$125 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 17, 2015 Check-out: May 20, 2015

S.J. Suites Hotel

2 stars
View map of 253 Fortaleza Street, Old San Juan, 00901

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
36 reviews
great location

When i return to San Juan, I have to stay in old san juan(there are only 15 hotels in the area). If... See full review

  • alex o
  • Nov 17, 2014
Great Location

Perfect location for a stay in Old San Juan. Stayed on the 5th floor so the Wifi didn't reach... See full review

  • Crasian
  • Apr 17, 2014
Quiet and comfort in the center of Old San Juan
S.J. Suites Hotel is located in the heart of Old San Juan. Historic highlights including La Fortaleza, El Morro and the San Juan Cathedral are all within walking distance, as are numerous restaurants, shopping and art venues. The hotel is also a short walk to the cruise ship piers on the Old San Juan side of the harbor. The S.J. Suites Hotel is independently run by the Kury family and has a warm, homey feel. The S.J. Suites Hotel has free Wi-Fi.
Highlights
  • Located in central Old San Juan
  • Walk to El Morro, La Fortaleza and the San Juan Cathedral
  • Close to cruise ship piers
  • Independently owned
Rooms

These large, comfortable rooms at S.J. Suites Hotel have the feel of a bed in the heart of the city. All 15 suites have a bedroom, a living area with tables, couches and desks, and a private bathroom. Work by local artists decorates the walls. Rooms with window are available upon request.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (7.5 mi/12 km)
Attractions
  • La Fortaleza (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Cathedral of San Juan Bautista (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Fort San Cristóbal (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (0.4 mi/0.7 km)
  • Plaza Las Américas (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (2.1 mi/3.4 km)
  • Condado Beach (2.5 mi/4.1 km)
  • Museum of Art of Puerto Rico (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (5.6 mi/9 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi Internet access throughout the hotel

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed S.J. Suites Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

S.J. Suites Hotel Rooms

Queen Deluxe Suite
Room with 1 queen bed and 1 futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, ensuite/private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Junior Suite
Room with 1 queen bed including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
Queen Double Suite
Room with 2 queen beds including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, private bathroom, color TV, disabled facilities, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.
King Suite
Room with 1 King bed and 1 Futon including air conditioning, alarm clock, cable/satellite TV, color TV, disabled facilities, private bathroom, hairdryer, Internet access, iron/ironing board and non-smoking rooms. Painted with relaxing earth tones and its walls are decorated with paintings from well-known Puertorrican artists.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 0 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 0.2 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 0.2 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 0.2 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 0.2 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 0.2 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 0.3 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 0.3 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 0.3 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 0.3 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 0.4 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 0.4 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.6 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 2.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 2.3 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 2.7 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 2.8 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 3.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 4.4 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 5.9 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 42.7 mi

Dining

Parrot Club (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Bistro Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Dragonfly (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Latin Asian Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual.
Aguaviva (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Seaside Latino Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Tio Danny's (nearby restaurant)
Bar/Lounge with Puertorrican and Mexican Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
Hard Rock Cafe (nearby restaurant)
Bar with American Cuisine within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 11am - 2am, Dress Code: Casual
La Bombonera (nearby restaurant)
Deli and Pastries within walking distance from the hotel. Hours of Operation: 6am - 5pm, Dress Code: Casual.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for S.J. Suites Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
36 out of 36
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.2

75% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pumar
colombia
Sep 3, 2012

Very good location.

Good for 1 or 2 nights, no more. Some rooms without window. Rooms big and with all you need for a short stay: tv, air conditioning, hot water. Very good location, near everything: shopping, restaurants, discos, etc. 5 blocks away from the cruises terminal. No breakfast included, just some coffee, breakfast in near by restaurants is aproximtely 10 dollars per person. the hotel needs some remodelling but rooms are ok. we checked in at 11:30 pm and had no trouble, we also left our bag after check out with no problm. the take from the airport is around 25 dollars. it is also close to a troley sation that goes to different tourist atractions for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
snave
Business
WINNIPEG
Feb 19, 2015

good location to over night before a cruise

We booked this hotel to be close to the cruise ship... The room ended up being smaller than our room on the ship... On the ship we had a window, in our hotel room the were none... Stay here if you fly in late and leave early.... The front desk staff are very Friendly.... Take the ferry and visit the Bacardi factory....Awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KELLI S.
Business
Katy
Jan 12, 2015

Hotel stay before and after cruise

We flew in the day before our cruise. The hotel is in a great location, and my expectations were of a two star hotel. They exceeded my expectations. The rooms were relatively large and clean but had not thermostat in the room. Our first night we had a room without a window, and it got a little chilly in the room ( we woke up to 61 degrees!) way too cold for the tropical climate! The next night, we called the front desk at 10:15 pm and they came and adjusted the temperature. Overall, it was a good place to stay. The best part was when we got off the cruise ship, we went straight to the hotel to store our bags, and since it was 9 am, we expected to leave them and come back in the afternoon to check in. However, our room was ready at 9am, so they let us check in. That took the pressure off of the day. We appreciated the service and willingness to accommodate us!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We ate dinner at La Barrachina. It was a nice restaurant and they had a flamingo dancing event that night. Very nice. But you need reservations. The restaurant was about 2 blocks from the hotel, an easy walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
alex o
Business
MIami FL
Nov 17, 2014

great location

When i return to San Juan, I have to stay in old san juan(there are only 15 hotels in the area). If you wanna be by the beach, then you go to playa escambron condado or isla verde.We just loved san juan and this hotel is in the perfect location. Do not expect luxury but it is comfortable enough and inexpensive.Lots of restaurants, shops, attraction close by, all walking distance. WE cannot wait to retun to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Fonda del Jibarito calle sol. Great food excellent price

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crasian
Business
Appleton, WI
Apr 17, 2014

Great Location

Perfect location for a stay in Old San Juan. Stayed on the 5th floor so the Wifi didn't reach there, which was disappointing. Aside from that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steph Crock
Business
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Mar 22, 2014

Fantastic spring break getaway

The staff were amazing. The truly helped me feel safe and it home while I was there. They answered every question I had.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cape Breton travellers
Business
Nova Scotia
Mar 13, 2014

SJ Suites

If you want a place to stay in Old San Juan then this is suitable, you will save on taxis if you want to do self guided walking tours and shopping,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Traveled with friends
Business
Pleasanton CA
Dec 15, 2013

SJSuites

Our flight was delayed and even at 2:00am we had the door opened right away and were given our room keys. The location in old San Juan was perfect for walking and seeing the sights the next day. But...the street was under construction so the taxi dropped us to walk with luggage for quite a few blocks wondering if we would find the place. When the hotel door was buzzed open we were greeted with a sign that said elevator is out of order -lobby is on second floor. Our rooms were on fourth floor! Middle of the night workout! The thermostat was under lock and set at frigid. Coldest night we ever spent. Windows did not open. Minimalist rooms with almost everything we needed. Thankfully we only had a one night stay before cruise. On a happy note, the next morning they stored our luggage while we were out and about and had a strong young man to help with luggage on stairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We enjoyed El Convento. Nice place to stay next time. Enjoyed a nice lunch there in beautiful surroundings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Abacuswars
Business
Santo Domingo
Oct 26, 2013

Nice Hotel

Excelent Location Friendly Staff. Use the Parcking of Dona Fela is cheaper. Basic Hotel but a good price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cpalms
Business
Denver, CO
Aug 21, 2013

Great stay

Comfortable bed, clean bathroom, helpful staff. Everything we needed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of S.J. Suites Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Abacuswars
Business
Santo Domingo
Jul 30, 2013

Excelent Location

Hotel is basic but clean. Location is excellent in the heart of the colonial city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use a taxi from the airport. Everything is at waking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top