$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 9, 2015 Check-out: Mar 12, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
113 reviews
Great

the hotel meet our expectations, it was confortable, clean, close to the beach. See full review

  • Yesenia C.
  • Jan 14, 2015
Exelent trip

IT was exelent ,I had a great time friendly staff and very informative. Deffinetly would stay there... See full review

  • Geronimo II
  • Jan 7, 2015
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (113)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
113 out of 113
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles,california
Jul 21, 2011

best location in san juan

is such a pleasant location, with everything a short distance walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

recommended for everithing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EnyawH
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 13, 2009

Decent

The three o'clock check-in was horribly inconvenient and the check-in was a one man show. If you speak spanish, you'll be served first. Otherwise, plan on being patient. It's a decent place for couples who don't want to be seen or discovered. The lobby and bar are quaint. However, in 4 days I never saw anyone at the bar and I didn't go myself. I'd best describe the breakfast a minimal. Overall a bare bones place and not the greatest environment for a single traveler. On the plus side, it's convenient to the beach, but the real Condado areas is a 20 minute leisure walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great deli/restaurant about 3 blocks away. Unfortunately, I don't recall the name. It begins with a "K". You can't miss it. Make a left out the door and walk about three blocks. It's on the same streat McCleary on the right side. It's a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Sep 2, 2009

Would Not Recommend

No cups, wash cloth, hair dryer or iron in room. Sink stopper missing. Mirror too low for 5'10" man shaving. Breakfast sparse and charged for extra coffee and orange juice refill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 5, 2009

14 night 15 day stay at Oceana

The location is stellar. I would stay there again. It is a block away from the beach and there are 3 bus routes to get to Old San Juan within a block or two from the hotel: A5, B21, and C53. The rooms were comfortable, yet small. I would recommend for anyone who is traveling to venture in Puerto Rico. It is a 2 star hotel, so I would not recommend for those who like to relax all day at hotel. Staff is friendly and Bilingual. My only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower and the internet was in and out. I had to use Starbucks down the street. I was overall pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in San Juan, rent a car at Charlie's rent a car and go to El Yunkue Rain Forest. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was. Also, bio illuminescant kayack (I know misspelled but correct spelling is registering as profanity for some reason) tour is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb world traveler
Business
baltimore, MD
Jul 20, 2009

quaint in a good way and i loved it!!!

i really loved this hotel and would stay here again when i travel to puerto rico. i was within walking distance of shops, beachs, parks, big hotels and restaurants. if you want something off the beaten path this is it. if you want all the fancy schmancy hotel stuff this is not it. still it was great and i loved it. only thing was staff was not very knowledgeable about how to get around the island locally. so some research about where to go, how to go and how to get there is necessary. i still would stay again and recommend all my friends and fam. also free breakfast left something to be desired but it held me til i got a real breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do your research about recreational activities. also main hotels are within 5-10minute walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
giantstwo
Business
nyc
Jul 15, 2009

OCEANA HOSTAL PLAYERO

Great location for beaches, shopping and dining. Rooms were old. I say rooms as we had to move to another room 1st as the shower head in the 1st room didn't work.The room they gave us had waterbugs a dirty ceiling fan and an air conditioner that shut down down at about 2am and leaked water everywhere.We couldn't open the windows as they had no screens. I will pay double to stay at a comfortable place next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RED40
Business
Washington DC
Jul 12, 2009

Awful, awful, awful.place

AWFUL,AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH. THat is it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leiserom
Business
Houston,TX
Jul 6, 2009

Great Location for the Price

Went and laid on the beach. This hotel was great except for the poor water pressure in the showers. It was barely more than a dribble. The only time it worked correctly was the day we left when I took a shower at 5 AM. No demands on the pressure then. Twice I asked them about it and they turned on a pump. That improved it some but not much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Jun 24, 2009

Nice beach fron property

Mostly sleep. larger pool not too bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, MD
Jun 8, 2009

not the best

The hotel was overall good but many flaws which made staying at a little more expensive hotel more worth it. First of all the shower water would randomly turn off. In the middle of my shower a few times the water turns off and we would have to wait a few min before it comes back. The pool wasnt that clean, and the breakfast we had one day had fungus/mold on the muffin. I would recommend someone to pay a lil more for a better hotel service. I stayed at many different hotels in PR and this one i would not return too. Staff was really freindly though and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goldcat
Business
Seattle, WA
May 31, 2009

You get what you pay for

The experience was not very pleasant, although the first room they provided was big, by the time my wife is ready to take a shower, the water pressure was just a trickle. The refrigerator does not work and most of the electrical outlets were not working. We got transfered to another room and this time it has water pressure but the room has a puddle at the middle of the room and the room smells musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top