$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puchunguita
Business
Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Feb 28, 2012

needs update

The first room they gave us was in the lobby, Bathroom is small, towels old, pool dirty, the same complementary breakfast evryday. The parking is free and the beds are comfortable and the staff is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan, the food is better and cheaper than in Condado, and you can take the bus for .75 to get there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tashaunda
Business
Minnesota
Jul 12, 2012

wasn't what i expected

they never cleaned our room unless we asked.And when they did clean they didn't sweep the floors. The staff was shady and when we asked questions the girls weren't that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the ocean is a short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 10, 2011

overstated ambiance

[...]. Pool was not fit for gold fish, breakfast was dry toast toasted on one side, a single jelly pack and a brown bannana and 1 cup of coffee or juice. One day they added a 1 inch cinnamon roll. The tile floors in our room were swept, not mopped. Walking barefoot in our room was impossible. The people at the desk were helpful and friendly and spoke english. The court yard design gave a sense of safety in a neighborhood that was not. No resturants for 4 blocks, the vegetarian restaurant on sight was high priced for the amount you were given. Would be a nice one night stop. For the price there are much better choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean is one block away. Beach was nice during day. Police told us not to walk the beach at dark.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bwalt
Business
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2011

Not bad

This place is ok,kind of shady though we flew in early so the room wasn't "ready" even though they had 30 rooms and 2 rooms occupied, so we went to check in after the room would be ready and it was an extra 30$ which the desk clerk pocketed. The room was ok, but their wasn't any comforters just sheets shower sucks, basically no water pressure, the toilet will flush about 50% of the time, for the amenites i thought it was a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat a Bebo's Cafe, cheap great food i ate there 3 times in 4 days, most servers speak english.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Newyawker Rican Sun Worshipper
Business
New York City
Mar 18, 2010

Well ... it's cheap anyway!

Although they highly praised their vegan food, it was terrible. But that was okay, for I'm not a vegetarian and there are plenty of restaurants around. Also, there was always a strange smell coming from the bar area; they never had the ceiling fans on in the main dining area, which would have been nice; and you had to dodge the big lamps hanging down over the tables in the back dining area in order to have a conversation--and here the fans were on, but no one sat there--go figure!! The rooms were just okay. Not very pleasant to be in (and it turned out we had more rainy days than sunny ones to deal with this trip), and it is amazing what just a little attention to them would have changed, like: repaint with a pleasant color other than drab gray and add a little art to the walls; have at least a soap dish in the shower, instead of having to use the floor or window seal; put the bathroom shelf on the wall next to the sink, rather than on the floor much lower than the sink, so there is some place other than the toilet top to place your toiletry bag, etc.; and make sure the floors are swept of the sand before new guests (us!) arrive. The pool garden area was never attended to during our stay of 1 week. It was always in need of a sweeping and the plants could have used some attention too. Water pressure was irregular too, as one friend was totally soaped up in the shower when the water stopped again and he had to wait awhile to rinse off. In general, this place has more the feeling of a student hostel rather than a real hotel. The sad thing is that it could be very, very nice, if there were just a little more attention to detail. But happily, it was cheap and 1 block from the beach, and fulfilled our budget needs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Some excellent inexpensive restaurants a block away on Loisa: 1 Greek; Yiyo (Puerto Rican--excellent!!); Bebo's (Puerto Rican--very good). And more places still in walking distance. Also, a couple very good but more expensive restaurants in local inns on the beach.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Mar 5, 2009

just ok

very friendly staff and nice common area but "breakfast" of a piece of toast and weighwathcer's cheese slice was insulting. bathroom constantly ran and toxic smell of cleaning products was overpowering and ever present. Also I was really miffed to be charged extra for "blue cheese" on my hamburger only to receive about 2 tablespoons of a gooey disgusting (appraant) salad dressing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bakery/ deli down the street was great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Nov 16, 2010

the ugly truth

very cheap hotel with high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

not what expected

the pool was a joke. i have to admit they kept the rooms clean. there was very little around for shopping. overall i would not recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rivera83
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

You get what you pay for..Great Location

Great location. it is about half a block from awesome ocean park beach and hotel very accessible. it is between old san juan and isla verde. The breakfast could have been better. We preferred going to Dunkin Donuts than having string cheese, a banana, and Sunny D. Overall it was good value, we just went there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TwinOtterpilot
Business
Sint Maarten
May 22, 2010

Cost effective + good location for beach

Appears to be well run by a caring owner, but horribly understaffed. One person trying to serve food while they check in guests. No breakfast available even at 8 am due to late staff. Continental breakfast is useless if you can't eat before you go to the airport. No shuttle bus. Locks on doors are a joke. No internet in rooms. Other than that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top