$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rivera83
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

You get what you pay for..Great Location

Great location. it is about half a block from awesome ocean park beach and hotel very accessible. it is between old san juan and isla verde. The breakfast could have been better. We preferred going to Dunkin Donuts than having string cheese, a banana, and Sunny D. Overall it was good value, we just went there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puchunguita
Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Feb 28, 2012

needs update

The first room they gave us was in the lobby, Bathroom is small, towels old, pool dirty, the same complementary breakfast evryday. The parking is free and the beds are comfortable and the staff is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan, the food is better and cheaper than in Condado, and you can take the bus for .75 to get there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
lajas Puerto Rico
Jul 4, 2010

Its Okay

The location of the hotel was exellent, and if you are going on a vacation looking for a place that is quiet and restful. On the other hand, there is only one person in charge of the restaurant, front desk and room service. The hotel was not at all clean either, the pool was dreadfully dirty to the extent that you could not see through the water and they only went to my room once to clean and the lady just walked in the room without knocking, luckly me and my husband were already dressed and getting ready to leave, but the lady did not even say excuse me or sorry, she just walked in and started to change the towles. that was the only time the room was 'cleaned'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are wonderful restaurants and nightlife, beaches are all walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jun 27, 2008

not what expected

the pool was a joke. i have to admit they kept the rooms clean. there was very little around for shopping. overall i would not recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bwalt
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2011

Not bad

This place is ok,kind of shady though we flew in early so the room wasn't "ready" even though they had 30 rooms and 2 rooms occupied, so we went to check in after the room would be ready and it was an extra 30$ which the desk clerk pocketed. The room was ok, but their wasn't any comforters just sheets shower sucks, basically no water pressure, the toilet will flush about 50% of the time, for the amenites i thought it was a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat a Bebo's Cafe, cheap great food i ate there 3 times in 4 days, most servers speak english.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
p3pusher
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 11, 2010

"Great location and friendly staff"

I was apartment hunting, Would have stayed there more time if was able to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to have fun within walking distance....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget solo traveler
USA
Mar 16, 2014

Solid location, pure value hotel

Pros: 1 block from the beach, 15 mins to airport Cheap compared to other area hotels Decent little pool Good A/C Cons: Basic of basic - rooms are sparse and pretty lame Dirty - my bathroom had hair in the shower (glad my girlfriend didn't come with me or we wouldn't have stayed!) Staff reminded you were in a value hotel (not really friendly) Little cafe downstairs is overpriced and not too good I'd recommend this if you're looking to stay on the cheap in a good location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
evets0579
Camuy, Puerto Rico
Jan 5, 2012

Not the best

I can't recommended, only if you want to be near to the airpot this could be good for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria Kazachenko
Bozeman, MT
Jun 1, 2010

Be aware of Hidden fees!

We payed non-refundable price of 85.39$ online for a room with two beds. When we came to the the hotel we were asked to pay extra 35$. The manager claimed that we did reservation for one person, not two (with two beds??). After some bargaining the extra charge was reduced to 5$. We finally got a room with one king size bed, not what we payed for initially! The worst thing is that the price of 85$ was non-refundable, so we could not turn our backs and go to another hotel. Conclusion: Hotel was OK. But hidden fees is a bad style! I would keep away from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Denver Pilot
Denver, CO
Aug 31, 2014

late check in

Our flight was delayed, luckily it was the weekend and on the weekend they have a staff 24 hours. But charged us a late check in fee of 25$ for a hotel we only used for 7 hours, I should of just spent on the hotel we were staying the other 2 nights.they also took a photo copy of my credit card..front and back which I wasn't really comfortable with. 30$ cab ride to get us from the airport to there..just rent a car. Cabs are over priced. Its a good hotel if your with your friends and want to be by the beach. It will work just fine!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a car

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search