$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
91 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Property features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Nearby attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 91
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.5
Value:
3

58% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RED40
Business
Washington DC
Jul 12, 2009

Awful, awful, awful.place

AWFUL,AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH. THat is it.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dtw
Apr 26, 2011

I would not recomment to other

the hotel is not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
myoungchgo
Business
Chicago Ill.
Dec 1, 2014

terrible

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by a very friendly front desk supervisor. I immediatley noticed the "old school" way of checking in. Actual keys.... paper portfolio check in.... making copies of my credit card and drivers license....and so forth. He gave me my remote for bothe the t.v. and a.c. unit. I went through a secured door and immediately notice how dorty the place was. Walked down a dimly lit hallway to my room and opened the door. The room stunk... had barely any light the bed was disgusting and checked the mattress and there were bed bugs. I turned around went back to the front desk and told them I was not staying there. They would not give me back any money. I asked to speek to the mgr. And he was not avaliable. How convenient. There was no getting any money back. I told the employee to please give my room to anyone who needed it and not to charge anyone. However hopeful I am that my request was met.... I have a feeli g it was not. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike to get around San Juan. Cheaper and easier than a car.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tortik
Business
Montréal
Jul 1, 2014

DONT GO THERE. Pay a bit more and go elsewhere

Everything is so hold. That reminds me my grandmother’s stuff. The blanket was discolored, the sheets have some stain, the painting was falling off the wall, and the floor was ugly. I was afraid to touch anything. That was awfully. The shower was so tiny I could not turn without touching the dirty wall. The internet connection is very unstable on 2nd floor and does not work on the 3rd floor. Through the windows we can see a section of the hotel that’s been abandoned. That’s ugly. Paying to see ugly stuff, old stuff, and little technology does not worth it. I will never go back there. The only advantage is that we are 2min walking from a big street with stores and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget solo traveler
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2014

Solid location, pure value hotel

Pros: 1 block from the beach, 15 mins to airport Cheap compared to other area hotels Decent little pool Good A/C Cons: Basic of basic - rooms are sparse and pretty lame Dirty - my bathroom had hair in the shower (glad my girlfriend didn't come with me or we wouldn't have stayed!) Staff reminded you were in a value hotel (not really friendly) Little cafe downstairs is overpriced and not too good I'd recommend this if you're looking to stay on the cheap in a good location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Mar 5, 2009

just ok

very friendly staff and nice common area but "breakfast" of a piece of toast and weighwathcer's cheese slice was insulting. bathroom constantly ran and toxic smell of cleaning products was overpowering and ever present. Also I was really miffed to be charged extra for "blue cheese" on my hamburger only to receive about 2 tablespoons of a gooey disgusting (appraant) salad dressing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bakery/ deli down the street was great!

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Nov 16, 2010

the ugly truth

very cheap hotel with high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EnyawH
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 13, 2009

Decent

The three o'clock check-in was horribly inconvenient and the check-in was a one man show. If you speak spanish, you'll be served first. Otherwise, plan on being patient. It's a decent place for couples who don't want to be seen or discovered. The lobby and bar are quaint. However, in 4 days I never saw anyone at the bar and I didn't go myself. I'd best describe the breakfast a minimal. Overall a bare bones place and not the greatest environment for a single traveler. On the plus side, it's convenient to the beach, but the real Condado areas is a 20 minute leisure walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great deli/restaurant about 3 blocks away. Unfortunately, I don't recall the name. It begins with a "K". You can't miss it. Make a left out the door and walk about three blocks. It's on the same streat McCleary on the right side. It's a must!

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vidal martinez
Business
los angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Good for the money

checking in was easy. staff was nice. they had a nice small pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant. down the street across the street from the gas station on Mc Laire.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trent14
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

trents trip

staff tried. but was certainly not what i expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay with one cap driver

Back to menu Return to top