$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 2, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
san jose, ca
Apr 22, 2009

rennovations

friendly staff, but slow with food and drink service. renovations were being done while we stayed so that was annoying, but it looked nice when they were all done. NO TELEPHONE in the room was bad. calling from my cell phone cost a ton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermax 24 hour grocery store.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Durango, Colorado
Apr 1, 2009

Disaster of a Property-Book Elsewhere

Don't believe what you see in the on-line photos of this place. They must have been taken 30 or 40 years ago. The room was filthy, the sink wouldn't drain, the lightswitch didn't work, the head board on the bed was not attached and came crashing down on us in the middle of the night. We paid $124 for this poor excuse of a hotel room. It is not worth $24. I contacted Orbitz and the Oceana Playero Hostel regarding a refund and did not receive one. Please, please don't book here. You will not be happy. It does not deserve even a part of 1 star, but that was the lowest rating available

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
chicago
Mar 5, 2009

just ok

very friendly staff and nice common area but "breakfast" of a piece of toast and weighwathcer's cheese slice was insulting. bathroom constantly ran and toxic smell of cleaning products was overpowering and ever present. Also I was really miffed to be charged extra for "blue cheese" on my hamburger only to receive about 2 tablespoons of a gooey disgusting (appraant) salad dressing

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

bakery/ deli down the street was great!

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Williamsburg
Dec 9, 2008

San Juan's version of a B&B???

If you have heavy luggage, ask for a low floor. We had to carry our luggage up to the third floor. It was very difficult We had a rod with a few hangers NO CLOset. Continental Breakfast was offered and by the second day they had run out of some of the items originally offered. All in all out of 100 I would give it a 60 Our room's fire detector was broken and not replaced in the 3 days we were there. If you needed a hair-dryer you had to request it. The tiny refigerator did not work properly. Getting ice was an ordeal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

We did find a local Cafe about 3 blocks away which was very nice. The beach was near, we never went.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Rhodes
Nov 23, 2008

Sounds of the Tropics

We actually stayed here twice on the same vacation, three nights before our cruise and one night after. The 1st room we stayed in was really nice the second wasn't as nice but still acceptable. The location is nice cause there is a nice beach just two blocks away and there is a bus stop near by where you can hop on bus C-53 for free and it goes just about anywhere you may want to go including Old San Juan (we rode it several times). The hotel has really good food and a lovely atmosphere, coqui frogs chirping, waterfall in the pool otherwise quiet, no loud music or talking just the sounds of the tropics. We can't imagine why it's so inexpensive. We will definitely check into staying there next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is cheap fast food within a few blocks. A grocery store about 12 blocks. Don't give $ to the bums (they are playing you). Prices are pretty good in most stores around that area, much better than Old San Juan.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Burleons
Sep 21, 2008

Better places near by

We arrived after a long flight to the hotel. There is no porter service or anyone to greet you. Puerto Rico is hot and humid but this place seemed like a steam sauna. The had not turned on the AC prior to our arrival so the room was 90+ degrees, a warm welcome. No toliet paper in the bathroom, my wife had to walk back to the front desk to get one roll. I appologized to my wife over and over again. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Acacia Sea Side Inn, great hotel one block from beach. Very eclectic restaurant and scenic jacuzzi on second floor. They also have a great bar and air conditioning!

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Savannah
Jul 9, 2008

Nice Experience

Great place to stay in San Juan. Beautiful gardens and clean rooms. Great breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
USA
Jun 27, 2008

not what expected

the pool was a joke. i have to admit they kept the rooms clean. there was very little around for shopping. overall i would not recomend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Bronx
Jun 8, 2008

Extremely friendly & helpful staff

I had a great stay at this hotel. At first our shower had no water for the first day but the staff was more than accomodating. We were able to use the room across the hall's bathroom and our water situation was fixed the next day. Everyone was friendly and helpful and the rooms had a very trendy decor and were reasonably clean. Their outside patio was beautiful and the decor of the hotel alone made a big impression on me. This hotel is conveniently located by everything and is nestled on the border of Ocean Park/Condondo area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everythins is nearby such as shopping, dining, entertainment, club life, the beach plus public transportation is easily accessible.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
May 28, 2008

Very romantic ambiance

This petite hotel has a great romantic ambiance. The hotel areas are very confortable and very tropicals. Freshness in all areas, with lot of vegetation makes the area very romantic. Room, bar and restaurant are very clean and confortable. The hotel has an excelent location. Near all tourist area and very close to the beach. As a matter of facts, only a few meters apart. The restaurant food is good and the value for money is excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is very close to restaurants and the beach.

Back to menu Return to top