$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 18, 2015 Check-out: Sep 21, 2015

S.J. Suites Hotel

2 stars
View map of 253 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
32 reviews
great location

When i return to San Juan, I have to stay in old san juan(there are only 15 hotels in the area). If... See full review

  • alex o
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great Location

Perfect location for a stay in Old San Juan. Stayed on the 5th floor so the Wifi didn't reach... See full review

  • Crasian
  • Apr 17, 2014
S.J. Suites Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Historic highlights including La Fortaleza, El Morro and the San Juan Cathedral are all within walking distance, as are numerous restaurants, shopping and art venues. The hotel is also a short walk to the cruise ship piers on the Old San Juan side of the harbor. The S.J. Suites Hotel is independently run by the Kury family and has a warm, homey feel. The S.J. Suites Hotel has free Wi-Fi.
Rooms

These large, comfortable rooms at S.J. Suites Hotel have the feel of a bed in the heart of the city. All 15 suites have a bedroom, a living area with tables, couches and desks, and a private bathroom. Work by local artists decorates the walls. Rooms with window are available upon request.

Highlights
  • Located in central Old San Juan
  • Walk to El Morro, La Fortaleza and the San Juan Cathedral
  • Close to cruise ship piers
  • Independently owned
Nearby attractions
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza Las Américas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Condado Beach (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed S.J. Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$104
3.7 / 5 49 reviews
★★
$79
3.5 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$63
3.3 / 5 27 reviews
★★★
$128
3.6 / 5 121 reviews
★★★
$144
4.5 / 5 24 reviews
★★★
$126
4.2 / 5 18 reviews
★★★★
$116
3.9 / 5 421 reviews
★★★★
$179
3.9 / 5 461 reviews
★★★★
$129
3.8 / 5 416 reviews

S.J. Suites Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Suite
Room with 1 queen bed and 1 futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Junior Suite
Room with 1 queen bed including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Queen Double Suite
Room with 2 queen beds including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, private bathroom, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
King Suite
Room with 1 King bed and 1 Futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.7 mi

Dining

Parrot Club (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Bistro Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Dragonfly (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Asian Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Aguaviva (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Seaside Latino Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Tio Danny's (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Puertorrican and Mexican Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Hard Rock Cafe (nearby restaurant)
Bar with American Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
La Bombonera (nearby restaurant)
Deli and Pastries within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 6am - 5pm, Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for S.J. Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
32 out of 32
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lsunsplash
Family
brooklyn new york
Jul 14, 2009

never again

i was told at 10pm when i went 2 check in that i has 2 pay $54 because only 2 adult r allowed 2 stay in a 2bed queen room.. but 4 54dollar more, i could have 2 more adults stay.. go figure..after payin $270 aready or pay $150 for another room.. never again..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Thomas, USVI
Jul 20, 2009

no go for S.J. Suites

The room was not very good and I feel like I was "tricked" for lack of a better word. The hotel was not as advertised. It was, in my opinion, false advertising. It was old and in need of repair. Only seven tv chanells worked and two of those had no sound. I was very disappointed and made a mental note not to use orbitz again. I was under the impression that the hotel was near water front in Old San Juan but we had a view of an old abandoned building. It said that it had free continental breakfast, which consisted of ham, cheese and bread. It was awful and as a result we had to sepnd extra money at the starbucks. It was not worth the 125.00 spent plus tax. I really feel like I was fooled. In closing, the hotel was not very good, but I would be remissed if I did not mention the fact that the three hotel employees were nice as they allowed us to check in early. I think we were the only guest there, which also made it seem like it was not a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not to stay there is the only helpful hint I could give them.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
New Mexico
Dec 29, 2009

Don't go here

Requested a room with a window but did not get one. It is old. Not close to the beach. Not within walking distance to our cruise ship as I had read it was. No one was at the front desk when we wanted to check out. Advertised that there was a sofa bed in the room - there was not one. All in all - would NOT use this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PREFER OCEAN VIEW
Friends
SARATOA SPRINGS, NEW YORK
Mar 28, 2011

DISAPPOINTED

The room had no phone. No windows. I woke up and saw a huge black spider crawling down the wall from the ceiling. They did let us hold our suitcases until the cruise and it was convenient to walk in Old San Juan. It had an elevator. If you don't have arachnaphobia and have a cell phone it would probably be ok for singles and young people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to the Pier and to Old San Juan Fort.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cape Breton travellers
Couples
Nova Scotia
Mar 13, 2014

SJ Suites

If you want a place to stay in Old San Juan then this is suitable, you will save on taxis if you want to do self guided walking tours and shopping,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria Sangria
Couples
Florida
Aug 2, 2012

Could have done without the little critters...

The location was great since it was right in the middle of old San Juan. We were able to enjoy walking through that area and enjoy all the beautiful sights. The room appeared to be clean except for the fact that we found two live roaches our last night there. I expressed this problem to the front desk agent who seemed like he didn't care. Due to this issue I would never be returning to SJ Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in Old San Juan , you must go and eat at Raices. The staff and food were absolutely fantastic. I will definitely revisit this place again and would recommend it to everyone I know that will be visiting Puerto Rico.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling girl la
Friends
los angeles
Dec 30, 2012

Great Location

Great Location. No telephone. Person in the next room kept the TV very loud and the snoring was loud and heard all night. Noise from nxt room was annoying. Hotel was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cpalms
Friends
Denver, CO
Aug 21, 2013

Great stay

Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, helpful staff. Everything we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveled with friends
Couples
Pleasanton CA
Dec 15, 2013

SJSuites

Our flight was delayed and even at 2:00am we had the door opened right away and were given our room keys. The location in old San Juan was perfect for walking and seeing the sights the next day. But...the street was under construction so the taxi dropped us to walk with luggage for quite a few blocks wondering if we would find the place. When the hotel door was buzzed open we were greeted with a sign that said elevator is out of order -lobby is on second floor. Our rooms were on fourth floor! Middle of the night workout! The thermostat was under lock and set at frigid. Coldest night we ever spent. Windows did not open. Minimalist rooms with almost everything we needed. Thankfully we only had a one night stay before cruise. On a happy note, the next morning they stored our luggage while we were out and about and had a strong young man to help with luggage on stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed El Convento. Nice place to stay next time. Enjoyed a nice lunch there in beautiful surroundings.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WCGMD
Couples
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 27, 2012

Old San Juan

We had a junior suite and it was basic. A queen bed, wall mounted flat screen TV, a small desk & chair, nice size private bath. I wasn't expecting much after I read through all the reviews. What sold me was the LOCATION! It was walking distance to restaurants, bars, forts, pier & bus station. I like that San Juan taxis have fixed rates to go to the major areas. Raymond at the reception was absoulutely wonderful for giving us ideas on what to do during our stay. Just a few suggestions though, try to put up pictures or paintings in the room, and an ice machine at the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Flavors of San Juan History & Dining tour! It's a 2 & a half hour 4 course dinner & drinks taken in a series of restaurants with the guide telling you the history of the buildings and San Juan while you're walking towards your next restaurant. It's $80 each and well worth it. I'm never going to discover those food places if not for the tour! Everything was delicious!

Back to menu Return to top