$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 28, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHKDIBUMPA
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 9, 2012

CORRECTING THE PAST

we first was not going to stay due to the reviews but when myself and my sister got there we were welcomed with a big hello from a staff member, over the following days i met more of the staff they where all help full sat and talk with me when i became bored and even suggested places for me to go which turned out to be fun. they were polite and the whole experience was a great one they even went as far as to make sure i enjoyed my birthday with signing and a cake. the cook was delicious to look at as where his meals...I will be returning again and i suggested my brother to spend his aniversary there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebos resturant is just down the block and around the corner they have the best food in that area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
U.
Business
Mexico City
Nov 2, 2009

Convenient and clean hotel

Clean and very convenient location, nice neighborhod just one block from the beach and about 8 min walking to the place where you can find many restaurants and bars. The only thing was the low preasure on the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EnyawH
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 13, 2009

Decent

The three o'clock check-in was horribly inconvenient and the check-in was a one man show. If you speak spanish, you'll be served first. Otherwise, plan on being patient. It's a decent place for couples who don't want to be seen or discovered. The lobby and bar are quaint. However, in 4 days I never saw anyone at the bar and I didn't go myself. I'd best describe the breakfast a minimal. Overall a bare bones place and not the greatest environment for a single traveler. On the plus side, it's convenient to the beach, but the real Condado areas is a 20 minute leisure walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great deli/restaurant about 3 blocks away. Unfortunately, I don't recall the name. It begins with a "K". You can't miss it. Make a left out the door and walk about three blocks. It's on the same streat McCleary on the right side. It's a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Sep 2, 2009

Would Not Recommend

No cups, wash cloth, hair dryer or iron in room. Sink stopper missing. Mirror too low for 5'10" man shaving. Breakfast sparse and charged for extra coffee and orange juice refill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 5, 2009

14 night 15 day stay at Oceana

The location is stellar. I would stay there again. It is a block away from the beach and there are 3 bus routes to get to Old San Juan within a block or two from the hotel: A5, B21, and C53. The rooms were comfortable, yet small. I would recommend for anyone who is traveling to venture in Puerto Rico. It is a 2 star hotel, so I would not recommend for those who like to relax all day at hotel. Staff is friendly and Bilingual. My only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower and the internet was in and out. I had to use Starbucks down the street. I was overall pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in San Juan, rent a car at Charlie's rent a car and go to El Yunkue Rain Forest. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was. Also, bio illuminescant kayack (I know misspelled but correct spelling is registering as profanity for some reason) tour is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb world traveler
Business
baltimore, MD
Jul 20, 2009

quaint in a good way and i loved it!!!

i really loved this hotel and would stay here again when i travel to puerto rico. i was within walking distance of shops, beachs, parks, big hotels and restaurants. if you want something off the beaten path this is it. if you want all the fancy schmancy hotel stuff this is not it. still it was great and i loved it. only thing was staff was not very knowledgeable about how to get around the island locally. so some research about where to go, how to go and how to get there is necessary. i still would stay again and recommend all my friends and fam. also free breakfast left something to be desired but it held me til i got a real breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do your research about recreational activities. also main hotels are within 5-10minute walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
giantstwo
Business
nyc
Jul 15, 2009

OCEANA HOSTAL PLAYERO

Great location for beaches, shopping and dining. Rooms were old. I say rooms as we had to move to another room 1st as the shower head in the 1st room didn't work.The room they gave us had waterbugs a dirty ceiling fan and an air conditioner that shut down down at about 2am and leaked water everywhere.We couldn't open the windows as they had no screens. I will pay double to stay at a comfortable place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RED40
Business
Washington DC
Jul 12, 2009

Awful, awful, awful.place

AWFUL,AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH. THat is it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leiserom
Business
Houston,TX
Jul 6, 2009

Great Location for the Price

Went and laid on the beach. This hotel was great except for the poor water pressure in the showers. It was barely more than a dribble. The only time it worked correctly was the day we left when I took a shower at 5 AM. No demands on the pressure then. Twice I asked them about it and they turned on a pump. That improved it some but not much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Jun 24, 2009

Nice beach fron property

Mostly sleep. larger pool not too bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, MD
Jun 8, 2009

not the best

The hotel was overall good but many flaws which made staying at a little more expensive hotel more worth it. First of all the shower water would randomly turn off. In the middle of my shower a few times the water turns off and we would have to wait a few min before it comes back. The pool wasnt that clean, and the breakfast we had one day had fungus/mold on the muffin. I would recommend someone to pay a lil more for a better hotel service. I stayed at many different hotels in PR and this one i would not return too. Staff was really freindly though and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top