$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 5, 2014 Check-out: Nov 6, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
108 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (108)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RED40
Business
Washington DC
Jul 12, 2009

Awful, awful, awful.place

AWFUL,AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL.AWFUL....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE BEACH. THat is it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
leiserom
Business
Houston,TX
Jul 6, 2009

Great Location for the Price

Went and laid on the beach. This hotel was great except for the poor water pressure in the showers. It was barely more than a dribble. The only time it worked correctly was the day we left when I took a shower at 5 AM. No demands on the pressure then. Twice I asked them about it and they turned on a pump. That improved it some but not much.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Juan
Jun 24, 2009

Nice beach fron property

Mostly sleep. larger pool not too bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
baltimore, MD
Jun 8, 2009

not the best

The hotel was overall good but many flaws which made staying at a little more expensive hotel more worth it. First of all the shower water would randomly turn off. In the middle of my shower a few times the water turns off and we would have to wait a few min before it comes back. The pool wasnt that clean, and the breakfast we had one day had fungus/mold on the muffin. I would recommend someone to pay a lil more for a better hotel service. I stayed at many different hotels in PR and this one i would not return too. Staff was really freindly though and location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goldcat
Business
Seattle, WA
May 31, 2009

You get what you pay for

The experience was not very pleasant, although the first room they provided was big, by the time my wife is ready to take a shower, the water pressure was just a trickle. The refrigerator does not work and most of the electrical outlets were not working. We got transfered to another room and this time it has water pressure but the room has a puddle at the middle of the room and the room smells musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
You will feel comfortable
Business
Panama City Panama
May 30, 2009

retired

The staff was very freindly and very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigh, the traveler
Business
Los Angeles
May 2, 2009

A dump

We arrived along with a few other guest around 2:20, but they would not allow check in until exactly 3:00. The location of the hotel was just next to the beach, which was great, but a ways from San Juan. Approximately 3 - 4 miles. Many restuarants about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. As for the hotel I would suggest people pass on this one. It offers a continental breafast, skip it. We tried it once. The hotel was not very clean, had a strange smell. Floor in our room was dirty. From our room there was no view of any kind. The pool could be categorized as an over-sized bathtub. Mold in the shower and no window in the bathroom. My wife left her earrings on the sink, and after the second day they were gone, we filed a report, of course no word as of yet. After having paid when I made the reservation, they charged my credit card for the stay after we had checked out. Called the hotel, got no results, called Orbitz, still waiting for refund. On the whole, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even just to sleep over night. Because of the uncleanliness, I did not feel comfortable there. It is a cheap hotel, but remember, you get what you pay for. On a stay such a stay as this, the hotel is not the attraction. We got up early and went to the beach until lunch. Again, the beach is just a 2 - 3 minute walk, and after that we went out to sight see until late and back just to shower and sleep. Bus stop near by and cabs galore. We chose to walk and ride the bus most of the time. I repeat, avoid this hotel if you can. Harold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you know the city, renting a car would be a good idea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FriendsonVacation
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 28, 2009

Off the beaten path

We visited this hotel the last weekend of march, 2009. We were somewhat skeptical about staying here at first from reading previous reviews, but gave it a try due in part to the price and proximity to the beach. Once we got there, we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is not even a block away from the beach!! Upon arrival, we were upgraded from hotel rooms to villas which were HUGE! They could accomodate atleast six people each! The particular villas had king sized beds, full size futons as well as twin beds along with eat-in kitchens with table and chairs. The kitchens were also equipped with electric stove tops and refrigerators. This hotel is very laid back, relaxing and can be quiet romantic...day and night. They host a restaurant and bar in the hotel as well as a cozy lobby with big over-sized furniture that invites you to sit and not want to leave. There is also an open air courtyard area surrounded by plants and decorated with lights with scattered tables and chairs throughout which can invoke great conversation. A Lap pool is also situated in this area with a mosaic tile waterfall in front. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. A special thanks to Jorge for directions to Casa de Bacardi! I only have a few gripes... First..the water pressure is terrible in the bathroom shower and sinks! The shower water is literally a dribble. It's just enough water pressure for you to stand under the shower to get wet. Second..The wi-fi works well in the courtyard and lobby, but not in the rooms. Third..there is a shared deck that was in between my villa and the villa across the hall, located on the side of the hotel. This deck and wall that it is attached to, was covered in bird excrement. I suspect it comes from birds that feed on the beautiful, but overgrown tamarind tree that is planted in the courtyard and juts out onto the lower part of the roof. A simple power washing along with pruning the tree could make this a more enjoyable place to sit and look out onto the street below. Lastly...the continental breakfast has much to be desired. I think if the hotel offered some type of meat and/or eggs along with the borden's block of cheese, muffin, toast and fruit they already provide, would make breakfast a little more enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting to try something different. With it's electic, cozy and laid back atmosphere,it provides a welcome change to the usual hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is about a 3-5 minute drive to Downtown Old San Juan. if you are looking for authentic food instead of the regular retsaurant chains...visit Cafe El puenta( spelling?) as well as the bubbling cauldron cafe. Great food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Apr 27, 2009

awesome hotel!!!!!!!!!

omg!!! this hotel was awesome.... my bf and i stayed at the villa (which is their suite) it was clean & comfy...the hotel is near the beach the food and breakfast is good at the hotel i recommend you eat breakfast at the local spots to save money..this hotel is 20 minutes away from old san juan take the bus for $.75 and you will be happy with your site seeing..save save save your money for taxi if you need to go to the night clubs or the airport other wisw take the bus if you need to go in town....the hotel is near burgerking,walgreens,a church, all these places are walking distance... the hotel staff were very freindly,helpful and gave us every thing we asked for when we come back to puerto rico we will stay at oceana its the best and a good price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not the RITZ CARLTON but is number one on my list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sniedel
Business
detroit, mi
Apr 25, 2009

non vacation location!

friendly service, but the food and the drinks are to expensive for a low level hotel like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top