$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rainy Traveler
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2010

Ok Trip

The hotel was ok. The staff once we arrived was friendly but before we arrived, we had a conflict and was trying to deal with them over the phone and the manager was never available. It does advertise that there's a pool, but it's really small and always dirty, we weren't able to get in it once. The location of the hotel was convenient. There were several local eating spots to enjoy and also a 24-hour Walgreens which is always good. The beach is practically the backyard from the hotel so that was really sweet. You do need a car since taxis are really expensive if you want to sightsee or go to isla verde or san juan and don't want to depend on public transportation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Jul 19, 2010

Oceana Hostal Playero

Wonderful despite its small stature.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rockie's grandma
Business
Chicago, IL
Jul 5, 2010

The 'sad-sack' of hotels

Poeple were kind and friendly, but only rsponded to the most pressing concerns. Good water pressure would have helped a lot!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
lajas Puerto Rico
Jul 4, 2010

Its Okay

The location of the hotel was exellent, and if you are going on a vacation looking for a place that is quiet and restful. On the other hand, there is only one person in charge of the restaurant, front desk and room service. The hotel was not at all clean either, the pool was dreadfully dirty to the extent that you could not see through the water and they only went to my room once to clean and the lady just walked in the room without knocking, luckly me and my husband were already dressed and getting ready to leave, but the lady did not even say excuse me or sorry, she just walked in and started to change the towles. that was the only time the room was 'cleaned'.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

there are wonderful restaurants and nightlife, beaches are all walking distances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
U.S.
Jun 28, 2010

Dirty

The sheets were dirty and we saw roaches in our room. We slept with our clothes on. We will never stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, UT
Jun 12, 2010

Nice Location and Staff, Bad Bed Bugs!

We had an amazing vacation in Puerto Rico. The Oceana was in a great location for us. It was a few blocks from our car rental place, the famous Condado Beach, and the main freeway. The staff was very friendly and helpful and we appreciated that. The room although it was a villa was in need of updating. The tile in the bathroom was old, the tile in the room was a little dirty, and on about the second to last day we noticed that the although the sheets were clean, they had little stains. The WORSE part we didn't even realize until we got home, Villa 2 has bed bugs. We did some research wondering how we didn't know and bed bug bites can take up to 14 days to show on your skin. Our bites showed up after we were home. I wouldn't recommend Oceana for the mere fact that they have bed bugs, I am still itching a week later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Locko the world traveler
Business
Fort Laudardale
Jun 2, 2010

awful! horrible location...! dont go!!!!

we arrived at night and the neighbour hood look awful, it was a very noisy area and the streets were dirty. we try canceling our room but they charged the full amount. so we decided to leave and not even try it look awful!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

just drive to fajardo and stay in that area is a lot more nice for your vacations!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Maria Kazachenko
Business
Bozeman, MT
Jun 1, 2010

Be aware of Hidden fees!

We payed non-refundable price of 85.39$ online for a room with two beds. When we came to the the hotel we were asked to pay extra 35$. The manager claimed that we did reservation for one person, not two (with two beds??). After some bargaining the extra charge was reduced to 5$. We finally got a room with one king size bed, not what we payed for initially! The worst thing is that the price of 85$ was non-refundable, so we could not turn our backs and go to another hotel. Conclusion: Hotel was OK. But hidden fees is a bad style! I would keep away from this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
TwinOtterpilot
Business
Sint Maarten
May 22, 2010

Cost effective + good location for beach

Appears to be well run by a caring owner, but horribly understaffed. One person trying to serve food while they check in guests. No breakfast available even at 8 am due to late staff. Continental breakfast is useless if you can't eat before you go to the airport. No shuttle bus. Locks on doors are a joke. No internet in rooms. Other than that, it was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 19, 2010

Great option for the budget traveller

Nice, local hotel. If you're looking for a big modern hotel with all the frills and amenities, this is not the place for you. Found the staff to be friendly and helpful. Room was large and clean, though older vintage. It was a fair walking distance to shopping district, but if you're renting a car, it has plenty of parking on or near the premises. Overall pleased with the hotel considering the lower price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top