$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
113 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Business
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES, DONT BE FOOLED!!!

TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE CONDITIONS OF THE ROOM AND PLACE. The pictures on this website are nothing like what the hotel looks like. The pool is small and gross looking. the hotel is full of clutter. The staff was not polite at all. There were NO elevators and we had to carry our own bag up three flight of stairs. The room was small and dirty looking. The bathroom stink was broken not attached to the wall. The breakfast was disgusting. They gave you a banana, cold toast, and some re heated pastries. There was no parking at night when we came back. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. I think for the price that we paid i def couldve gotten something way better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

ONCE OU LEAVE THERE THEIR ARE A LOT OF NICE PLACES IN THE AREA. GOOD FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Business
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible Hotel

The pictures they have for this hotel are nothing what it looks like. We got there and the guy in the front was not polite at all. He showed us the pool which was pretty Disgusting and little. The were no elevators so we had to carry our own luggage up three flght of stairs. The room was disgusting i didnt even want to lay down on the bed. The bathroom stink was broken. The breakfast was absolutely disgusting. One banana some toast and some heated up pastries in the microwave. No parking when we came back late at night. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. YOU CAN GET A BETTER, NICER, CLEANER ROOM FOR THE PRICE THAT WE PAID!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddddd
Business
New york
Apr 14, 2013

Sucks

Worst place ever...non accommodating mold in bathroom pool so small and filthy couldn't stay a single night... Worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GeorgeH
Business
New York, New York
Mar 17, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst "hotel" by far I have ever stayed in. My family and I were so disgusted by this hotel that we ended up taking the lost in this hotel and paying an extra two grand to stay at the Hilton Condado Hotel. You are paying a grand or two to stay in a place that feels like a half way house. The pictures are very misleading. The "pool" is the size of a large bathtub. There are no privacy in the rooms you can hear people in the hallway and rooms as if you are standing next to the person having a conversation. This hotel advertises "free parking" but good luck trying to find any because they only have three parking spaces in front of the place, one being a handicap space. The "sun roof" is the literal roof and there are no elevators so have fun trying to break your back bringing up your suit cases. All in all this "hotel" was just plain old disgusting, it should be shut down. For the price your paying you might as well go somewhere nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not a bargain at all
Business
new york
Nov 11, 2010

horrible hotel room

we arrived around noon on 9/11/10 to attend a 4pm wedding at a different hotel. planned to stay 1 night only (cruising the next day) we were informed that our room was being cleaned, so we had no choice but to stay in the lobby. finally at 2:45 we were able to walk up the 2 flights of stairs to our room that had the flimsiest locks on it (i immediately planned to take all valuables and passport id with us when we left). the lighting in the room was dim (single 40 watt bulb) floor tile was sandy and disgusting, did not care to take a closer look to find out why. needless to say, we all kept our shoes on the entire time. bathroom was DISGUSTING! mismatched face and hand towels only, water from the shower head was literally a trickle so my god daughter could only have a quick rinse off. we grabbed our stuff and headed over to my friend's hotel to take a proper shower instead. came back at midnight to find our bedsheets and pillow cases also were a mismatch with fuzzballs. air condition unit was a hang up on the wall with a remote control that turned off on its own during the night. we got up early the next day and check out ASAP. we elected to wait on the cruise ship instead of hanging around the hotel. bumped into 2 other couples who happened to share the same hotel and cruise vacation. they also were not happy with their rooms. one couple had plenty of water but it caused a flood (go figure). the other couple had reservations but the hotel had trouble finding and gave them a room with 1 bed instead of 2 and it was about the size of a closet. we all had a good laugh and decided we were lucky it was just for 1 night. we are not kidding about how BAD this room was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burleons
Sep 21, 2008

Better places near by

We arrived after a long flight to the hotel. There is no porter service or anyone to greet you. Puerto Rico is hot and humid but this place seemed like a steam sauna. The had not turned on the AC prior to our arrival so the room was 90+ degrees, a warm welcome. No toliet paper in the bathroom, my wife had to walk back to the front desk to get one roll. I appologized to my wife over and over again. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Acacia Sea Side Inn, great hotel one block from beach. Very eclectic restaurant and scenic jacuzzi on second floor. They also have a great bar and air conditioning!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Irvington, NJ
Sep 4, 2010

Very Unhappy.

My experience at the hotel was a terrible one. My fmaily an I arrived back from our cruise early in the morning. A taxi dropped us off at the hotel and we asked if we can check in early. The front desk agent stated no. We had to stand outside in the hot sun until 3pm. When we finally were able to check in, the toilet didn't work and the staff said to use one down the hall. To make a long story short, the rooms were small, the sheets weren't changed daily, and the pool was dirty. It was just a bad experience. We checked out early and checked in to a better and reputible hotel. On all future tips I will stay in well-known hospitable hotel chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We looked for money savers but none worked out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 7, 2008

Friendly and helpful staff

The hotel employees and management were nice and helpful and I offer my comments in hopes to improve the hotel. I understand that the hotel new management are trying to fix up what was a distressed property. The problem I found with the room was it was not comfortable and it did not feel very clean. The bed was situated so your head was in the direct flow of the air conditioner. The headboard was not attached. The walls needed paint. The windows were very dirty. The restaurant and bar area was nice with lots of plants and furniture. The pool was located too close to this area where it was not convenient for use. I did not see anybody in the pool the entire time we were there. I could not tell if it was dirty but it had leaves in it which just did not look good. The hotel had free parking right at the entrance which was good for us. The hotel had a sun roof area which we liked. It was reasonably private had a good spot to have a drink and relax. It could have used some plants and extra furniture. In conclusion the hotel staff were nice but the hotel general condition was not worth the price at this time. The San Juan area in general seems to overcharge for hotels so we will probably plan our vacation somewhere else more reasonable in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Beach is within 1 block. Lots of small stores including Subway, Macdonalds and landromat are walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Locko the world traveler
Business
Fort Laudardale
Jun 2, 2010

awful! horrible location...! dont go!!!!

we arrived at night and the neighbour hood look awful, it was a very noisy area and the streets were dirty. we try canceling our room but they charged the full amount. so we decided to leave and not even try it look awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to fajardo and stay in that area is a lot more nice for your vacations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durango, Colorado
Apr 1, 2009

Disaster of a Property-Book Elsewhere

Don't believe what you see in the on-line photos of this place. They must have been taken 30 or 40 years ago. The room was filthy, the sink wouldn't drain, the lightswitch didn't work, the head board on the bed was not attached and came crashing down on us in the middle of the night. We paid $124 for this poor excuse of a hotel room. It is not worth $24. I contacted Orbitz and the Oceana Playero Hostel regarding a refund and did not receive one. Please, please don't book here. You will not be happy. It does not deserve even a part of 1 star, but that was the lowest rating available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top