$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHKDIBUMPA
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 9, 2012

CORRECTING THE PAST

we first was not going to stay due to the reviews but when myself and my sister got there we were welcomed with a big hello from a staff member, over the following days i met more of the staff they where all help full sat and talk with me when i became bored and even suggested places for me to go which turned out to be fun. they were polite and the whole experience was a great one they even went as far as to make sure i enjoyed my birthday with signing and a cake. the cook was delicious to look at as where his meals...I will be returning again and i suggested my brother to spend his aniversary there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebos resturant is just down the block and around the corner they have the best food in that area

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggone
Couples
North Carolina
May 17, 2013

Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three nights and there was no maid service the second day! No one knew why not and we did not pursue the issue since we were leaving! Just a little work and this could be a very nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a Cab

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Citizen82
Single
annapolis md
May 11, 2014

Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little work. But where it lacked in upkeep and made up for in excellent staff, location and amenities. I definitely feel that I got my money's worth from this hotel and would recommend it to anyone that wants to visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To beaches, dinning, and shopping

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SW Travelers
Couples
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 22, 2009

Hospitable, friendly and funky!

We had great interaction with some of the other guests due to the relaxed breakfast and dinners available on site. The hotel also arranged a delightful tour to the rainforest for us. We could walk to the beach, but it was too windy and rough to actually swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to catch the bus home from the old town main bus depot, but tricky to catch the bus to town, as they don't come by very often.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mrnatural
Couples
New Orleans, LA
Apr 22, 2009

Pretty Decent Place, Good Location

Service at the hotel was great. The restaurant serves decent food, I especially liked the beans that come with most meals. The hotel is pretty cozy, safe, and in a decent neighborhood near the beach, other restuarants (Kasalta deli down the street gets a thumbs up!), and coffee shops. The only drawback was the room we were put in was half renovated, the bathroom was new, but the bedroom was a little dingy, but still ok. Decent bed/bedding and maid service was prompt each day. Bonus was the private balcony we had attached to our room. I would recommend it as well as stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For a quick breakfast or lunch, head to Kasalta deli a couple of blocks east of the hotel. Good breakfast, deli sandwiches, soups, and pastries.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Charleston SC
Dec 21, 2010

Great hiden secret

the place was a great and confortable little secret. a block away from the beach... great customer service... a must stay when traveling to P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
Kaufman, Texas
Nov 8, 2010

Hidden Gem

This is a very quant of the beaten path hotel. It is just 2 short blocks from the beach. McDonalds, CVS and a bakery are just a 5 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel menu is good and the food was ample as well as tasty and affordable.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
florida
Apr 27, 2009

awesome hotel!!!!!!!!!

omg!!! this hotel was awesome.... my bf and i stayed at the villa (which is their suite) it was clean & comfy...the hotel is near the beach the food and breakfast is good at the hotel i recommend you eat breakfast at the local spots to save money..this hotel is 20 minutes away from old san juan take the bus for $.75 and you will be happy with your site seeing..save save save your money for taxi if you need to go to the night clubs or the airport other wisw take the bus if you need to go in town....the hotel is near burgerking,walgreens,a church, all these places are walking distance... the hotel staff were very freindly,helpful and gave us every thing we asked for when we come back to puerto rico we will stay at oceana its the best and a good price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not the RITZ CARLTON but is number one on my list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rai
Couples
NYC
Mar 19, 2011

"The beach is down the block"

Great trip on such short notice enjoyed beach, sightseeing and shopping and the food in the area is great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take your own GPS

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zajaz
Family
Tallinn, Estonia
Feb 1, 2011

Great location, old rooms

We were staying in this hotel for 6 nights. The location is great - beach is in 20 meters form the hotel. With the car airport, San Juan center, major car rentals and big shopping center are in 10 min driving distance. There is also big grocery store (24/7) in about 1 km. There is also WIFI in hotel, however it was visible only outside the room. The room we were lived in was big, but a bit old, noisy (compressor near single window) and dark. We were also expecting more form the breakfast. To conclude I would like to say that it was nice hostel for its price. If you are not planning to spend whole time in hotel and you ready to handle a little discomfort - this hostel perfectly suits you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top