$104 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 7, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Quality Inn El Portal

2 stars
76 Condado Avenue, PO BOX 16756, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
37 reviews
A great place

The hotel was great! The staff was great! The room on the 7th floor was great! Even the elevator... See full review

  • King Foszz
  • Feb 26, 2014
Perfect location

The only complain is the quaility of the coffee served with the Continental breakfast. It comes... See full review

  • PVel
  • Nov 21, 2014
Condado Beach area hotel with free rooftop breakfast buffet

The no-frills exterior of the Quality Inn El Portal belies a lustrous lobby with white marble floors and white leather lounge chairs. The free breakfast buffet at the Quality Inn El Portal is served on the covered roof deck with sprawling views of the surrounding area. In the lobby, there is free Wi-Fi and a work station with a public computer and printer. The spacious sun deck offers views of many nearby attractions, including the Condado area, which is crammed with dinning, shopping and gambling options, and the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • The Quality Inn El Portal is near the golden sands of Condado Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast served on a rooftop with area views
  • Located near Ashford Avenue, popular for dining and shopping
  • Family-friendly
  • Sun deck
Rooms

The 47 rooms at the Quality Inn El Portal are simple but homey. They have attractive details including baby blue bedspreads, wooden headboards and bureaus, and small desks cleverly built into the wall. In-room amenities include air conditioning, coffee makers, hair dryers, refrigerators, safes, irons and ironing boards.

Dining

Bulgao Restaurant, with its distinctly marine-inspired ambiance, is known for its catch of the day. Menu items at the Quality Inn El Portal restaurant include mussels in a coconut, saffron and lemongrass broth and crispy codfish croquettes. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There is a large sun deck at the Quality Inn. Condado Beach is a half mile away.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8 km)

Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Art Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bacardi Distillery (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Botanical Gardens (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Workstation with computer and printer
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in lobby

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn El Portal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (37)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn El Portal

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
4 out of 37
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washington lawyer
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 25, 2013

good location/friendly staff

Fine location in prime Condado area 2 blocks from beach. Lots of good restaurants in area. Healthy free light rooftop breakfast.. Good value for short stay or business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Limited parking, but I had no problem with on-street parking across the street from hotel during my 5-night stay. Get room with queen size bed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDM562
Business
Columbia, MO
Nov 2, 2012

4 day business trip

This was my first time in San Juan and I wish navigating the streets would have been as easy as my hotel stay! The hotel room decor was dated but the beds were firm & comfortable and clean. Staff was polite and helpful. I would stay there again if traveling on business by myself but would more than likely look for a resort enviroment if I return with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
puertorriquena
Business
Yauco, PR
Jul 23, 2009

Excellent

I admit, the prices in PR hotels are pretty expensive just for the basics, I don't understand it either!!!. I researched the internet several times trying to find a bettter price and found this hotel, it had a mini fridge and a coffemaker. So it was what I needed. I'm a PR local , but I have travel occasionally around PR. I needed to stay in the San Juan area one night to take a very important text the following morning. I didn't want to spent a lot just to review and sleep, but still wanted something decent to stay. The parking is very constricted. You have to leave your keys if you want to use their parking, but everything was okay. Although, check in was at 3PM, I was allowed to check in at 1:30. Thus check with them. The room is kind of small for more than 2 people, but for me it was okay. Included a queen/twin beds, a desk, a dresser, a TV with nice selection of channels and a not so pretty view of a roof and biuldings. I think the breakfast was just getting set at 7AM when I checked, so it didn't have plenty, but the pastries tasted good and the coffee was nice. Suchi bar and a restaurant at the entrance of the hotel. Call ahead and ask for specific directions because you can miss it if you don't know where you are going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens, Wendys, Subway, restaurants, night life and souvenirs shops within five to ten minutes walking distance, so let the car in the hotel and walk (traffic is terrrible in the afternoons).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hyattsville, MD
Jul 18, 2009

Puerto Rico trip July 15th-17th

This trip was for visiting the InterAmericana University that I am interested in attending. I liked the location of this hotel, it was in a safe area. The staff was very helpfull and pleasant. They tried to get me rental car unfortunately they couldn't find one for me, but I was pleased with their attempt. This hotel is not fancy but was good for what I was there for. The price was good for the location and would recommend for someone who doesn't care if not fancy and want a comfortable place to stay. I liked that they have a cappucino machine in the lobby and a microwave. I had a little fridge in my room. Their continental breakfast, that is included was okay. I do not recommend taking public transportation in Puerto Rico unless you are traveling with someone who is familiar with the system. IT IS NOT SAFE, I was robbed waiting at the bus stop near the University in Rio Piedras. I would recommend renting a car or taking taxi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Sushi restaurant right next to the hotel, after getting robbed I really didn't want to go anywhere,was still shaken up, so the hotel got me a menu to the Sushi restaurant and I called in the order and they brought it up to my room. The person who delivered my food was very nice and told me he was sorry for what had happened to me. The food was good. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top