$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MONTERREY, MEXICO
Feb 8, 2011

the worst hotel I stayed before

very poor service, rooms very dirty, had rooms available and would not give them early, very bad experience, very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
giantstwo
Business
nyc
Jul 15, 2009

OCEANA HOSTAL PLAYERO

Great location for beaches, shopping and dining. Rooms were old. I say rooms as we had to move to another room 1st as the shower head in the 1st room didn't work.The room they gave us had waterbugs a dirty ceiling fan and an air conditioner that shut down down at about 2am and leaked water everywhere.We couldn't open the windows as they had no screens. I will pay double to stay at a comfortable place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Sep 2, 2009

Would Not Recommend

No cups, wash cloth, hair dryer or iron in room. Sink stopper missing. Mirror too low for 5'10" man shaving. Breakfast sparse and charged for extra coffee and orange juice refill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe 31
Business
Miami, Florida
Sep 16, 2014

Not what it seems

After reading the reviews I thought I was getting a good deal. Completely the opposite. Service was bad none of the outlets worked to plug in my phone. The only one that worked was being occupied by the tv and ac. Bed was hard and automatically started to scratch everywhere. When I went to complain they basically said you get what you paid for. An when I ask for a partial refund because I didn't even stay the night they said no. Wouldn't recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
myoungchgo
Business
Chicago Ill.
Dec 1, 2014

terrible

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by a very friendly front desk supervisor. I immediatley noticed the "old school" way of checking in. Actual keys.... paper portfolio check in.... making copies of my credit card and drivers license....and so forth. He gave me my remote for bothe the t.v. and a.c. unit. I went through a secured door and immediately notice how dorty the place was. Walked down a dimly lit hallway to my room and opened the door. The room stunk... had barely any light the bed was disgusting and checked the mattress and there were bed bugs. I turned around went back to the front desk and told them I was not staying there. They would not give me back any money. I asked to speek to the mgr. And he was not avaliable. How convenient. There was no getting any money back. I told the employee to please give my room to anyone who needed it and not to charge anyone. However hopeful I am that my request was met.... I have a feeli g it was not. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike to get around San Juan. Cheaper and easier than a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget solo traveler
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2014

Solid location, pure value hotel

Pros: 1 block from the beach, 15 mins to airport Cheap compared to other area hotels Decent little pool Good A/C Cons: Basic of basic - rooms are sparse and pretty lame Dirty - my bathroom had hair in the shower (glad my girlfriend didn't come with me or we wouldn't have stayed!) Staff reminded you were in a value hotel (not really friendly) Little cafe downstairs is overpriced and not too good I'd recommend this if you're looking to stay on the cheap in a good location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
You will feel comfortable
Business
Panama City Panama
May 30, 2009

retired

The staff was very freindly and very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
lajas Puerto Rico
Jul 4, 2010

Its Okay

The location of the hotel was exellent, and if you are going on a vacation looking for a place that is quiet and restful. On the other hand, there is only one person in charge of the restaurant, front desk and room service. The hotel was not at all clean either, the pool was dreadfully dirty to the extent that you could not see through the water and they only went to my room once to clean and the lady just walked in the room without knocking, luckly me and my husband were already dressed and getting ready to leave, but the lady did not even say excuse me or sorry, she just walked in and started to change the towles. that was the only time the room was 'cleaned'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are wonderful restaurants and nightlife, beaches are all walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and having fun
Business
Orange, NJ
Aug 31, 2010

An ok stay

The hotel was ok. Needs a lot of work. It is not in the best location. The beach is one block away however it is not a good walking area. The hotel could be cleaner. The towels, sheets and blankets are old. They are not washed well. They do not match. The pool is much smaller than it looks and was not kept clear of debris. The continental breakfast was a banana and bread. The lounge area was nice and cozy. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Condado, had great restaurants. It is within walking distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
p3pusher
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 11, 2010

"Great location and friendly staff"

I was apartment hunting, Would have stayed there more time if was able to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to have fun within walking distance....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top