Oceana Hostal Playero ★★

Best price guarantee!

Find a lower price somewhere else and we'll pay 100% of the difference in Orbucks, plus up to $100 in additional Orbucks for Orbitz Rewards members Learn more

$89
avg/night
Rate and special offer based on
Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 19, 2016
2.5 /5
Overall score
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8
1 2 3 4 5

Select your room

Room types

Show Prices Standard Queen
  • Size: 139 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Standard Double
  • Size: 182 sqft
  • Occupancy: 4
Show Prices Suite and 2 double futons
  • Size: 500 sqft
  • Occupancy: 6
Show Prices Run Of House Non Refundable rm type assigned at hotel option
  • Size: 139 sqft
  • Occupancy: 2
Show Prices Deluxe
  • Occupancy: 2

Overview

The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Property features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Highlights

  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Nearby attractions

  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)

Business

  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Transportation

  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Recommendations for you

Guest score 2.8 / 5
$69
Guest score 3.3 / 5
$122
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$98
Guest score 3.7 / 5
$156
Guest score 3.4 / 5
$150
Guest score 3.1 / 5
$119

Amenities

Featured

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities

General

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
  • Concierge

Activities

  • Outdoor pool

Dining

  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Room service

Services

  • In-Room Safe
  • Tour desk
  • Meeting/Banquet facilities

Internet

  • WiFi

Parking

  • Free parking

Accessibility

  • Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Reviews

2.5 /5 Overall score

  • Amenities: 2.2/5
  • Cleanliness: 2.5/5
  • Hotel staff: 3.4/5
  • Comfort: 2.6/5
  • Location: 3.5/5
  • Value: 2.8/5

Everything was cool

Would recommend Thu, Aug 20, 2015
This was a cool trip to get away for the week and the hotel did exactly what is suppose to do when staying in a villa setting. While there, they were doing some pretty nice looking renovations, so I'm sure it will look nice when it is completely done.

| N/A Couples

4 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Family Trip

Would recommend Tue, Jul 21, 2015
The parking was the only inconvenient. People around go to the beach and use the hostal parking.

| N/A Family

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 4 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 5 /5

Vacation 2015

Would not recommend Tue, Jul 21, 2015
This hotel advertised free wifi and parking...they forgot to mention it was very limited...the rooms where old and the limited staff were rude...I guess I'd be rude to if I had to work the front desk make everyone breakfast and do maintenance...talk about breakfast which was advertised as buffet style breakfast we got one slice of toast a banana and a piece of cheese with half a cup of your choice of coffee or juice...

| N/A Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Do not stay here

Would not recommend Sun, Apr 26, 2015
First of all, it took us over 20 minutes to find a place to park, almost a mile away from the hotel, which boast being minutes away from the water, well quite a few minutes anyway. Only to find out that the hotel has only limited parking (6 spots in total. The neighborhood is also unsavory. The pool advertised on there site is actually only a 5ft long by 2 feet wide tub of luke warm, not very clean water. The room promised to us w/ 2 beds and a futon was a one bed 2 chair pull outs room(not fit for 6 people as promised).. The a/c was a window unit in the bedroom, that barely spit out air and did not cover the entire unit. The bugs were the final straw... the staff was pleasant at check in, but changed tunes when we decided not to stay. They actually refused to give us our money back. Even with valid complaints. If you do not have a large party, and no car to keep safe, and you don't mind the heat or bugs. This place would not be to bad.

| N/A Family

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Old motel

Would not recommend Thu, Mar 12, 2015
It's really old, the room smells bad, not quite clean. But the location is good. I stayed there only for one night only because the holiday inn I was staying didn't have an available room that day. It's ok for the money but don't expect too much.

| Los Angeles Couples

3 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 3 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 3 /5
  • Location: 4 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

Great

Would recommend Wed, Jan 14, 2015
the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach.

| N/A Couples

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 4 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

Exelent trip

Would recommend Wed, Jan 7, 2015
IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there again.

| NAPLES Business

5 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 4 /5
  • Cleanliness: 5 /5
  • Hotel staff: 5 /5
  • Comfort: 4 /5
  • Location: 5 /5
  • Value: 4 /5

terrible

Would not recommend Mon, Dec 1, 2014
When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by a very friendly front desk supervisor. I immediatley noticed the "old school" way of checking in. Actual keys.... paper portfolio check in.... making copies of my credit card and drivers license....and so forth. He gave me my remote for bothe the t.v. and a.c. unit. I went through a secured door and immediately notice how dorty the place was. Walked down a dimly lit hallway to my room and opened the door. The room stunk... had barely any light the bed was disgusting and checked the mattress and there were bed bugs. I turned around went back to the front desk and told them I was not staying there. They would not give me back any money. I asked to speek to the mgr. And he was not avaliable. How convenient. There was no getting any money back. I told the employee to please give my room to anyone who needed it and not to charge anyone. However hopeful I am that my request was met.... I have a feeli g it was not. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!

Money saver

Rent a bike to get around San Juan. Cheaper and easier than a car.

| Chicago Ill. Singles

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 2 /5
  • Value: 1 /5

Not what it seems

Would not recommend Tue, Sep 16, 2014
After reading the reviews I thought I was getting a good deal. Completely the opposite. Service was bad none of the outlets worked to plug in my phone. The only one that worked was being occupied by the tv and ac. Bed was hard and automatically started to scratch everywhere. When I went to complain they basically said you get what you paid for. An when I ask for a partial refund because I didn't even stay the night they said no. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

| Miami, Florida Business

1 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 1 /5
  • Cleanliness: 1 /5
  • Hotel staff: 1 /5
  • Comfort: 1 /5
  • Location: 1 /5
  • Value: 3 /5

late check in

Would not recommend Sun, Aug 31, 2014
Our flight was delayed, luckily it was the weekend and on the weekend they have a staff 24 hours. But charged us a late check in fee of 25$ for a hotel we only used for 7 hours, I should of just spent on the hotel we were staying the other 2 nights.they also took a photo copy of my credit card..front and back which I wasn't really comfortable with. 30$ cab ride to get us from the airport to there..just rent a car. Cabs are over priced. Its a good hotel if your with your friends and want to be by the beach. It will work just fine!

Money saver

Rent a car

| Denver, CO Couples

2 /5

Overall score
  • Amenities: 2 /5
  • Cleanliness: 3 /5
  • Hotel staff: 3 /5
  • Comfort: 2 /5
  • Location: 3 /5
  • Value: 2 /5

Nearby points of interest

Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico 0.5 mi
Ocean Park 0.6 mi
Bellas Artes 0.8 mi
Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico 1.1 mi
San Juan Gate 1.3 mi
Fine Arts Cinema 1.7 mi
Puerto Rico Convention Center 2.3 mi
Port of San Juan 3.5 mi
Jardin Botanico 3.5 mi
Castillo de San Cristobal 3.6 mi
Castillo San Felipe del Morro 3.6 mi
Fortaleza Street 3.9 mi
Plaza de Armas 4 mi
Parque de las Palomas 4 mi
Calle del Cristo 4.1 mi
Paseo de la Princesa 4.1 mi
Museo del Nino 4.1 mi
Bacardi Rum Factory 4.1 mi
La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina 4.1 mi
El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan) 4.1 mi
San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan) 4.9 mi
Museo de Las Americas 5.4 mi
Arecibo Observatory 46.2 mi

Hotel Policies

  • Check-in: 3:00 PM
  • Check-out: 12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

$89
avg/night
Choose dates
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 17, 2016 Check-out: Feb 19, 2016