$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 30, 2015 Check-out: Jun 1, 2015

S.J. Suites Hotel

2 stars
View map of 253 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for S.J. Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling girl la
Business
los angeles
Dec 30, 2012

Great Location

Great Location. No telephone. Person in the next room kept the TV very loud and the snoring was loud and heard all night. Noise from nxt room was annoying. Hotel was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brooklyn
Business
brooklyn ny
Sep 26, 2012

dont stay at this hotel if u r comin in at 4 in the mornin

Overall my stay was peace ful.the room was cold all the time.its good for people who love the A/C but for me it shoud hv been controlled by the guess to suite their own taste. There was coffee for coffee lovers.the location was just perfect and the room was very clean.my room was a junior so it was a junior size..no problem with that.my flight from NY was delayed for about 4 hours,initially I was suppose to arrive in Juan at 11:41 but I came in at 3,50am and I expect my hotel to stil have front desk service,but when the cab dropped me off at approx 4:10am there was no one to open the door.the front desk was on the second floor of the building.finally some man came at 4:35. I sttod outside the building just waiting for something to go right.there was a number on the wall to call but no one answered when I called.the man who came was workin at the front desk and the first thing he said to me was that I should have called if I was goin to be late. right.there was a number for me to call so I called the n

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumar
Business
colombia
Sep 3, 2012

Very good location.

Good for 1 or 2 nights, no more. Some rooms without window. Rooms big and with all you need for a short stay: tv, air conditioning, hot water. Very good location, near everything: shopping, restaurants, discos, etc. 5 blocks away from the cruises terminal. No breakfast included, just some coffee, breakfast in near by restaurants is aproximtely 10 dollars per person. the hotel needs some remodelling but rooms are ok. we checked in at 11:30 pm and had no trouble, we also left our bag after check out with no problm. the take from the airport is around 25 dollars. it is also close to a troley sation that goes to different tourist atractions for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria Sangria
Business
Florida
Aug 2, 2012

Could have done without the little critters...

The location was great since it was right in the middle of old San Juan. We were able to enjoy walking through that area and enjoy all the beautiful sights. The room appeared to be clean except for the fact that we found two live roaches our last night there. I expressed this problem to the front desk agent who seemed like he didn't care. Due to this issue I would never be returning to SJ Suites.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're in Old San Juan , you must go and eat at Raices. The staff and food were absolutely fantastic. I will definitely revisit this place again and would recommend it to everyone I know that will be visiting Puerto Rico.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sai R
Business
LA, CA
Jul 4, 2012

Small comfortable getaway

Staff was friendly. Room service was satisfying. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cafe Puerto Rico. Excellent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valcaraz
Business
Cidra, PR
Jun 1, 2012

Excellent amenities, great location but a bit pricey.. worth it though

Room was huge and clean. Hotel has excellent location because is close to everything. It was a bit pricey but the facilities were so good it was worth. My only suggestion would be to work some deal with one of the nearby parking lots for the locals wanting to stay there, because the overnight parking was almost $60.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Valcaraz
Business
Cidra, PR
May 28, 2012

Huge comfortable room, a bit pricey

The room was huge, super comfortable and clean.. Is a bit pricey but is totally worth it. The evening staff was super nice, the morning guy was okay. Excellent location. As most places in Old San Juan, they have no parking.. So for locals coming in their cars, that part sucks. Everything else was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thomas the travler
Business
new york, ny
May 21, 2012

good placc to stay

very frienly staff. super clean rooms. great location close to all. only negative is that hotel advertised continental breakfast which it no longer serves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Elmira
Business
Reno, NV, USA
Apr 26, 2012

SJ Suites

This hotel was a great choice. The rooms are quite large, clean, and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable and the room was quiet allowing for a good sleep. Our host at the SJ Suites was very friendly and hospitable. The hotel is centrally located in Old San Juan and at an easy walking distance to many attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Historic sites and great restaurants all within a five minute walk of this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
WCGMD
Business
Las Vegas, NV
Mar 27, 2012

Old San Juan

We had a junior suite and it was basic. A queen bed, wall mounted flat screen TV, a small desk & chair, nice size private bath. I wasn't expecting much after I read through all the reviews. What sold me was the LOCATION! It was walking distance to restaurants, bars, forts, pier & bus station. I like that San Juan taxis have fixed rates to go to the major areas. Raymond at the reception was absoulutely wonderful for giving us ideas on what to do during our stay. Just a few suggestions though, try to put up pictures or paintings in the room, and an ice machine at the lobby area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Flavors of San Juan History & Dining tour! It's a 2 & a half hour 4 course dinner & drinks taken in a series of restaurants with the guide telling you the history of the buildings and San Juan while you're walking towards your next restaurant. It's $80 each and well worth it. I'm never going to discover those food places if not for the tour! Everything was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top