$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.4
out of 5
109 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Laid-back vacation

Great escape, away from a modern hotel and town, really islandy hotel, very basic, perfect for... See full review

  • Bahamas Honeymooners
  • Mar 2, 2014
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.
Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (109)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.4 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
2.2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.4
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
BOWIE, MD
Mar 15, 2010

Not bad for the price

Hotel reception clerk was very friendly and attempted to meet every need. Not a bad deal for those that are going to be out during the day..... Close to local shopping and dining and two blocks from the beach. Easy access to all popular sites and tours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to local dining and beach. TAXICABS are readily available, and in-expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Esapper1
Business
Baltimore,Md.
Feb 21, 2010

Mixed Bag

All in all this was a nice place for the money.This place is rustic and not for you ,if you are expecting a spacious and spotless room.It does have character and is a nice example of a traditional Spanish-esque villa.The wait staff are great(especially Alberto).The desk folks,eh, so-so.The beach is nice ,if you want to lay in the sun,not so much if you want to play in the water (strong rip/undertow).If you like to walk (5+ miles each way)Then it is walking distance to Old SJ. Taxis are $15 each way to both the Airport and OSJ.It is about a 15 min walk to Conado area where there are plenty of restaurants and activities to be had.I would suggest renting a car at the airport ,spending a bit planning your route and going for it.The hotel has adequate parking and in the end renting a car is cheaper to get around.I would caution that you need to like driving to do this.Traffic is heavy ,and the rules of the road are more like NYC than anywhere else.Don't expect the Ritz for the price.Happy travels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Head right out of the hotel walk about 1\2 mile look to your left just past Fudrucker's and go to Mima's.Fantastic seafood menu.Dine inside or out and have fun people watching.Dining for two with drinks,expect about $100.The food is worth the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Doug Texter
Business
Minneapolis
Dec 30, 2009

Great place

I absolutely loved it here. It was quiet. The staff was very friendly, especially the guy who served me a great frappe and endless coffees. The food, vegetarian, was great, if a bit underheated. The rooms were clean. I've seen some complaints from other reviewers. Yes, the water pressure was low. But, we are talking about the tropics and an island. The price of the room was under 100 dollars. If you wanted to pay 300 a night, I'm sure that better water pressure was available at the Hilton, etc. But the charm of the place and the helpfulness of the staff make up for a just-ok shower. The fun art on the walls--like posters from Barcelona--was great. So were the Murphy's laws posters. They were funny. The place and the staff are delightfully quirky. Let's talk about location, too. You're a fifteen minute taxi ride from both the airport and old San Juan. And the beach: walk down the street, turn a right on King's Court, and you're there. It's very nice. Your room has a fridge, and there's a Mini Mart down the street if you want to put stuff in the room. All in all, a great little quirky place, with plenty of personality.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, il
Dec 26, 2009

WORST HOSTEL EVER!!!

We were there for two weeks and the experience was horrible! We would not recomend this hotel to our friends or nobody. The t.v. remote was not working, we kept asking everyday for them to fix it and we finally get a new one two days before our departure, the room was only partially clean and in our whole stay they never, ever change the bed sheets and one night we came to the room and it was as we left it in the morning, they did not even make the bed we have to do it. When we complained with the manager ([...]) who by the way is not very friendly the only thing she said was that she was going to see why they skip the cleaning in our room and would send us some clean towels (Oh thanks!!!!), we were on the first floor and is very noisy, also in the middle of the night front desk employees use the phone with the speakers on!!!! not to mention that in addition to all this we seen roaches runing around the room!!!NOT A PLACE TO STAY NO MATTER WHAT!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
pa
Dec 22, 2009

That place is dirty!!

the hotel itself is very pretty. it needs a major cleaning though. mold in the bathroom. broken sliding glass door. we slept with the lights on incase it had bugs. no water pressure to shower and sometimes the toilet wouldn't flush. the bedsheets had blood stains on them that looked like they were from the last person that stayed there. spend the money and sleep somewhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
U.
Business
Mexico City
Nov 2, 2009

Convenient and clean hotel

Clean and very convenient location, nice neighborhod just one block from the beach and about 8 min walking to the place where you can find many restaurants and bars. The only thing was the low preasure on the shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
EnyawH
Business
Washington, DC
Oct 13, 2009

Decent

The three o'clock check-in was horribly inconvenient and the check-in was a one man show. If you speak spanish, you'll be served first. Otherwise, plan on being patient. It's a decent place for couples who don't want to be seen or discovered. The lobby and bar are quaint. However, in 4 days I never saw anyone at the bar and I didn't go myself. I'd best describe the breakfast a minimal. Overall a bare bones place and not the greatest environment for a single traveler. On the plus side, it's convenient to the beach, but the real Condado areas is a 20 minute leisure walk!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a great deli/restaurant about 3 blocks away. Unfortunately, I don't recall the name. It begins with a "K". You can't miss it. Make a left out the door and walk about three blocks. It's on the same streat McCleary on the right side. It's a must!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jenkintown, PA
Sep 2, 2009

Would Not Recommend

No cups, wash cloth, hair dryer or iron in room. Sink stopper missing. Mirror too low for 5'10" man shaving. Breakfast sparse and charged for extra coffee and orange juice refill.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston TX
Aug 5, 2009

14 night 15 day stay at Oceana

The location is stellar. I would stay there again. It is a block away from the beach and there are 3 bus routes to get to Old San Juan within a block or two from the hotel: A5, B21, and C53. The rooms were comfortable, yet small. I would recommend for anyone who is traveling to venture in Puerto Rico. It is a 2 star hotel, so I would not recommend for those who like to relax all day at hotel. Staff is friendly and Bilingual. My only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower and the internet was in and out. I had to use Starbucks down the street. I was overall pleased with my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If in San Juan, rent a car at Charlie's rent a car and go to El Yunkue Rain Forest. Words cannot describe how wonderful it was. Also, bio illuminescant kayack (I know misspelled but correct spelling is registering as profanity for some reason) tour is a must.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jb world traveler
Business
baltimore, MD
Jul 20, 2009

quaint in a good way and i loved it!!!

i really loved this hotel and would stay here again when i travel to puerto rico. i was within walking distance of shops, beachs, parks, big hotels and restaurants. if you want something off the beaten path this is it. if you want all the fancy schmancy hotel stuff this is not it. still it was great and i loved it. only thing was staff was not very knowledgeable about how to get around the island locally. so some research about where to go, how to go and how to get there is necessary. i still would stay again and recommend all my friends and fam. also free breakfast left something to be desired but it held me til i got a real breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

do your research about recreational activities. also main hotels are within 5-10minute walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top