$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 23, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
114 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
16 out of 114
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.4
Value:
2.9

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
1st time traveling to PR
Business
N/A
Jan 14, 2015

Cheap but not worth it

Not up to date, small, more like a motel than a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
1st time traveling to PR
Business
San Jaun, P.R
Nov 16, 2014

You get what you paid for.

Pros: Staff are so kind, friendly, helpful with information. The beach is just around the corner. Good for a real experience of how the locals live. Safe. Its only a 5-10 minute drive from the main attraction especially Old San Juan. Cons: Let's just say it's not the Marriot. Very outdated. It's own restaurant wasn't even open. My opinion: even though it wasn't the best hotel, I still didn't mind being there. I didn't plan to be in the hotel for my whole trip anyway. Also it's more for a place for planning a vacation with friends, not family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayC84mx
Business
NY
Mar 2, 2014

1st trip to PR

Hotel was average, Staff - super nice and helpful, overall enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO NO DONT STAY
Business
New York
Nov 10, 2012

The WORST

This hotel is the worst! i will never recommend this hotel to no one! Everything was so out dated, the rooms were disgusting and the comforters on the beds had holes on them. The manager was very rude and disrespectful when we complained about the rooms. oops i almost forgot there was used dishes in the sink and the size of the pool was ridiculously small maybe less then 10 people could fit in that dirty small pool. i was so dissapointed in the hotel room and the hotel itself. PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS "HOTEL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pleasant traveler
Business
washington dc
Sep 3, 2012

great time

Great staff very friendly and very close to the beach only a block away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bwalt
Business
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2011

Not bad

This place is ok,kind of shady though we flew in early so the room wasn't "ready" even though they had 30 rooms and 2 rooms occupied, so we went to check in after the room would be ready and it was an extra 30$ which the desk clerk pocketed. The room was ok, but their wasn't any comforters just sheets shower sucks, basically no water pressure, the toilet will flush about 50% of the time, for the amenites i thought it was a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat a Bebo's Cafe, cheap great food i ate there 3 times in 4 days, most servers speak english.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chiquitabanana
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 17, 2011

I'd stay again.

I really liked the location and price for the hotel. Although it wasn't a four star hotel, it made up with friendly employees and great location to the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is right around the corner, literally.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 16, 2011

It was a nightmare

Would never stay there again this hotel has no type of security, theres no parking you have to park in the street one night someone broke in to my car and stole my GPS cell phone car chargers, so in the morning I talk with the police and they said to tell the staff at the hotel to see if they would be responsible for my stuff since they dont have no parking, [...], another thing the officer told me is this street is [*]..... Another thing is the pool wow it is realy dirty I saw like 3 guest complaining about it the water is dirty it is full of leaves I was there for a week and never saw 1 person in it..... Another thing is the bathroom I could barely shower very little water comes out of the showerhead..... They have a little restaurant in the lobby but after everything I saw didnt feel like trying out there food, I even had a free complimentary breakfast never tried it.... Well this was my experience at this hotel I personally would never stay there again it is horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

El Yunque National Forest its and amazing place to visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Mar 23, 2011

Creepy and crawly

The hotel was recommended to me and I read the positive and the negative reviews....I thought awww ..the negatives must be one off bad experience here and there. Trust me--so accurate it is scary, as is the hotel.[...] The hotel room had clean sheets and "clean" towels (laundered dingy grey stained towels). We slept with the lights on as we noticed that we shared the room with an array of local flora. Thankfully, two weeks out, there is no evidence that any natives returned home with us. [...]. I will not recommend this hotel either. While they were nice enough to help out in a difficult situation, it really felt unsanitary and sometimes down right scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have to see Bacardi tour, do it yourself. Not worth it with a separate tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jul 19, 2010

Oceana Hostal Playero

Wonderful despite its small stature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top