$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
166 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (166)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
166 out of 166
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles,california
Jul 21, 2011

best location in san juan

is such a pleasant location, with everything a short distance walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

recommended for everithing

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
massachusetts
Jul 19, 2010

Oceana Hostal Playero

Wonderful despite its small stature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rockie's grandma
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

The 'sad-sack' of hotels

Poeple were kind and friendly, but only rsponded to the most pressing concerns. Good water pressure would have helped a lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rockie's grandma
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

The 'sad-sack' of hotels

Poeple were kind and friendly, but only rsponded to the most pressing concerns. Good water pressure would have helped a lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
lajas Puerto Rico
Jul 4, 2010

Its Okay

The location of the hotel was exellent, and if you are going on a vacation looking for a place that is quiet and restful. On the other hand, there is only one person in charge of the restaurant, front desk and room service. The hotel was not at all clean either, the pool was dreadfully dirty to the extent that you could not see through the water and they only went to my room once to clean and the lady just walked in the room without knocking, luckly me and my husband were already dressed and getting ready to leave, but the lady did not even say excuse me or sorry, she just walked in and started to change the towles. that was the only time the room was 'cleaned'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are wonderful restaurants and nightlife, beaches are all walking distances.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
U.S.
Jun 28, 2010

Dirty

The sheets were dirty and we saw roaches in our room. We slept with our clothes on. We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
U.S.
Jun 28, 2010

Dirty

The sheets were dirty and we saw roaches in our room. We slept with our clothes on. We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 12, 2010

Nice Location and Staff, Bad Bed Bugs!

We had an amazing vacation in Puerto Rico. The Oceana was in a great location for us. It was a few blocks from our car rental place, the famous Condado Beach, and the main freeway. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we appreciated that. The room although it was a villa was in need of updating. The tile in the bathroom was old, the tile in the room was a little dirty, and on about the second to last day we noticed that the although the sheets were clean, they had little stains. The WORSE part we didn't even realize until we got home, Villa 2 has bed bugs. We did some research wondering how we didn't know and bed bug bites can take up to 14 days to show on your skin. Our bites showed up after we were home. I wouldn't recommend Oceana for the mere fact that they have bed bugs, I am still itching a week later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 12, 2010

Nice Location and Staff, Bad Bed Bugs!

We had an amazing vacation in Puerto Rico. The Oceana was in a great location for us. It was a few blocks from our car rental place, the famous Condado Beach, and the main freeway. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we appreciated that. The room although it was a villa was in need of updating. The tile in the bathroom was old, the tile in the room was a little dirty, and on about the second to last day we noticed that the although the sheets were clean, they had little stains. The WORSE part we didn't even realize until we got home, Villa 2 has bed bugs. We did some research wondering how we didn't know and bed bug bites can take up to 14 days to show on your skin. Our bites showed up after we were home. I wouldn't recommend Oceana for the mere fact that they have bed bugs, I am still itching a week later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Locko the world traveler
Fort Laudardale
Jun 2, 2010

awful! horrible location...! dont go!!!!

we arrived at night and the neighbour hood look awful, it was a very noisy area and the streets were dirty. we try canceling our room but they charged the full amount. so we decided to leave and not even try it look awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to fajardo and stay in that area is a lot more nice for your vacations!

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Locko the world traveler
Fort Laudardale
Jun 2, 2010

awful! horrible location...! dont go!!!!

we arrived at night and the neighbour hood look awful, it was a very noisy area and the streets were dirty. we try canceling our room but they charged the full amount. so we decided to leave and not even try it look awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to fajardo and stay in that area is a lot more nice for your vacations!

Back to menu Return to top