$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
42 out of 106
Amenities:
2.1
Room cleanliness:
2.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
2.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.6

43% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Savannah
Jul 9, 2008

Nice Experience

Great place to stay in San Juan. Beautiful gardens and clean rooms. Great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rhodes
Nov 23, 2008

Sounds of the Tropics

We actually stayed here twice on the same vacation, three nights before our cruise and one night after. The 1st room we stayed in was really nice the second wasn't as nice but still acceptable. The location is nice cause there is a nice beach just two blocks away and there is a bus stop near by where you can hop on bus C-53 for free and it goes just about anywhere you may want to go including Old San Juan (we rode it several times). The hotel has really good food and a lovely atmosphere, coqui frogs chirping, waterfall in the pool otherwise quiet, no loud music or talking just the sounds of the tropics. We can't imagine why it's so inexpensive. We will definitely check into staying there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is cheap fast food within a few blocks. A grocery store about 12 blocks. Don't give $ to the bums (they are playing you). Prices are pretty good in most stores around that area, much better than Old San Juan.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahamas Honeymooners
New Jersey
Mar 2, 2014

Laid-back vacation

Great escape, away from a modern hotel and town, really islandy hotel, very basic, perfect for couples who want to keep it simple. Great Puerto Rican hospitality - with maps and great ideas for us, private beach space is walking distance, local breakfast and lunch spot, small cozy pool, short taxi ride to Downtown San Juan or a fun walk, less than 30 minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Canada
May 19, 2010

Great option for the budget traveller

Nice, local hotel. If you're looking for a big modern hotel with all the frills and amenities, this is not the place for you. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Room was large and clean, though older vintage. It was a fair walking distance to shopping district, but if you're renting a car, it has plenty of parking on or near the premises. Overall pleased with the hotel considering the lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggone
North Carolina
May 17, 2013

Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three nights and there was no maid service the second day! No one knew why not and we did not pursue the issue since we were leaving! Just a little work and this could be a very nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a Cab

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SW Travelers
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 22, 2009

Hospitable, friendly and funky!

We had great interaction with some of the other guests due to the relaxed breakfast and dinners available on site. The hotel also arranged a delightful tour to the rainforest for us. We could walk to the beach, but it was too windy and rough to actually swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to catch the bus home from the old town main bus depot, but tricky to catch the bus to town, as they don't come by very often.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrnatural
New Orleans, LA
Apr 22, 2009

Pretty Decent Place, Good Location

Service at the hotel was great. The restaurant serves decent food, I especially liked the beans that come with most meals. The hotel is pretty cozy, safe, and in a decent neighborhood near the beach, other restuarants (Kasalta deli down the street gets a thumbs up!), and coffee shops. The only drawback was the room we were put in was half renovated, the bathroom was new, but the bedroom was a little dingy, but still ok. Decent bed/bedding and maid service was prompt each day. Bonus was the private balcony we had attached to our room. I would recommend it as well as stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast or lunch, head to Kasalta deli a couple of blocks east of the hotel. Good breakfast, deli sandwiches, soups, and pastries.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
florida
Apr 27, 2009

awesome hotel!!!!!!!!!

omg!!! this hotel was awesome.... my bf and i stayed at the villa (which is their suite) it was clean & comfy...the hotel is near the beach the food and breakfast is good at the hotel i recommend you eat breakfast at the local spots to save money..this hotel is 20 minutes away from old san juan take the bus for $.75 and you will be happy with your site seeing..save save save your money for taxi if you need to go to the night clubs or the airport other wisw take the bus if you need to go in town....the hotel is near burgerking,walgreens,a church, all these places are walking distance... the hotel staff were very freindly,helpful and gave us every thing we asked for when we come back to puerto rico we will stay at oceana its the best and a good price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not the RITZ CARLTON but is number one on my list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rai
NYC
Mar 19, 2011

"The beach is down the block"

Great trip on such short notice enjoyed beach, sightseeing and shopping and the food in the area is great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take your own GPS

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Williamsburg
Dec 9, 2008

San Juan's version of a B&B???

If you have heavy luggage, ask for a low floor. We had to carry our luggage up to the third floor. It was very difficult We had a rod with a few hangers NO CLOset. Continental Breakfast was offered and by the second day they had run out of some of the items originally offered. All in all out of 100 I would give it a 60 Our room's fire detector was broken and not replaced in the 3 days we were there. If you needed a hair-dryer you had to request it. The tiny refigerator did not work properly. Getting ice was an ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did find a local Cafe about 3 blocks away which was very nice. The beach was near, we never went.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search