$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 16, 2014 Check-out: Sep 19, 2014

S.J. Suites Hotel

2 stars
253 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
35 reviews
Great Location

Perfect location for a stay in Old San Juan. Stayed on the 5th floor so the Wifi didn't reach... See full review

  • Crasian
  • Apr 17, 2014
Fantastic spring break getaway

The staff were amazing. The truly helped me feel safe and it home while I was there. They answered... See full review

  • Steph Crock
  • Mar 22, 2014
Quiet and comfort in the center of Old San Juan
S.J. Suites Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Historic highlights including La Fortaleza, El Morro and the San Juan Cathedral are all within walking distance, as are numerous restaurants, shopping and art venues. The hotel is also a short walk to the cruise ship piers on the Old San Juan side of the harbor. The S.J. Suites Hotel is independently run by the Kury family and has a warm, homey feel. The S.J. Suites Hotel has free Wi-Fi.
Highlights
  • Located in central Old San Juan
  • Walk to El Morro, La Fortaleza and the San Juan Cathedral
  • Close to cruise ship piers
  • Independently owned
Rooms

These large, comfortable rooms at S.J. Suites Hotel have the feel of a bed in the heart of the city. All 15 suites have a bedroom, a living area with tables, couches and desks, and a private bathroom. Work by local artists decorates the walls. Rooms with window are available upon request.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza Las Américas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Condado Beach (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel

Hotel Map

18.4652 -66.1148
Area served
Old San Juan. located in Fortaleza St. #253, between Tanca St. and San Justo St.; Old San Juan, San Juan, Condado, Carolina, Guaynabo, Hato Rey, Bayamon.
Nearby airports
SJU - Luis Munoz Marin International Airport - Estimate driving distance 8.2 miles from airport.
Area description
Old San Juan. located in Fortaleza St#253. between Tanca St. and San Justo St.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed S.J. Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

S.J. Suites Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Suite
Room with 1 queen bed and 1 futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Junior Suite
Room with 1 queen bed including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Queen Double Suite
Room with 2 queen beds including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, private bathroom, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
King Suite
Room with 1 King bed and 1 Futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Isla Verde: 6.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.7 mi

Dining

Parrot Club (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Bistro Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Dragonfly (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Asian Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Aguaviva (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Seaside Latino Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Tio Danny's (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Puertorrican and Mexican Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Hard Rock Cafe (nearby restaurant)
Bar with American Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
La Bombonera (nearby restaurant)
Deli and Pastries within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 6am - 5pm, Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for S.J. Suites Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumar
colombia
Sep 3, 2012

Very good location.

Good for 1 or 2 nights, no more. Some rooms without window. Rooms big and with all you need for a short stay: tv, air conditioning, hot water. Very good location, near everything: shopping, restaurants, discos, etc. 5 blocks away from the cruises terminal. No breakfast included, just some coffee, breakfast in near by restaurants is aproximtely 10 dollars per person. the hotel needs some remodelling but rooms are ok. we checked in at 11:30 pm and had no trouble, we also left our bag after check out with no problm. the take from the airport is around 25 dollars. it is also close to a troley sation that goes to different tourist atractions for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crasian
Appleton, WI
Apr 17, 2014

Great Location

Perfect location for a stay in Old San Juan. Stayed on the 5th floor so the Wifi didn't reach there, which was disappointing. Aside from that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph Crock
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 22, 2014

Fantastic spring break getaway

The staff were amazing. The truly helped me feel safe and it home while I was there. They answered every question I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cape Breton travellers
Nova Scotia
Mar 13, 2014

SJ Suites

If you want a place to stay in Old San Juan then this is suitable, you will save on taxis if you want to do self guided walking tours and shopping,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveled with friends
Pleasanton CA
Dec 15, 2013

SJSuites

Our flight was delayed and even at 2:00am we had the door opened right away and were given our room keys. The location in old San Juan was perfect for walking and seeing the sights the next day. But...the street was under construction so the taxi dropped us to walk with luggage for quite a few blocks wondering if we would find the place. When the hotel door was buzzed open we were greeted with a sign that said elevator is out of order -lobby is on second floor. Our rooms were on fourth floor! Middle of the night workout! The thermostat was under lock and set at frigid. Coldest night we ever spent. Windows did not open. Minimalist rooms with almost everything we needed. Thankfully we only had a one night stay before cruise. On a happy note, the next morning they stored our luggage while we were out and about and had a strong young man to help with luggage on stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed El Convento. Nice place to stay next time. Enjoyed a nice lunch there in beautiful surroundings.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abacuswars
Santo Domingo
Oct 26, 2013

Nice Hotel

Excelent Location Friendly Staff. Use the Parcking of Dona Fela is cheaper. Basic Hotel but a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cpalms
Denver, CO
Aug 21, 2013

Great stay

Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, helpful staff. Everything we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abacuswars
Santo Domingo
Jul 30, 2013

Excelent Location

Hotel is basic but clean. Location is excellent in the heart of the colonial city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use a taxi from the airport. Everything is at waking distance.

Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
traveling girl la
los angeles
Dec 30, 2012

Great Location

Great Location. No telephone. Person in the next room kept the TV very loud and the snoring was loud and heard all night. Noise from nxt room was annoying. Hotel was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
brooklyn
brooklyn ny
Sep 26, 2012

dont stay at this hotel if u r comin in at 4 in the mornin

Overall my stay was peace ful.the room was cold all the time.its good for people who love the A/C but for me it shoud hv been controlled by the guess to suite their own taste. There was coffee for coffee lovers.the location was just perfect and the room was very clean.my room was a junior so it was a junior size..no problem with that.my flight from NY was delayed for about 4 hours,initially I was suppose to arrive in Juan at 11:41 but I came in at 3,50am and I expect my hotel to stil have front desk service,but when the cab dropped me off at approx 4:10am there was no one to open the door.the front desk was on the second floor of the building.finally some man came at 4:35. I sttod outside the building just waiting for something to go right.there was a number on the wall to call but no one answered when I called.the man who came was workin at the front desk and the first thing he said to me was that I should have called if I was goin to be late. right.there was a number for me to call so I called the n

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search