$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

San Juan Beach Hotel

2 stars
View map of 1045 Ashford Avenue, San Juan, 00907

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for San Juan Beach Hotel

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
4
Value:
2.9

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wen310
Business
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2013

Awful

Basically, you get what you pay for. That being said, I should've know. Regardless, the staff itself should put their best foot forward and be welcoming. There was never a time when we approached the front desk and someone greeted us. NEVER. We had to say excuse me for any kind of acknowledgement. They were either in conversations with each other or texting. The room was dirty, filthy. I put my baby on the carpet to crawl and his knees and feet were black when i picked him up. The so called baby pool was full of sand. The bathrooms were dirty and we constantly had to ask for fresh towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hacienda Don Jose right down the street. good food, decent service and an amazing view.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
NYC Big Dog
Business
New York City
Mar 18, 2013

Not Bad for a 2 Star

For a 2 star hotel it was very pleasant, however I was not thrilled with the car rental right next to the valet which caused congestion but the young men were able to handle it and get to my car and I sustained no damages. This hotel has had a lot of good work done to it and the the staff was very pleasant, friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Have breakfast at Dunkin Donuts or Wendys

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cheap kid in college
Business
New York
Mar 17, 2013

On a budget

Could use a new coat of paint, but it worked. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
reynaj
Business
New Braunfels, TX
Mar 16, 2013

Not a great experience

They turned off the water one night. found a dirty towel on the floor when we first walked in our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gr8days
Business
Pittsburgh
Mar 9, 2013

So much to do

This hotel is in the perfect location! The hotel was recently renovated and the staff were very friendly and helpful! This was a girls trip and we never ran out of things to do! Strongly reccomend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must visit Old San Juan and El Yunque!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nikki n John
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Dirty hotel stay.

Location is great, Lobby/ Restaurant/ pool areas look very nice and fancy! We had to wait around for 3 hours to check into our hotel on a Sunday. They allowed us to use the pool and free wi-fi. We checked into our 2 rooms (we had 8 people). In my room I noticed about a 5 foot by 5 foot area by the air conditioner was soaking wet. Our TV had terrible reception, our pillows had mold spots, our shower had very poor water pressure and the light in the bathroom was out, it smelled very musty. I tried to look past all of these things but couldn't. I told the front desk about all the issues and they assured me a repair man would take a look. About an hour later my husband had enough. He went to the front desk to ask for another room. She happily gave us keys to a different room, this room was better. I definitely expected something more clean but maybe you can't find that outside of the USA. I would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone. If you just looking for a bed and don't mind a dirty room that smells musty your all set. i would definitely spend more and get something clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There was a lot of food places and bars close to this restaurant! Also a short drive to the air port.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Midwest Honeymooner
Business
Des Moines, Iowa
Mar 5, 2013

Disappointing

Stayed here for our honeymoon. We wanted to stay somewhere that was close to Old San Juan, which this hotel was. The pictures that this hotel puts on the booking websites are terribly misleading. The room was musty and smelled of mildew. The blinds did not work. When we arrived, there were no towels in the bathroom. That leads me to the worst part of this room...the bathtub was rusting and had obviously been painted. A rubber mat had been suctioned to the bottom of the bathtub, which only made it harder to stand in. It was a miracle that neither of us slipped and fell while taking a shower. The only saving grace of this hotel was the front desk staff. They were attentive and always had a smile. I just wish that they would have offered a new room after having to call down with issues twice in the first evening. The hotel hot tub did not work the entire time we were there. The bar/restaurant staff seemed uninterested in serving us when we stopped in. This was fine, however, since we really had no interest in sticking around the hotel in the first place. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. We will definitely be visiting San Juan again, but will not make the mistake of staying here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the street food vendors when in San Juan. The food can be rather pricey in San Juan and the vendors offer local food options at a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
excited mom
Business
condado
Feb 27, 2013

needed to get away

was dissappointed there is no complimentary breakfast,no free internet access,hotel loooked like it was going thru some renovations, no washcloths in the bathroom which I though was weird

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go on the boat trip in old san juan....good time

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lloyd allen
Business
San Diego, California
Feb 23, 2013

PR getaway

Well to start off, it wasn't good.. I paid in advance $1500.00 and when I get there I had to deposit another $250.. That sounds more like a motel, than a Hotel.. Had an ocean view, but the windows were dirty so it took away from the view. Needs alot of housekeeping, the housekeeper made the bed everyday but, only cleaned the floors maybe once or twice my whole 15 day stay. The frontdesk staffing was not very friendly or knowledgeable on things in the area, like where I could go to do laundry.. Overall I Love Puerto Rico and that Area, so I still had a Fantastic Vacation!! Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Atlantic Beach Hotel with a very nice Restaurant and Bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of San Juan Beach Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr and Mrs Dawood
Business
New York
Feb 22, 2013

Wonderful Stay!

The staff is great! The room was a great value for your money. The location is perfect. If you are going on a budget vacation...stay here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

A short ride to old san juan and isla verde.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top