$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not a bargain at all
new york
Nov 11, 2010

horrible hotel room

we arrived around noon on 9/11/10 to attend a 4pm wedding at a different hotel. planned to stay 1 night only (cruising the next day) we were informed that our room was being cleaned, so we had no choice but to stay in the lobby. finally at 2:45 we were able to walk up the 2 flights of stairs to our room that had the flimsiest locks on it (i immediately planned to take all valuables and passport id with us when we left). the lighting in the room was dim (single 40 watt bulb) floor tile was sandy and disgusting, did not care to take a closer look to find out why. needless to say, we all kept our shoes on the entire time. bathroom was DISGUSTING! mismatched face and hand towels only, water from the shower head was literally a trickle so my god daughter could only have a quick rinse off. we grabbed our stuff and headed over to my friend's hotel to take a proper shower instead. came back at midnight to find our bedsheets and pillow cases also were a mismatch with fuzzballs. air condition unit was a hang up on the wall with a remote control that turned off on its own during the night. we got up early the next day and check out ASAP. we elected to wait on the cruise ship instead of hanging around the hotel. bumped into 2 other couples who happened to share the same hotel and cruise vacation. they also were not happy with their rooms. one couple had plenty of water but it caused a flood (go figure). the other couple had reservations but the hotel had trouble finding and gave them a room with 1 bed instead of 2 and it was about the size of a closet. we all had a good laugh and decided we were lucky it was just for 1 night. we are not kidding about how BAD this room was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible Hotel

The pictures they have for this hotel are nothing what it looks like. We got there and the guy in the front was not polite at all. He showed us the pool which was pretty Disgusting and little. The were no elevators so we had to carry our own luggage up three flght of stairs. The room was disgusting i didnt even want to lay down on the bed. The bathroom stink was broken. The breakfast was absolutely disgusting. One banana some toast and some heated up pastries in the microwave. No parking when we came back late at night. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. YOU CAN GET A BETTER, NICER, CLEANER ROOM FOR THE PRICE THAT WE PAID!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HATE THE PLACE
mora, mn
Jan 13, 2012

not happy

not happy at all, worst place ive ever stayed in, dont be fooled by the low price there is a big catch, and you will be caught, terrible dont stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a very nice place to eat puerto rican food, great price, great staff, just down the road from oceana

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
pa
Dec 22, 2009

That place is dirty!!

the hotel itself is very pretty. it needs a major cleaning though. mold in the bathroom. broken sliding glass door. we slept with the lights on incase it had bugs. no water pressure to shower and sometimes the toilet wouldn't flush. the bedsheets had blood stains on them that looked like they were from the last person that stayed there. spend the money and sleep somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
giantstwo
nyc
Jul 15, 2009

OCEANA HOSTAL PLAYERO

Great location for beaches, shopping and dining. Rooms were old. I say rooms as we had to move to another room 1st as the shower head in the 1st room didn't work.The room they gave us had waterbugs a dirty ceiling fan and an air conditioner that shut down down at about 2am and leaked water everywhere.We couldn't open the windows as they had no screens. I will pay double to stay at a comfortable place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Boy
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best but great location

The hotel pictures of the room can be very decieving. If you get the run of the house room, keep in mind that you will not get anything like what you see in the picture. I was a little dissappointed in the appearance of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop locally around the hotel area. Be safe and take the taxi or walk to the nearest shopping mall.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvington, NJ
Sep 4, 2010

Very Unhappy.

My experience at the hotel was a terrible one. My fmaily an I arrived back from our cruise early in the morning. A taxi dropped us off at the hotel and we asked if we can check in early. The front desk agent stated no. We had to stand outside in the hot sun until 3pm. When we finally were able to check in, the toilet didn't work and the staff said to use one down the hall. To make a long story short, the rooms were small, the sheets weren't changed daily, and the pool was dirty. It was just a bad experience. We checked out early and checked in to a better and reputible hotel. On all future tips I will stay in well-known hospitable hotel chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We looked for money savers but none worked out.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Durango, Colorado
Apr 1, 2009

Disaster of a Property-Book Elsewhere

Don't believe what you see in the on-line photos of this place. They must have been taken 30 or 40 years ago. The room was filthy, the sink wouldn't drain, the lightswitch didn't work, the head board on the bed was not attached and came crashing down on us in the middle of the night. We paid $124 for this poor excuse of a hotel room. It is not worth $24. I contacted Orbitz and the Oceana Playero Hostel regarding a refund and did not receive one. Please, please don't book here. You will not be happy. It does not deserve even a part of 1 star, but that was the lowest rating available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaPraguera
Miami, fl
Aug 29, 2010

worst hotel I've ever stayed

Although the hotel is at a very convenient location, The service was the worst when it comes to cleaning up the rooms. They only cleaned our room once from the 4 nights we stayed there. The room does not have a phone; even the phone directory was outdated by 4 years!!! the hotel personnel were good though; kind of friendly with a few exceptions.Here is a list of the things that we did not like:1. No cleaning2. No phone3. outdated phone directory4. The place was extremely dirty5. No room service provided6. No Iron7. No elevator8. No microwave9. Loose sink[...] the manager, is a good guy though. He helped us out a great deal and was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalBoricua
Antelope, California
Sep 23, 2012

California/Boricua

No elevator...Outdated appliances..Very low water pressure...one dresser and one night stand(dirty)...Fan full of old dust...we asked for the iron board and used in the bathroom to put our toiletries...every day we have to asked for towels... very thin walls...outdated mattress they added a foam with ripped corners and looks like a moving blanket on top...they will served you the breakfast, 2 pc toast one banana, one jelly,one butter,coffee and a cookie, you dont get to pick any of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Fajardo to Culebra for a couple dollars...the ferry schedule at the port is not up to date...make sure you confirm both departures..Culebra beaches are beautiful.

Back to menu Return to top