$94 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 8, 2014

Quality Inn El Portal

2 stars
76 Condado Avenue, PO BOX 16756, San Juan, 00907
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
51 reviews
A great place

The hotel was great! The staff was great! The room on the 7th floor was great! Even the elevator... See full review

  • King Foszz
  • Feb 26, 2014
good location/friendly staff

Fine location in prime Condado area 2 blocks from beach. Lots of good restaurants in area. Healthy... See full review

  • Washington lawyer
  • Nov 25, 2013
Condado Beach area hotel with free rooftop breakfast buffet

The no-frills exterior of the Quality Inn El Portal belies a lustrous lobby with white marble floors and white leather lounge chairs. The free breakfast buffet at the Quality Inn El Portal is served on the covered roof deck with sprawling views of the surrounding area. In the lobby, there is free Wi-Fi and a work station with a public computer and printer. The spacious sun deck offers views of many nearby attractions, including the Condado area, which is crammed with dinning, shopping and gambling options, and the Atlantic Ocean.

Highlights
  • The Quality Inn El Portal is near the golden sands of Condado Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast served on a rooftop with area views
  • Located near Ashford Avenue, popular for dining and shopping
  • Family-friendly
  • Sun deck
Rooms

The 47 rooms at the Quality Inn El Portal are simple but homey. They have attractive details including baby blue bedspreads, wooden headboards and bureaus, and small desks cleverly built into the wall. In-room amenities include air conditioning, coffee makers, hair dryers, refrigerators, safes, irons and ironing boards.

Dining

Bulgao Restaurant, with its distinctly marine-inspired ambiance, is known for its catch of the day. Menu items at the Quality Inn El Portal restaurant include mussels in a coconut, saffron and lemongrass broth and crispy codfish croquettes. The restaurant is open seven days a week for lunch and dinner.

Recreation

There is a large sun deck at the Quality Inn. Condado Beach is a half mile away.

Transportation

Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (5 mi/8 km)

Attractions
  • Condado Beach (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Plaza las Americas (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Puerto Rico Art Museum (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • La Fortaleza (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Isla Verde Beach (3.2 mi/5.2 km)
  • Bacardi Distillery (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Botanical Gardens (5 mi/8 km)
Business
  • Workstation with computer and printer
  • High-speed Wi-Fi in lobby

Hotel Map

18.4544 -66.0729
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin Int'l Arpt, (SJU), 5.00, MI, E; Isla Grande Arpt, (SIG), 1.50, MI, W;
Area description
Airport, Condado/Luisa

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Quality Inn El Portal also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free breakfast
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Vending machines
Services
Multilingual
Tour desk
FAX
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Outdoor parking
Accessibility
Ramp access to buildings
Room
Television with cable
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Iron

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 0.3 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 0.5 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 0.8 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 1.3 mi
  • Ocean Park: 1.5 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 2.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 2.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 2.7 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 2.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 3 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 3 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 3.1 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 3.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 3.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 3.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 3.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 3.1 mi
  • Isla Verde: 3.6 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.8 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 4.7 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 45.3 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Quality Inn El Portal

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
King Foszz
Jefferson Wisconsin
Feb 26, 2014

A great place

The hotel was great! The staff was great! The room on the 7th floor was great! Even the elevator was great! Normally I don't care if there is a TV or not, but this was the day of the Daytona 500 and the TV didn't work well on FOX. The 16X9 picture was only in a 4.3 mode and couldn't be changed. Also the volume was weak. No big deal. If it wasn't Daytona 500 race day I wouldn't have even had the need to turn it on. Book this place. The Continental breakfast on the roof is nice. Got a 10% off at Ponderosa steak house 2 blocks away from the hotel. Burger King, McDonalds, huge Walmart and many other stores within walking distance. Book this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Washington lawyer
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 25, 2013

good location/friendly staff

Fine location in prime Condado area 2 blocks from beach. Lots of good restaurants in area. Healthy free light rooftop breakfast.. Good value for short stay or business.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Limited parking, but I had no problem with on-street parking across the street from hotel during my 5-night stay. Get room with queen size bed.

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
boston retired
boston
Nov 6, 2013

for the money nice place!

every one is so nice to you! less than 10 min to beech,walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alicia precious
Staten Island, New York
Apr 1, 2013

Very good if you want to save some money for entertainment

Very nice managers and staff. Free breakfast every day didn't hurt too. Pretty close to the beach and Old San Juan. I would definitely recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jmdplt
Franktwon, CO
Mar 5, 2013

Facilities

Practically nothing advertised for this hotel worked. The wifi simply would not function outside the lobby. The signal for the TV in the room was horrible. In the end, the alarm clock didn't even work. While the staff was extremely friendly, and tried their best to be helpful, there is only so much they could do. Overall, I would say that if no other rooms were available anywhere in San Juan, this hotel would be OK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Exchange Student Mom
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 8, 2012

Terrific tropical adventure

We selected the Quality Inn El Portal mostly because it offered a great rate. Yeah, we wanted a pool, which QIEP doesn't have, but we figured we could do without. We were proved right. Our room was small, but cozy and comfortable. And the air conditioning was a blast -- literally. The free continental breakfast, although not imaginative, was exactly what we needed to start our day. It's served rooftop, with a spectacular view that extends to San Cristobal. We had no idea that Condado was a neighborhood in San Juan or exactly where it was, but it proved to be the perfect location. The main strip of Condado, two blocks away, has a host of restaurants and shops. Cydmarie at the front desk suggested a restaurant our first day -- and we liked it so well that we visited daily. The beach was just another short block's walk away. How perfect. The bus, which costs 75 cents to ride, is a two-block walk in the opposite direction from QIEP. We rode that into San Juan to do our sightseeing. We couldn't have asked for better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're going to Puerto Rico, eat like a native! Cafe de Angel makes the best traditional Puerto Rican food imaginable. Their garlic chicken, garlic tilapia, and cole slaw, believe-it-or-not, are beyond compare. And their sangria is to die-for!

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snookieandjwow
wisconsin
Nov 4, 2012

Round 2

Wonderful just like the first time..Im going back and thats were I will be staying for a 3rd time...They are the nicest people and very helpful..The Manager is anazing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MDM562
Business
Columbia, MO
Nov 2, 2012

4 day business trip

This was my first time in San Juan and I wish navigating the streets would have been as easy as my hotel stay! The hotel room decor was dated but the beds were firm & comfortable and clean. Staff was polite and helpful. I would stay there again if traveling on business by myself but would more than likely look for a resort enviroment if I return with my family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Odysuess
New York, NY
Sep 3, 2012

It's ok. Nothing to write home about.

The first room i had did not close and they had to change my room. The floors were gross. They had a lot of stains so i don't recommend walking barefooted.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next door.

Review of Quality Inn El Portal

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
snookieandjwow
wisconsin
Aug 23, 2012

LOVED our stay!!!!!!

All the people who work there are amazing!!!! At any hr of the day they are will to help u with where to go and what to see and how to get there..I am goin back and u got it thats were im going to stay..Keep up the great work...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the beach and shops only a few blocks away...

Back to menu Return to top