$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
113 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.2 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 113
Amenities:
2.1
Cleanliness:
2.3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.3
Value:
2.5

33% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jasmyn
Business
New York, NY
Apr 21, 2008

loved it!!!!!! the staff was great, and i loved ghe neighborhood

i cant say anything bad about this place. everyone there was great, the room was awesome. i loved the privacy and the best thing was the beach was right behind us! the food was awesome and the head chef came out and had dinner with us. i cant see myself staying any place else in puerto rico.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is dinneing down bothe directions of the hotel. great local cusinie

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx
Jun 8, 2008

Extremely friendly & helpful staff

I had a great stay at this hotel. At first our shower had no water for the first day but the staff was more than accomodating. We were able to use the room across the hall's bathroom and our water situation was fixed the next day. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the rooms had a very trendy decor and were reasonably clean. Their outside patio was beautiful and the decor of the hotel alone made a big impression on me. This hotel is conveniently located by everything and is nestled on the border of Ocean Park/Condondo area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everythins is nearby such as shopping, dining, entertainment, club life, the beach plus public transportation is easily accessible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles,california
Jul 21, 2011

best location in san juan

is such a pleasant location, with everything a short distance walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

recommended for everithing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zajaz
Business
Tallinn, Estonia
Feb 1, 2011

Great location, old rooms

We were staying in this hotel for 6 nights. The location is great - beach is in 20 meters form the hotel. With the car airport, San Juan center, major car rentals and big shopping center are in 10 min driving distance. There is also big grocery store (24/7) in about 1 km. There is also WIFI in hotel, however it was visible only outside the room. The room we were lived in was big, but a bit old, noisy (compressor near single window) and dark. We were also expecting more form the breakfast. To conclude I would like to say that it was nice hostel for its price. If you are not planning to spend whole time in hotel and you ready to handle a little discomfort - this hostel perfectly suits you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 5, 2009

14 night 15 day stay at Oceana

The location is stellar. I would stay there again. It is a block away from the beach and there are 3 bus routes to get to Old San Juan within a block or two from the hotel: A5, B21, and C53. The rooms were comfortable, yet small. I would recommend for anyone who is traveling to venture in Puerto Rico. It is a 2 star hotel, so I would not recommend for those who like to relax all day at hotel. Staff is friendly and Bilingual. My only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower and the internet was in and out. I had to use Starbucks down the street. I was overall pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in San Juan, rent a car at Charlie's rent a car and go to El Yunkue Rain Forest. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was. Also, bio illuminescant kayack (I know misspelled but correct spelling is registering as profanity for some reason) tour is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELF Family
Business
Puerto rico
Aug 25, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

Nice place, excellent price and location for few nights if you're going to be on Condado Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tashaunda
Business
Minnesota
Jul 12, 2012

wasn't what i expected

they never cleaned our room unless we asked.And when they did clean they didn't sweep the floors. The staff was shady and when we asked questions the girls weren't that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the ocean is a short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 27, 2008

not what expected

the pool was a joke. i have to admit they kept the rooms clean. there was very little around for shopping. overall i would not recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, MD
Jun 8, 2009

not the best

The hotel was overall good but many flaws which made staying at a little more expensive hotel more worth it. First of all the shower water would randomly turn off. In the middle of my shower a few times the water turns off and we would have to wait a few min before it comes back. The pool wasnt that clean, and the breakfast we had one day had fungus/mold on the muffin. I would recommend someone to pay a lil more for a better hotel service. I stayed at many different hotels in PR and this one i would not return too. Staff was really freindly though and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaPraguera
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 29, 2010

worst hotel I've ever stayed

Although the hotel is at a very convenient location, The service was the worst when it comes to cleaning up the rooms. They only cleaned our room once from the 4 nights we stayed there. The room does not have a phone; even the phone directory was outdated by 4 years!!! the hotel personnel were good though; kind of friendly with a few exceptions.Here is a list of the things that we did not like:1. No cleaning2. No phone3. outdated phone directory4. The place was extremely dirty5. No room service provided6. No Iron7. No elevator8. No microwave9. Loose sink[...] the manager, is a good guy though. He helped us out a great deal and was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top