$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
114 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Top hotels

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 114
Amenities:
2.2
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.7

42% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goldcat
Business
Seattle, WA
May 31, 2009

You get what you pay for

The experience was not very pleasant, although the first room they provided was big, by the time my wife is ready to take a shower, the water pressure was just a trickle. The refrigerator does not work and most of the electrical outlets were not working. We got transfered to another room and this time it has water pressure but the room has a puddle at the middle of the room and the room smells musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Wifey
Business
New York
Aug 3, 2010

the worst hotel I've been

was the worst experience I had in my life, they will offer wireless internet and not have it available in the rooms, no complimentary breakfast, the rooms are very small dirty and smell bad, no elevator, do not recommend this hotel is not worth staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arthur from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Fooled

The hotel lacked beauty, wasn't at all what I expected, it's a huge downgrade for the needs that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's perfect for a student overnight stay with no expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Business
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES, DONT BE FOOLED!!!

TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE CONDITIONS OF THE ROOM AND PLACE. The pictures on this website are nothing like what the hotel looks like. The pool is small and gross looking. the hotel is full of clutter. The staff was not polite at all. There were NO elevators and we had to carry our own bag up three flight of stairs. The room was small and dirty looking. The bathroom stink was broken not attached to the wall. The breakfast was disgusting. They gave you a banana, cold toast, and some re heated pastries. There was no parking at night when we came back. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. I think for the price that we paid i def couldve gotten something way better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

ONCE OU LEAVE THERE THEIR ARE A LOT OF NICE PLACES IN THE AREA. GOOD FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Business
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible Hotel

The pictures they have for this hotel are nothing what it looks like. We got there and the guy in the front was not polite at all. He showed us the pool which was pretty Disgusting and little. The were no elevators so we had to carry our own luggage up three flght of stairs. The room was disgusting i didnt even want to lay down on the bed. The bathroom stink was broken. The breakfast was absolutely disgusting. One banana some toast and some heated up pastries in the microwave. No parking when we came back late at night. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. YOU CAN GET A BETTER, NICER, CLEANER ROOM FOR THE PRICE THAT WE PAID!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Dec 26, 2009

WORST HOSTEL EVER!!!

We were there for two weeks and the experience was horrible! We would not recomend this hotel to our friends or nobody. The t.v. remote was not working, we kept asking everyday for them to fix it and we finally get a new one two days before our departure, the room was only partially clean and in our whole stay they never, ever change the bed sheets and one night we came to the room and it was as we left it in the morning, they did not even make the bed we have to do it. When we complained with the manager ([...]) who by the way is not very friendly the only thing she said was that she was going to see why they skip the cleaning in our room and would send us some clean towels (Oh thanks!!!!), we were on the first floor and is very noisy, also in the middle of the night front desk employees use the phone with the speakers on!!!! not to mention that in addition to all this we seen roaches runing around the room!!!NOT A PLACE TO STAY NO MATTER WHAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigh, the traveler
Business
Los Angeles
May 2, 2009

A dump

We arrived along with a few other guest around 2:20, but they would not allow check in until exactly 3:00. The location of the hotel was just next to the beach, which was great, but a ways from San Juan. Approximately 3 - 4 miles. Many restuarants about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. As for the hotel I would suggest people pass on this one. It offers a continental breafast, skip it. We tried it once. The hotel was not very clean, had a strange smell. Floor in our room was dirty. From our room there was no view of any kind. The pool could be categorized as an over-sized bathtub. Mold in the shower and no window in the bathroom. My wife left her earrings on the sink, and after the second day they were gone, we filed a report, of course no word as of yet. After having paid when I made the reservation, they charged my credit card for the stay after we had checked out. Called the hotel, got no results, called Orbitz, still waiting for refund. On the whole, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even just to sleep over night. Because of the uncleanliness, I did not feel comfortable there. It is a cheap hotel, but remember, you get what you pay for. On a stay such a stay as this, the hotel is not the attraction. We got up early and went to the beach until lunch. Again, the beach is just a 2 - 3 minute walk, and after that we went out to sight see until late and back just to shower and sleep. Bus stop near by and cabs galore. We chose to walk and ride the bus most of the time. I repeat, avoid this hotel if you can. Harold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you know the city, renting a car would be a good idea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superwife!
Business
New York City
May 17, 2010

THE WORST EVER!!!!!!

Online this hotel looks decent..THIS IS HORRIBLE FOR A WEEKEND STAY, BUT OK FOR AN OVERNIGHT! We checked in at 12 midnight, checked out at 8am and went to the Sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burleons
Sep 21, 2008

Better places near by

We arrived after a long flight to the hotel. There is no porter service or anyone to greet you. Puerto Rico is hot and humid but this place seemed like a steam sauna. The had not turned on the AC prior to our arrival so the room was 90+ degrees, a warm welcome. No toliet paper in the bathroom, my wife had to walk back to the front desk to get one roll. I appologized to my wife over and over again. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Acacia Sea Side Inn, great hotel one block from beach. Very eclectic restaurant and scenic jacuzzi on second floor. They also have a great bar and air conditioning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 7, 2008

Friendly and helpful staff

The hotel employees and management were nice and helpful and I offer my comments in hopes to improve the hotel. I understand that the hotel new management are trying to fix up what was a distressed property. The problem I found with the room was it was not comfortable and it did not feel very clean. The bed was situated so your head was in the direct flow of the air conditioner. The headboard was not attached. The walls needed paint. The windows were very dirty. The restaurant and bar area was nice with lots of plants and furniture. The pool was located too close to this area where it was not convenient for use. I did not see anybody in the pool the entire time we were there. I could not tell if it was dirty but it had leaves in it which just did not look good. The hotel had free parking right at the entrance which was good for us. The hotel had a sun roof area which we liked. It was reasonably private had a good spot to have a drink and relax. It could have used some plants and extra furniture. In conclusion the hotel staff were nice but the hotel general condition was not worth the price at this time. The San Juan area in general seems to overcharge for hotels so we will probably plan our vacation somewhere else more reasonable in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is within 1 block. Lots of small stores including Subway, Macdonalds and landromat are walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top