$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 23, 2015 Check-out: Jun 26, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
135 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
22 out of 135
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.8
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.6

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Michael T.
Business
N/A
Apr 26, 2015

Do not stay here

First of all, it took us over 20 minutes to find a place to park, almost a mile away from the hotel, which boast being minutes away from the water, well quite a few minutes anyway. Only to find out that the hotel has only limited parking (6 spots in total. The neighborhood is also unsavory. The pool advertised on there site is actually only a 5ft long by 2 feet wide tub of luke warm, not very clean water. The room promised to us w/ 2 beds and a futon was a one bed 2 chair pull outs room(not fit for 6 people as promised).. The a/c was a window unit in the bedroom, that barely spit out air and did not cover the entire unit. The bugs were the final straw... the staff was pleasant at check in, but changed tunes when we decided not to stay. They actually refused to give us our money back. Even with valid complaints. If you do not have a large party, and no car to keep safe, and you don't mind the heat or bugs. This place would not be to bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELF Family
Business
Puerto rico
Aug 25, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

Nice place, excellent price and location for few nights if you're going to be on Condado Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Versatil
Business
Lawndale, California
May 22, 2014

Fantastic

Fantastic. Thank you so much for pleasant stay, I love the pool, your staff very friendly.i really recommend you guys, the price is fantastic too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GeorgeH
Business
New York, New York
Mar 17, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst "hotel" by far I have ever stayed in. My family and I were so disgusted by this hotel that we ended up taking the lost in this hotel and paying an extra two grand to stay at the Hilton Condado Hotel. You are paying a grand or two to stay in a place that feels like a half way house. The pictures are very misleading. The "pool" is the size of a large bathtub. There are no privacy in the rooms you can hear people in the hallway and rooms as if you are standing next to the person having a conversation. This hotel advertises "free parking" but good luck trying to find any because they only have three parking spaces in front of the place, one being a handicap space. The "sun roof" is the literal roof and there are no elevators so have fun trying to break your back bringing up your suit cases. All in all this "hotel" was just plain old disgusting, it should be shut down. For the price your paying you might as well go somewhere nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddddd
Business
New york
Apr 14, 2013

Sucks

Worst place ever...non accommodating mold in bathroom pool so small and filthy couldn't stay a single night... Worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalBoricua
Business
Antelope, California
Sep 23, 2012

California/Boricua

No elevator...Outdated appliances..Very low water pressure...one dresser and one night stand(dirty)...Fan full of old dust...we asked for the iron board and used in the bathroom to put our toiletries...every day we have to asked for towels... very thin walls...outdated mattress they added a foam with ripped corners and looks like a moving blanket on top...they will served you the breakfast, 2 pc toast one banana, one jelly,one butter,coffee and a cookie, you dont get to pick any of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Fajardo to Culebra for a couple dollars...the ferry schedule at the port is not up to date...make sure you confirm both departures..Culebra beaches are beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tashaunda
Business
Minnesota
Jul 12, 2012

wasn't what i expected

they never cleaned our room unless we asked.And when they did clean they didn't sweep the floors. The staff was shady and when we asked questions the girls weren't that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the ocean is a short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HATE THE PLACE
Business
mora, mn
Jan 13, 2012

not happy

not happy at all, worst place ive ever stayed in, dont be fooled by the low price there is a big catch, and you will be caught, terrible dont stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a very nice place to eat puerto rican food, great price, great staff, just down the road from oceana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles,california
Jul 21, 2011

best location in san juan

is such a pleasant location, with everything a short distance walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

recommended for everithing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zajaz
Business
Tallinn, Estonia
Feb 1, 2011

Great location, old rooms

We were staying in this hotel for 6 nights. The location is great - beach is in 20 meters form the hotel. With the car airport, San Juan center, major car rentals and big shopping center are in 10 min driving distance. There is also big grocery store (24/7) in about 1 km. There is also WIFI in hotel, however it was visible only outside the room. The room we were lived in was big, but a bit old, noisy (compressor near single window) and dark. We were also expecting more form the breakfast. To conclude I would like to say that it was nice hostel for its price. If you are not planning to spend whole time in hotel and you ready to handle a little discomfort - this hostel perfectly suits you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top