$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
113 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb world traveler
Business
baltimore, MD
Jul 20, 2009

quaint in a good way and i loved it!!!

i really loved this hotel and would stay here again when i travel to puerto rico. i was within walking distance of shops, beachs, parks, big hotels and restaurants. if you want something off the beaten path this is it. if you want all the fancy schmancy hotel stuff this is not it. still it was great and i loved it. only thing was staff was not very knowledgeable about how to get around the island locally. so some research about where to go, how to go and how to get there is necessary. i still would stay again and recommend all my friends and fam. also free breakfast left something to be desired but it held me til i got a real breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do your research about recreational activities. also main hotels are within 5-10minute walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Juanita Cortando
Business
Virginia
Apr 2, 2010

Oceana "Pura Vida"

Very friendly and helpful, bilingual staff. Hotel one block from the ocean (clean, wide beach). Courtyard contains small but delightful pool. Very quiet--even at night. Continental breakfast adequate. Good family hotel, or for quiet couples. Restaurant is vegetarian with vegan selections, and you can eat by the pool. Public bus is also one block away (next to large drug store). Rooms are a little run down, but I only slept there, so that was OK. Small drawback--not very well known by taxi drivers, so carry their business card with you. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to beach, bus, cafecito. Short drive (taxi) to airport, Old San Jan, Cordero.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg
Dec 9, 2008

San Juan's version of a B&B???

If you have heavy luggage, ask for a low floor. We had to carry our luggage up to the third floor. It was very difficult We had a rod with a few hangers NO CLOset. Continental Breakfast was offered and by the second day they had run out of some of the items originally offered. All in all out of 100 I would give it a 60 Our room's fire detector was broken and not replaced in the 3 days we were there. If you needed a hair-dryer you had to request it. The tiny refigerator did not work properly. Getting ice was an ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did find a local Cafe about 3 blocks away which was very nice. The beach was near, we never went.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spartanburg, SC
Apr 4, 2010

quite a surprise

we were there a few nights. small rooms, nothing fancy but for the money it was a really good value. nice place to eat, sleep and enjoy the area. get the pitcher of sangria...awesome!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Citizen82
Business
annapolis md
May 11, 2014

Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little work. But where it lacked in upkeep and made up for in excellent staff, location and amenities. I definitely feel that I got my money's worth from this hotel and would recommend it to anyone that wants to visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To beaches, dinning, and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SW Travelers
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 22, 2009

Hospitable, friendly and funky!

We had great interaction with some of the other guests due to the relaxed breakfast and dinners available on site. The hotel also arranged a delightful tour to the rainforest for us. We could walk to the beach, but it was too windy and rough to actually swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to catch the bus home from the old town main bus depot, but tricky to catch the bus to town, as they don't come by very often.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrnatural
Business
New Orleans, LA
Apr 22, 2009

Pretty Decent Place, Good Location

Service at the hotel was great. The restaurant serves decent food, I especially liked the beans that come with most meals. The hotel is pretty cozy, safe, and in a decent neighborhood near the beach, other restuarants (Kasalta deli down the street gets a thumbs up!), and coffee shops. The only drawback was the room we were put in was half renovated, the bathroom was new, but the bedroom was a little dingy, but still ok. Decent bed/bedding and maid service was prompt each day. Bonus was the private balcony we had attached to our room. I would recommend it as well as stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast or lunch, head to Kasalta deli a couple of blocks east of the hotel. Good breakfast, deli sandwiches, soups, and pastries.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time traveling to PR
Business
San Jaun, P.R
Nov 16, 2014

You get what you paid for.

Pros: Staff are so kind, friendly, helpful with information. The beach is just around the corner. Good for a real experience of how the locals live. Safe. Its only a 5-10 minute drive from the main attraction especially Old San Juan. Cons: Let's just say it's not the Marriot. Very outdated. It's own restaurant wasn't even open. My opinion: even though it wasn't the best hotel, I still didn't mind being there. I didn't plan to be in the hotel for my whole trip anyway. Also it's more for a place for planning a vacation with friends, not family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Jun 24, 2009

Nice beach fron property

Mostly sleep. larger pool not too bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
U.
Business
Mexico City
Nov 2, 2009

Convenient and clean hotel

Clean and very convenient location, nice neighborhod just one block from the beach and about 8 min walking to the place where you can find many restaurants and bars. The only thing was the low preasure on the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top