$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
92 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Property features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Nearby attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs
Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

★★
$59
2.8 / 5 171 reviews
★★
$82
3.4 / 5 45 reviews
★★★
$70
3.4 / 5 87 reviews
★★★
$104
3.7 / 5 63 reviews
★★
$100
3.4 / 5 17 reviews
★★
$86
3.2 / 5 46 reviews
★★
$99
3.6 / 5 34 reviews
★★
$79
3.6 / 5 39 reviews
★★★
$138
3.9 / 5 44 reviews

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HATE THE PLACE
Family
mora, mn
Jan 13, 2012

not happy

not happy at all, worst place ive ever stayed in, dont be fooled by the low price there is a big catch, and you will be caught, terrible dont stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a very nice place to eat puerto rican food, great price, great staff, just down the road from oceana

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arthur from Chicago
Couples
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Fooled

The hotel lacked beauty, wasn't at all what I expected, it's a huge downgrade for the needs that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's perfect for a student overnight stay with no expectations.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalBoricua
Family
Antelope, California
Sep 23, 2012

California/Boricua

No elevator...Outdated appliances..Very low water pressure...one dresser and one night stand(dirty)...Fan full of old dust...we asked for the iron board and used in the bathroom to put our toiletries...every day we have to asked for towels... very thin walls...outdated mattress they added a foam with ripped corners and looks like a moving blanket on top...they will served you the breakfast, 2 pc toast one banana, one jelly,one butter,coffee and a cookie, you dont get to pick any of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Fajardo to Culebra for a couple dollars...the ferry schedule at the port is not up to date...make sure you confirm both departures..Culebra beaches are beautiful.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO NO DONT STAY
Friends
New York
Nov 10, 2012

The WORST

This hotel is the worst! i will never recommend this hotel to no one! Everything was so out dated, the rooms were disgusting and the comforters on the beds had holes on them. The manager was very rude and disrespectful when we complained about the rooms. oops i almost forgot there was used dishes in the sink and the size of the pool was ridiculously small maybe less then 10 people could fit in that dirty small pool. i was so dissapointed in the hotel room and the hotel itself. PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS "HOTEL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddddd
Family
New york
Apr 14, 2013

Sucks

Worst place ever...non accommodating mold in bathroom pool so small and filthy couldn't stay a single night... Worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, il
Dec 26, 2009

WORST HOSTEL EVER!!!

We were there for two weeks and the experience was horrible! We would not recomend this hotel to our friends or nobody. The t.v. remote was not working, we kept asking everyday for them to fix it and we finally get a new one two days before our departure, the room was only partially clean and in our whole stay they never, ever change the bed sheets and one night we came to the room and it was as we left it in the morning, they did not even make the bed we have to do it. When we complained with the manager ([...]) who by the way is not very friendly the only thing she said was that she was going to see why they skip the cleaning in our room and would send us some clean towels (Oh thanks!!!!), we were on the first floor and is very noisy, also in the middle of the night front desk employees use the phone with the speakers on!!!! not to mention that in addition to all this we seen roaches runing around the room!!!NOT A PLACE TO STAY NO MATTER WHAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigh, the traveler
Couples
Los Angeles
May 2, 2009

A dump

We arrived along with a few other guest around 2:20, but they would not allow check in until exactly 3:00. The location of the hotel was just next to the beach, which was great, but a ways from San Juan. Approximately 3 - 4 miles. Many restuarants about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. As for the hotel I would suggest people pass on this one. It offers a continental breafast, skip it. We tried it once. The hotel was not very clean, had a strange smell. Floor in our room was dirty. From our room there was no view of any kind. The pool could be categorized as an over-sized bathtub. Mold in the shower and no window in the bathroom. My wife left her earrings on the sink, and after the second day they were gone, we filed a report, of course no word as of yet. After having paid when I made the reservation, they charged my credit card for the stay after we had checked out. Called the hotel, got no results, called Orbitz, still waiting for refund. On the whole, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even just to sleep over night. Because of the uncleanliness, I did not feel comfortable there. It is a cheap hotel, but remember, you get what you pay for. On a stay such a stay as this, the hotel is not the attraction. We got up early and went to the beach until lunch. Again, the beach is just a 2 - 3 minute walk, and after that we went out to sight see until late and back just to shower and sleep. Bus stop near by and cabs galore. We chose to walk and ride the bus most of the time. I repeat, avoid this hotel if you can. Harold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you know the city, renting a car would be a good idea.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
U.S.
Jun 28, 2010

Dirty

The sheets were dirty and we saw roaches in our room. We slept with our clothes on. We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Superwife!
Couples
New York City
May 17, 2010

THE WORST EVER!!!!!!

Online this hotel looks decent..THIS IS HORRIBLE FOR A WEEKEND STAY, BUT OK FOR AN OVERNIGHT! We checked in at 12 midnight, checked out at 8am and went to the Sheraton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RED40
Single
Washington DC
Jul 12, 2009

Awful, awful, awful.place

AWFUL,AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH. THat is it.

Back to menu Return to top