$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 25, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
109 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Laid-back vacation

Great escape, away from a modern hotel and town, really islandy hotel, very basic, perfect for... See full review

  • Bahamas Honeymooners
  • Mar 2, 2014
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
26 out of 109
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

54% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
myoungchgo
Business
Chicago Ill.
Dec 1, 2014

terrible

When I arrived at the hotel I was greeted by a very friendly front desk supervisor. I immediatley noticed the "old school" way of checking in. Actual keys.... paper portfolio check in.... making copies of my credit card and drivers license....and so forth. He gave me my remote for bothe the t.v. and a.c. unit. I went through a secured door and immediately notice how dorty the place was. Walked down a dimly lit hallway to my room and opened the door. The room stunk... had barely any light the bed was disgusting and checked the mattress and there were bed bugs. I turned around went back to the front desk and told them I was not staying there. They would not give me back any money. I asked to speek to the mgr. And he was not avaliable. How convenient. There was no getting any money back. I told the employee to please give my room to anyone who needed it and not to charge anyone. However hopeful I am that my request was met.... I have a feeli g it was not. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! ABSOLUTELY DISGUSTING!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent a bike to get around San Juan. Cheaper and easier than a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Citizen82
Business
annapolis md
May 11, 2014

Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little work. But where it lacked in upkeep and made up for in excellent staff, location and amenities. I definitely feel that I got my money's worth from this hotel and would recommend it to anyone that wants to visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To beaches, dinning, and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chali
Business
Palmyra, PA
Apr 1, 2014

Personal

This is my second time in this hostal, and the experience was worst that the first time. No ameniies available, no breakfast. The room in this ocassion was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget solo traveler
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2014

Solid location, pure value hotel

Pros: 1 block from the beach, 15 mins to airport Cheap compared to other area hotels Decent little pool Good A/C Cons: Basic of basic - rooms are sparse and pretty lame Dirty - my bathroom had hair in the shower (glad my girlfriend didn't come with me or we wouldn't have stayed!) Staff reminded you were in a value hotel (not really friendly) Little cafe downstairs is overpriced and not too good I'd recommend this if you're looking to stay on the cheap in a good location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vidal martinez
Business
los angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Good for the money

checking in was easy. staff was nice. they had a nice small pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant. down the street across the street from the gas station on Mc Laire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trent14
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

trents trip

staff tried. but was certainly not what i expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay with one cap driver

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Suka
Business
Charlotte NC USA
Aug 9, 2011

Oceana Hostal Playero

The hotel staff was over and beyond with their assisting. Really appreciate it very much their attention. Thank you! But honestly I will NOT recommend the hotel ever. The hotel issues was a nightmare, not telephone in the rooms, bed smells, was nasty, just a nice way to said … alarm clock radio it wasn't either, thanks God one of the staff member found one for me. The pool was dirty; the hotel looks was not very clean at all My trip could just prefect if it wasn't because of the hotel accommodations, I do understood it was cheaper but a list to be in a clean place definitely could make a lot of difference Thanks for asked, if feel good to know some one care about it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dtw
Apr 26, 2011

I would not recomment to other

the hotel is not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Charleston SC
Dec 21, 2010

Great hiden secret

the place was a great and confortable little secret. a block away from the beach... great customer service... a must stay when traveling to P.R

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miami, fl
Nov 16, 2010

the ugly truth

very cheap hotel with high price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top