$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goldcat
Business
Seattle, WA
May 31, 2009

You get what you pay for

The experience was not very pleasant, although the first room they provided was big, by the time my wife is ready to take a shower, the water pressure was just a trickle. The refrigerator does not work and most of the electrical outlets were not working. We got transfered to another room and this time it has water pressure but the room has a puddle at the middle of the room and the room smells musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Wifey
Business
New York
Aug 3, 2010

the worst hotel I've been

was the worst experience I had in my life, they will offer wireless internet and not have it available in the rooms, no complimentary breakfast, the rooms are very small dirty and smell bad, no elevator, do not recommend this hotel is not worth staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Boy
Business
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best but great location

The hotel pictures of the room can be very decieving. If you get the run of the house room, keep in mind that you will not get anything like what you see in the picture. I was a little dissappointed in the appearance of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop locally around the hotel area. Be safe and take the taxi or walk to the nearest shopping mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaPraguera
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 29, 2010

worst hotel I've ever stayed

Although the hotel is at a very convenient location, The service was the worst when it comes to cleaning up the rooms. They only cleaned our room once from the 4 nights we stayed there. The room does not have a phone; even the phone directory was outdated by 4 years!!! the hotel personnel were good though; kind of friendly with a few exceptions.Here is a list of the things that we did not like:1. No cleaning2. No phone3. outdated phone directory4. The place was extremely dirty5. No room service provided6. No Iron7. No elevator8. No microwave9. Loose sink[...] the manager, is a good guy though. He helped us out a great deal and was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suka
Business
Charlotte NC USA
Aug 9, 2011

Oceana Hostal Playero

The hotel staff was over and beyond with their assisting. Really appreciate it very much their attention. Thank you! But honestly I will NOT recommend the hotel ever. The hotel issues was a nightmare, not telephone in the rooms, bed smells, was nasty, just a nice way to said … alarm clock radio it wasn't either, thanks God one of the staff member found one for me. The pool was dirty; the hotel looks was not very clean at all My trip could just prefect if it wasn't because of the hotel accommodations, I do understood it was cheaper but a list to be in a clean place definitely could make a lot of difference Thanks for asked, if feel good to know some one care about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HATE THE PLACE
Business
mora, mn
Jan 13, 2012

not happy

not happy at all, worst place ive ever stayed in, dont be fooled by the low price there is a big catch, and you will be caught, terrible dont stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a very nice place to eat puerto rican food, great price, great staff, just down the road from oceana

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arthur from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Fooled

The hotel lacked beauty, wasn't at all what I expected, it's a huge downgrade for the needs that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's perfect for a student overnight stay with no expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalBoricua
Business
Antelope, California
Sep 23, 2012

California/Boricua

No elevator...Outdated appliances..Very low water pressure...one dresser and one night stand(dirty)...Fan full of old dust...we asked for the iron board and used in the bathroom to put our toiletries...every day we have to asked for towels... very thin walls...outdated mattress they added a foam with ripped corners and looks like a moving blanket on top...they will served you the breakfast, 2 pc toast one banana, one jelly,one butter,coffee and a cookie, you dont get to pick any of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Fajardo to Culebra for a couple dollars...the ferry schedule at the port is not up to date...make sure you confirm both departures..Culebra beaches are beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO NO DONT STAY
Business
New York
Nov 10, 2012

The WORST

This hotel is the worst! i will never recommend this hotel to no one! Everything was so out dated, the rooms were disgusting and the comforters on the beds had holes on them. The manager was very rude and disrespectful when we complained about the rooms. oops i almost forgot there was used dishes in the sink and the size of the pool was ridiculously small maybe less then 10 people could fit in that dirty small pool. i was so dissapointed in the hotel room and the hotel itself. PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS "HOTEL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Business
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES, DONT BE FOOLED!!!

TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE CONDITIONS OF THE ROOM AND PLACE. The pictures on this website are nothing like what the hotel looks like. The pool is small and gross looking. the hotel is full of clutter. The staff was not polite at all. There were NO elevators and we had to carry our own bag up three flight of stairs. The room was small and dirty looking. The bathroom stink was broken not attached to the wall. The breakfast was disgusting. They gave you a banana, cold toast, and some re heated pastries. There was no parking at night when we came back. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. I think for the price that we paid i def couldve gotten something way better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

ONCE OU LEAVE THERE THEIR ARE A LOT OF NICE PLACES IN THE AREA. GOOD FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top