$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 10, 2014 Check-out: Aug 13, 2014

Quality Inn El Portal

2 stars
76 Condado Avenue, PO BOX 16756, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
A great place

The hotel was great! The staff was great! The room on the 7th floor was great! Even the elevator... See full review

  • King Foszz
  • Feb 26, 2014
good location/friendly staff

Fine location in prime Condado area 2 blocks from beach. Lots of good restaurants in area. Healthy... See full review

  • Washington lawyer
  • Nov 25, 2013
Condado Beach area hotel with free rooftop breakfast buffet

The no-frills exterior of the Quality Inn El Portal belies a lustrous lobby with white marble floors and white leather lounge chairs. The free breakfast buffet at the Quality Inn El Portal is served on the covered roof deck with sprawling views of the surrounding area. In the lobby, there is free Wi-Fi and a work station with a public computer and printer. The spacious sun deck offers views of many nearby attractions, including the Condado area, which is crammed with dinning, shopping and gambling options, and the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • The Quality Inn El Portal is near the golden sands of Condado Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast served on a rooftop with area views
  • Located near Ashford Avenue, popular for dining and shopping
  • Family-friendly
  • Sun deck
Rooms

The 47 rooms at the Quality Inn El Portal are simple but homey. They have attractive details including baby blue bedspreads, wooden headboards and bureaus, and small desks cleverly built into the wall. In-room amenities include air conditioning, coffee makers, hair dryers, refrigerators, safes, irons and ironing boards.

Dining

Bulgao Restaurant, with its distinctly marine-inspired ambiance, is known for its catch of the day. Menu items at the Quality Inn El Portal restaurant include mussels in a coconut, saffron and lemongrass broth and crispy codfish croquettes. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There is a large sun deck at the Quality Inn. Condado Beach is a half mile away.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8 km)

Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Art Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bacardi Distillery (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Botanical Gardens (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Workstation with computer and printer
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in lobby

Hotel Map

18.4544 -66.0729
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 5.00, MI, E; Isla Grande Arpt, (SIG), 1.50, MI, W;
Area description
Airport, Condado/Luisa

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn El Portal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn El Portal

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new travel guy
new york
Feb 23, 2010

good place minimal parking

the hotel was a nice price and clean.my only issue was the lack of parking but the sevice was eceptional they did everything they could to accomidate. the were very helpfull with travel ideas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
new travel guy
new york
Feb 23, 2010

good place minimal parking

the hotel was a nice price and clean.my only issue was the lack of parking but the sevice was eceptional they did everything they could to accomidate. the were very helpfull with travel ideas

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VIParalegal
Caribbean
Jan 31, 2010

Fair Hotel for the Price

Stayed for three days for medical purposes. Unfortunately, my floor was very noisy with children loudly crying in the night for extended periods of time. The AC made a very loud humming sound and the remote for the TV was not working. Compared to other trips this was not one of my best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the Ashford Medical would only take about 15 minutes; great way to see what El Condado area offers on that side of the strip.

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
VIParalegal
Caribbean
Jan 31, 2010

Fair Hotel for the Price

Stayed for three days for medical purposes. Unfortunately, my floor was very noisy with children loudly crying in the night for extended periods of time. The AC made a very loud humming sound and the remote for the TV was not working. Compared to other trips this was not one of my best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walking to the Ashford Medical would only take about 15 minutes; great way to see what El Condado area offers on that side of the strip.

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kekocan
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

great place!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kekocan
Chicago
Nov 23, 2009

great place!

[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami florida
Jul 28, 2009

weekend in PR

small basic rooms , helpful friendly staff economical price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami florida
Jul 28, 2009

weekend in PR

small basic rooms , helpful friendly staff economical price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
puertorriquena
Business
Yauco, PR
Jul 23, 2009

Excellent

I admit, the prices in PR hotels are pretty expensive just for the basics, I don't understand it either!!!. I researched the internet several times trying to find a bettter price and found this hotel, it had a mini fridge and a coffemaker. So it was what I needed. I'm a PR local , but I have travel occasionally around PR. I needed to stay in the San Juan area one night to take a very important text the following morning. I didn't want to spent a lot just to review and sleep, but still wanted something decent to stay. The parking is very constricted. You have to leave your keys if you want to use their parking, but everything was okay. Although, check in was at 3PM, I was allowed to check in at 1:30. Thus check with them. The room is kind of small for more than 2 people, but for me it was okay. Included a queen/twin beds, a desk, a dresser, a TV with nice selection of channels and a not so pretty view of a roof and biuldings. I think the breakfast was just getting set at 7AM when I checked, so it didn't have plenty, but the pastries tasted good and the coffee was nice. Suchi bar and a restaurant at the entrance of the hotel. Call ahead and ask for specific directions because you can miss it if you don't know where you are going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens, Wendys, Subway, restaurants, night life and souvenirs shops within five to ten minutes walking distance, so let the car in the hotel and walk (traffic is terrrible in the afternoons).

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
puertorriquena
Business
Yauco, PR
Jul 23, 2009

Excellent

I admit, the prices in PR hotels are pretty expensive just for the basics, I don't understand it either!!!. I researched the internet several times trying to find a bettter price and found this hotel, it had a mini fridge and a coffemaker. So it was what I needed. I'm a PR local , but I have travel occasionally around PR. I needed to stay in the San Juan area one night to take a very important text the following morning. I didn't want to spent a lot just to review and sleep, but still wanted something decent to stay. The parking is very constricted. You have to leave your keys if you want to use their parking, but everything was okay. Although, check in was at 3PM, I was allowed to check in at 1:30. Thus check with them. The room is kind of small for more than 2 people, but for me it was okay. Included a queen/twin beds, a desk, a dresser, a TV with nice selection of channels and a not so pretty view of a roof and biuldings. I think the breakfast was just getting set at 7AM when I checked, so it didn't have plenty, but the pastries tasted good and the coffee was nice. Suchi bar and a restaurant at the entrance of the hotel. Call ahead and ask for specific directions because you can miss it if you don't know where you are going.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens, Wendys, Subway, restaurants, night life and souvenirs shops within five to ten minutes walking distance, so let the car in the hotel and walk (traffic is terrrible in the afternoons).

Back to menu Return to top