$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 4, 2014

S.J. Suites Hotel

2 stars
253 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Great Location

Perfect location for a stay in Old San Juan. Stayed on the 5th floor so the Wifi didn't reach... See full review

  • Crasian
  • Apr 17, 2014
Fantastic spring break getaway

The staff were amazing. The truly helped me feel safe and it home while I was there. They answered... See full review

  • Steph Crock
  • Mar 22, 2014
Quiet and comfort in the center of Old San Juan
S.J. Suites Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Historic highlights including La Fortaleza, El Morro and the San Juan Cathedral are all within walking distance, as are numerous restaurants, shopping and art venues. The hotel is also a short walk to the cruise ship piers on the Old San Juan side of the harbor. The S.J. Suites Hotel is independently run by the Kury family and has a warm, homey feel. The S.J. Suites Hotel has free Wi-Fi.
Highlights
  • Located in central Old San Juan
  • Walk to El Morro, La Fortaleza and the San Juan Cathedral
  • Close to cruise ship piers
  • Independently owned
Rooms

These large, comfortable rooms at S.J. Suites Hotel have the feel of a bed in the heart of the city. All 15 suites have a bedroom, a living area with tables, couches and desks, and a private bathroom. Work by local artists decorates the walls. Rooms with window are available upon request.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza Las Américas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Condado Beach (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1148
Area served
Old San Juan. located in Fortaleza St. #253, between Tanca St. and San Justo St.; Old San Juan, San Juan, Condado, Carolina, Guaynabo, Hato Rey, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
SJU - Luis Munoz Marin International Airport - Estimate driving distance 8.2 miles from airport.
Area description
Old San Juan. located in Fortaleza St#253. between Tanca St. and San Justo St.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed S.J. Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

S.J. Suites Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Suite
Room with 1 queen bed and 1 futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Junior Suite
Room with 1 queen bed including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Queen Double Suite
Room with 2 queen beds including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, private bathroom, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
King Suite
Room with 1 King bed and 1 Futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.7 mi

Dining

Parrot Club (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Bistro Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Dragonfly (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Asian Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Aguaviva (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Seaside Latino Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Tio Danny's (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Puertorrican and Mexican Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Hard Rock Cafe (nearby restaurant)
Bar with American Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
La Bombonera (nearby restaurant)
Deli and Pastries within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 6am - 5pm, Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for S.J. Suites Hotel

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
2.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.1

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
filipinium
Knoxville, TN
Mar 14, 2010

Great location

Great location in the middle of Old San Juan. It is not too far of a walk from anything in the old city. 10-15 minute walk to bus station to get you anywhere you need to go. Taxi is a phone call away from the hotel. No internet. Not near beach. Room is big. Thermostat is adjusted by hotel staff. Overall good experience. Nice enough for the price and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3 friends
Burlington, VT
Mar 3, 2010

great location

Similar to European style hotels. Few fancy amenities, but very comfortable. If you are looking for a "live-in" hotel, this is not it. If you want a comfortable place to sleep, it is perfect. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Close to the best shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Old Berlin, best "Manjitos", and "crabtini".

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
"JEM"
Colorado
Feb 22, 2010

Good location!

Great location - in the center of Old Town and walking distance to our cruise ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
"JEM"
Colorado
Feb 22, 2010

Good location!

Great location - in the center of Old Town and walking distance to our cruise ship.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 20, 2010

Location, location, location!

SJ Suites is located in the heart of Old San Juan. We were able to walk all over town. We loved it. The staff was very helpful. They gave us tips on where to go eat and places to visit. They kept our luggage in a secure area because we were there early and they also watched our luggage on the day we checked out. If you plan on staying in the hotel room all day, then this is not the hotel for you. But if you are looking for a good price and a central location then this is the place. My friends and I just go with the flow and we don't get frazzled because the TV doesn't get all the channels we get at home or because the continental breakfast wasn't to our liking. We enjoyed our stay there and would't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Bombonera for breakfast. They sell the most delicious 'mallorcas', toasted sweet bread with butter and sprinkled with powdered sugar. It's just around the corner from SJ Suites.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jan 20, 2010

Location, location, location!

SJ Suites is located in the heart of Old San Juan. We were able to walk all over town. We loved it. The staff was very helpful. They gave us tips on where to go eat and places to visit. They kept our luggage in a secure area because we were there early and they also watched our luggage on the day we checked out. If you plan on staying in the hotel room all day, then this is not the hotel for you. But if you are looking for a good price and a central location then this is the place. My friends and I just go with the flow and we don't get frazzled because the TV doesn't get all the channels we get at home or because the continental breakfast wasn't to our liking. We enjoyed our stay there and would't hesitate to stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go to La Bombonera for breakfast. They sell the most delicious 'mallorcas', toasted sweet bread with butter and sprinkled with powdered sugar. It's just around the corner from SJ Suites.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
Dec 29, 2009

Don't go here

Requested a room with a window but did not get one. It is old. Not close to the beach. Not within walking distance to our cruise ship as I had read it was. No one was at the front desk when we wanted to check out. Advertised that there was a sofa bed in the room - there was not one. All in all - would NOT use this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Mexico
Dec 29, 2009

Don't go here

Requested a room with a window but did not get one. It is old. Not close to the beach. Not within walking distance to our cruise ship as I had read it was. No one was at the front desk when we wanted to check out. Advertised that there was a sofa bed in the room - there was not one. All in all - would NOT use this hotel again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Thomas, USVI
Jul 20, 2009

no go for S.J. Suites

The room was not very good and I feel like I was "tricked" for lack of a better word. The hotel was not as advertised. It was, in my opinion, false advertising. It was old and in need of repair. Only seven tv chanells worked and two of those had no sound. I was very disappointed and made a mental note not to use orbitz again. I was under the impression that the hotel was near water front in Old San Juan but we had a view of an old abandoned building. It said that it had free continental breakfast, which consisted of ham, cheese and bread. It was awful and as a result we had to sepnd extra money at the starbucks. It was not worth the 125.00 spent plus tax. I really feel like I was fooled. In closing, the hotel was not very good, but I would be remissed if I did not mention the fact that the three hotel employees were nice as they allowed us to check in early. I think we were the only guest there, which also made it seem like it was not a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not to stay there is the only helpful hint I could give them.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
St. Thomas, USVI
Jul 20, 2009

no go for S.J. Suites

The room was not very good and I feel like I was "tricked" for lack of a better word. The hotel was not as advertised. It was, in my opinion, false advertising. It was old and in need of repair. Only seven tv chanells worked and two of those had no sound. I was very disappointed and made a mental note not to use orbitz again. I was under the impression that the hotel was near water front in Old San Juan but we had a view of an old abandoned building. It said that it had free continental breakfast, which consisted of ham, cheese and bread. It was awful and as a result we had to sepnd extra money at the starbucks. It was not worth the 125.00 spent plus tax. I really feel like I was fooled. In closing, the hotel was not very good, but I would be remissed if I did not mention the fact that the three hotel employees were nice as they allowed us to check in early. I think we were the only guest there, which also made it seem like it was not a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Not to stay there is the only helpful hint I could give them.

Back to menu Return to top