$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
117 out of 117
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Apr 22, 2009

rennovations

friendly staff, but slow with food and drink service. renovations were being done while we stayed so that was annoying, but it looked nice when they were all done. NO TELEPHONE in the room was bad. calling from my cell phone cost a ton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermax 24 hour grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 5, 2009

14 night 15 day stay at Oceana

The location is stellar. I would stay there again. It is a block away from the beach and there are 3 bus routes to get to Old San Juan within a block or two from the hotel: A5, B21, and C53. The rooms were comfortable, yet small. I would recommend for anyone who is traveling to venture in Puerto Rico. It is a 2 star hotel, so I would not recommend for those who like to relax all day at hotel. Staff is friendly and Bilingual. My only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower and the internet was in and out. I had to use Starbucks down the street. I was overall pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in San Juan, rent a car at Charlie's rent a car and go to El Yunkue Rain Forest. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was. Also, bio illuminescant kayack (I know misspelled but correct spelling is registering as profanity for some reason) tour is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 29, 2010

Great Staff, Adequate Room

The hotel is located 1.5 blocks a way from Condado beach. Once you get to the beach, I recommend walking east for a better, cleaner spot. The hotel itself has a very friendly staff, small pool, and has a Vegetarian Bistro on the ground floor. Our room had a small refrigerator (which we used for water, drinks, etc.), a 26" tv, and a tiny bathroom. If you're a taller traveler, I don't recommend this place. (The bathroom was small for me @ 5'8".) We didn't rent a car because we knew that this hostal would have limited parking. We took public transportation everywhere because it was cheap and efficient-- 75 cents (exact change only!) The restaurants are a quick walk away-- either on Loiza ave. or down Ashford ave. If you want to eat local food, I recommend Bebo's on Loiza ave. When you get to your room, please remember that you're in a caribbean paradise and the you will not spend that much time in your room. The room just needs to be clean and quiet, right? Overall, this hostal did the job-- what more can you ask for? The staff was super friendly and wil guide you to whatever activities you're interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the El Morro, Isla Verde Beach, San Cristobal Fort, Old San Juan, and Ashford Avenue.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elaine Q
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 27, 2011

Great staff

Great location, super-helpful staff. Clean, relaxing bar/pool area. A good hotel when you are just looking for somewhere to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great location for beach access. Get a 6 pack of Medalla Light a towel and relax. When the Empanada man comes by get a couple. Its the best three dollar meal in San Juan. A good traditional restaurant is La Tasca de Yiyo at Loiza and Taft.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rainy Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2010

Ok Trip

The hotel was ok. The staff once we arrived was friendly but before we arrived, we had a conflict and was trying to deal with them over the phone and the manager was never available. It does advertise that there's a pool, but it's really small and always dirty, we weren't able to get in it once. The location of the hotel was convenient. There were several local eating spots to enjoy and also a 24-hour Walgreens which is always good. The beach is practically the backyard from the hotel so that was really sweet. You do need a car since taxis are really expensive if you want to sightsee or go to isla verde or san juan and don't want to depend on public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELF Family
Business
Puerto rico
Aug 25, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

Nice place, excellent price and location for few nights if you're going to be on Condado Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time traveling to PR
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Cheap but not worth it

Not up to date, small, more like a motel than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zhe Z.
Business
Los Angeles
Mar 12, 2015

Old motel

It's really old, the room smells bad, not quite clean. But the location is good. I stayed there only for one night only because the holiday inn I was staying didn't have an available room that day. It's ok for the money but don't expect too much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahamas Honeymooners
Business
New Jersey
Mar 2, 2014

Laid-back vacation

Great escape, away from a modern hotel and town, really islandy hotel, very basic, perfect for couples who want to keep it simple. Great Puerto Rican hospitality - with maps and great ideas for us, private beach space is walking distance, local breakfast and lunch spot, small cozy pool, short taxi ride to Downtown San Juan or a fun walk, less than 30 minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 19, 2010

Great option for the budget traveller

Nice, local hotel. If you're looking for a big modern hotel with all the frills and amenities, this is not the place for you. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Room was large and clean, though older vintage. It was a fair walking distance to shopping district, but if you're renting a car, it has plenty of parking on or near the premises. Overall pleased with the hotel considering the lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top