaurant will prepare a refreshing tropical drink or fruit slices to keep guests relaxed and fed while at the poolside or beach.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4582 -66.0757
Area served
All of Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands, and US as well as Europe and Asia.
Nearby airports
San Juan Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU): Approximate driving time is 15 minutes and distance is 7 miles.
Area description
The San Juan Beach Hotel is strategically located in the Condado district of the city, seven miles from the Luis Munoz Marin Airport & 3 miles from The Old San Juan. It offers direct access to the beach for sunbathing only, an oceanfront swimming pool. San Juan Beach Hotel is a great choice for visitors wanting to explore everything San Juan has to offer; from trendy cafes in Old San Juan to the spectacular beaches within walking distance.
Points of Interest: Condado Beach - 0.5 mile / Ocean Park (beach) - 1 mile / Old San Juan - 3 miles / Fort San Cristobal - 3 miles / La Fortaleza - 3 miles / San Juan Cathedral - 3 miles / Isla Verde - 3 miles / El Morro - 3.5 miles / Plaza Las Americas (shopping mall) - 5 miles / Bacardi Rum Distillery - 15 miles / El Yunque Caribbean National Forest - 22 miles / Arecibo Observatory - 40 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed San Juan Beach Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

San Juan Beach Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Ocean View Room
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Lagoon View
Lagoon view - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.
Executive Ocean View
Ocean view room - spacious air-conditioned room w/imported English furniture features one king bed OR two double beds (based on availability), full work desk with lamp and ergonomic chair, Cable/satellite TV with remote control, clock radio, iron/ironing board as well as hair dryer. Non-smoking.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) compliant
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.7 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.1 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.7 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.4 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.4 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.6 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 2.8 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 2.8 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 2.8 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 2.9 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 2.9 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 2.9 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 2.9 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 2.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 3.8 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.3 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.1 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Executive Room, located on the Hotel's Mezzanine, is ideal for meeting of 10 to 12 persons. This room overlooks the Condado lagoon.
* The lagoon room is ideal for cocktail parties. - Press Conferences, small business meetings and any other type of meeting for 25 to 60 persons.
* Our largest and dramatic room, The Ocean Ballroom, with a capacity for up to 200 persons. - Is perfect for your wedding, social event, Corporate activity or party. It is the only Ballroom in the Metropolitan area with an astonishing Ocean view, which delights everyone.
*We can adapt to any budget to satisfy your needs*

Dining

Perurican Restaurant
New Restaurant with Exotic Peruvian Cuisine in a Modern Lounge atmosphere. Also a vast wine list.
Perurican Bar
You can enjoy our house brands overlooking the Atlantic Ocean.
Nearby Restaurants
You can make your own choice between all Restaurants within walking distance. ** Information available at the Front Desk.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (267)

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
267 out of 267
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.8

46% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rochester, MN
Jun 19, 2011

Run down hotel

This hotel offered the best daily rate in the location we wanted to stay. When we entered the hotel, the lobby and restaurant looked great. Everything was clean, white and new. I thought we had landed a great deal. But that was not the case. The hallway leading to our room had old, stained blue carpeting that was very unsightly. The room itself had the same old carpeting with several large stains. The room was very spacious which was probably the only positive aspect. The bathroom was old and questionably clean. On our second day of the trip, our hot water stopped running. This was a huge disappointment. The staff happily moved us to a new room, but the water temperature was no better. The hotel accommodations (pool, concierge, etc) were very poor. We were grateful for the money we saved and the great location. We were walking distance to many shops and other hotels in Condado. This is not a type of place you want to stay if you're hoping to just lounge around in Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
chicago,il
May 28, 2011

great location get what you pay for

something missing like NO COFFEE POT,TOILET PAPER , only 2 pillows, 2 towels no porches. Coffee is within a 4 city block walk. Beachs only 2 blocks beautiful beachs. great food few blocks down. grocery store far.charlie car rental the best one block walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

beaches

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Havertown, PA
May 9, 2011

Not even a 1 star!

Nothing compares to this experience and NOT REMOTELY in a positive light! This was the WORST EXPERIENCE in accommodations in my entire life. NEVER stay at the San Juan Beach Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
slim shady
Maryland
May 2, 2011

Condado

the hotel was great in staff. Location and service could not say more

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Puerto Rico
May 1, 2011

Missing basic requirements for hotel

Rooms not in good shape and missing details like hot water supply and maintained furniture

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Juan
Apr 12, 2011

The Good, the bad and the really ugly

This hotel was terrible. The staff was not at all pleasant. The rooms were cheaply furnished and very unclean. The bathtub had been painted and the paint was peeling off. A terrible place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami florida
Apr 8, 2011

good location poor service

Travel for business rooms and hotel poorly maintained but still pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

hotel restaurant is pretty good

Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bay Shore, New York
Mar 27, 2011

The Reviews Were Right!

Well.... I read the reviews, and wanted them to be wrong. I am sorry to say, the reviews were right: this hotel needs a lot of TLC. When you drive up, and see all of the energy in the entry way, you may think you have struck gold. The entry way is indeed modern, the resturant is very upscale, and the gift shop has some really beautiful clothing, sandals, jewelry and other items which are quite costly (and worth it). AND THE VIEWS OF THE OCEAN!!! WOW! UNBELIEVABLY BREATH TAKING!!!! Now, the room. It was Horrible coming and going. My mother sat up most of the night trying to kill a roach to make sure it didn't get into our luggage. But the ocean views from the room are ABSOLUTELY SPECTACULAR!!It is an old hotel that needs a lot of work. I hope they continue to upgrade this hotel. Even so, this hotel remains booked solid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
William Chesapeake Bay sailor.
Virginia
Mar 23, 2011

Beautiful view , very good value, clean

Good location , bus stop very close for going to ole San Juan reasonably

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
boriqua family
orlando fl
Mar 19, 2011

THE GRANDEST(CON-JOB) OF ALL CON-JOBS

ok,were do i start ? the best idea for me to start with is from the begining and adding a little rhyme,,oh romeo,oh romeo were are thou romeo,you just checked into MOTEL HELL. my nightmare starts upon check inn,i flew down here to assist my wife and mother in law with the final fixing of a home my mother in law owns here in carolina p.r. so i thought the best option for a hotel(mother in law house was not habitable)was to stay in our famous san juan condado area,seeing as its close to carolina puerto rico.sounds good so far,umm.any way i chose condados (SAN JUAN BEACH HOTEL) or as i call it (MOTEL HELL)as i checked inn the front of the hotel is beautiful,rolling stair well is the first thing you notice when you walk inn. you say to your self a grand scale of a hotel here wow,i was very inmpressed.and also the fancy resturant next to the check inn desk with a beach view and beautiful dinning areas.sounds good so far,wait the rest will bust your blissfull bubble.when i checked in the clerk told me there is no parking(as not avertised in there web site)the only parking was valet.for a 20 dollar a day charge for every day of your stay.i said to my self,,self not problem,i can do this (7 day stay at 140 dollars)a hotel this fancy well why not.ok i valet my car unload the wife,dauther and mother in law for a restfull night stay and got my key and off to our room,first thing i noticed was the roaches,secound thing was the rust on ALL THE LAMPS,3rd thing was phone was broken,4th thing was no running water (in all of the hotel)5th thing i noticed,was beach view was available from a window that looked like a window installed for prison inmates in the county jail,6th thing i noticed was i stept back in time to a hotel that was totaly negleted,run down,abused and not even your most dingiest of hotels can compare to this hole in the ocean.so i asked my self,how can a hotel so beautiful in the front can be so HORRIBLE ,well after complaining to the front desk clerk about my amazment as to how this hotel does not match the web site and the front desk,he said and i quot,its a ,,ready for it,,,A CONDADO BEACH FRONT HOTEL,in other words ,,its a SCAM,,A TOTAL SCAM,,what they did is dress up the front of this hotel and in fact its a horrible hotel. Ok so the front desk said the issue with the water was temporary , and it did eventually come back . But then we start noticing the lack of amenities that we consider basic in any hotel ,no coffee pot or refrigerator or microwave as was stated in the website as being included in the room . We've stayed in hotels all over the U.S. and even the cheapest one had a coffee pot . It's Puerto Rico where coffee is tradition! The phone was never replaced so we were moved to another room after complaining for a third time to the front desk . The attitude of the front desk manager wasn't the best either . It was like "Oh well , thats just how it is " . The only positive feedback was from the valet . They not only park your car , but are the ones who helped us move to the other room and tried initially to fix our phone. Too bad they don't own the hotel .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search