$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 5, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

Quality Inn El Portal

2 stars
76 Condado Avenue, PO BOX 16756, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
A great place

The hotel was great! The staff was great! The room on the 7th floor was great! Even the elevator... See full review

  • King Foszz
  • Feb 26, 2014
good location/friendly staff

Fine location in prime Condado area 2 blocks from beach. Lots of good restaurants in area. Healthy... See full review

  • Washington lawyer
  • Nov 25, 2013
Condado Beach area hotel with free rooftop breakfast buffet

The no-frills exterior of the Quality Inn El Portal belies a lustrous lobby with white marble floors and white leather lounge chairs. The free breakfast buffet at the Quality Inn El Portal is served on the covered roof deck with sprawling views of the surrounding area. In the lobby, there is free Wi-Fi and a work station with a public computer and printer. The spacious sun deck offers views of many nearby attractions, including the Condado area, which is crammed with dinning, shopping and gambling options, and the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • The Quality Inn El Portal is near the golden sands of Condado Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast served on a rooftop with area views
  • Located near Ashford Avenue, popular for dining and shopping
  • Family-friendly
  • Sun deck
Rooms

The 47 rooms at the Quality Inn El Portal are simple but homey. They have attractive details including baby blue bedspreads, wooden headboards and bureaus, and small desks cleverly built into the wall. In-room amenities include air conditioning, coffee makers, hair dryers, refrigerators, safes, irons and ironing boards.

Dining

Bulgao Restaurant, with its distinctly marine-inspired ambiance, is known for its catch of the day. Menu items at the Quality Inn El Portal restaurant include mussels in a coconut, saffron and lemongrass broth and crispy codfish croquettes. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There is a large sun deck at the Quality Inn. Condado Beach is a half mile away.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8 km)

Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Art Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bacardi Distillery (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Botanical Gardens (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Workstation with computer and printer
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in lobby

Hotel Map

18.4544 -66.0729
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 5.00, MI, E; Isla Grande Arpt, (SIG), 1.50, MI, W;
Area description
Airport, Condado/Luisa

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn El Portal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn El Portal

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Feb 18, 2008

great value for your money

warm friendly staff, great accomodation in a pretty good neighbourhood, central to everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

everything from nightlife, dining and shopping.

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snookieandjwow
wisconsin
Aug 23, 2012

LOVED our stay!!!!!!

All the people who work there are amazing!!!! At any hr of the day they are will to help u with where to go and what to see and how to get there..I am goin back and u got it thats were im going to stay..Keep up the great work...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the beach and shops only a few blocks away...

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Lebedeva
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 26, 2011

"Friendly and helpful staff"

My friends and I really enjoyed our trip to San Juan and our stay at Quality Inn Hotel. The staff is very friendly, they are always there to help you with directions and recommendations for sightseeing. The breakfast is complimentary, but the only thing is that it is always the same menu. I will definitely stay at the same hotel next time I go to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Feb 18, 2008

great value for your money

warm friendly staff, great accomodation in a pretty good neighbourhood, central to everywhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

everything from nightlife, dining and shopping.

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kekocan
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

great place!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Fab1
Arlington, VA
May 3, 2012

Great experience!

This place is clean and organized. Its two blocks away from a very nice beach and I did like this area.It is close to the Airport. Its close to Old San Juan,as well, But you still have to get a cab or bus... Unless you rent a car. I do recommend this Hotel! Friendly staff. They serve breakfast from 7am until 10am, so we do not have to wake up that early. AC does work. The rooms are neat and comfy. I had a great stay indeed. No complaints, I do wanna go back to Puerto Rico! I would stay in this hotel again for sure. The Locals are the Nicest people in the whole world :-) Super happy!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms. Lebedeva
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 26, 2011

"Friendly and helpful staff"

My friends and I really enjoyed our trip to San Juan and our stay at Quality Inn Hotel. The staff is very friendly, they are always there to help you with directions and recommendations for sightseeing. The breakfast is complimentary, but the only thing is that it is always the same menu. I will definitely stay at the same hotel next time I go to Puerto Rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
King Foszz
Jefferson Wisconsin
Feb 26, 2014

A great place

The hotel was great! The staff was great! The room on the 7th floor was great! Even the elevator was great! Normally I don't care if there is a TV or not, but this was the day of the Daytona 500 and the TV didn't work well on FOX. The 16X9 picture was only in a 4.3 mode and couldn't be changed. Also the volume was weak. No big deal. If it wasn't Daytona 500 race day I wouldn't have even had the need to turn it on. Book this place. The Continental breakfast on the roof is nice. Got a 10% off at Ponderosa steak house 2 blocks away from the hotel. Burger King, McDonalds, huge Walmart and many other stores within walking distance. Book this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snookieandjwow
wisconsin
Nov 4, 2012

Round 2

Wonderful just like the first time..Im going back and thats were I will be staying for a 3rd time...They are the nicest people and very helpful..The Manager is anazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kekocan
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

great place!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top