$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 10, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and having fun
Business
Orange, NJ
Aug 31, 2010

An ok stay

The hotel was ok. Needs a lot of work. It is not in the best location. The beach is one block away however it is not a good walking area. The hotel could be cleaner. The towels, sheets and blankets are old. They are not washed well. They do not match. The pool is much smaller than it looks and was not kept clear of debris. The continental breakfast was a banana and bread. The lounge area was nice and cozy. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Condado, had great restaurants. It is within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and having fun
Business
Orange, NJ
Aug 31, 2010

An ok stay

The hotel was ok. Needs a lot of work. It is not in the best location. The beach is one block away however it is not a good walking area. The hotel could be cleaner. The towels, sheets and blankets are old. They are not washed well. They do not match. The pool is much smaller than it looks and was not kept clear of debris. The continental breakfast was a banana and bread. The lounge area was nice and cozy. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Condado, had great restaurants. It is within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Boy
Business
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best but great location

The hotel pictures of the room can be very decieving. If you get the run of the house room, keep in mind that you will not get anything like what you see in the picture. I was a little dissappointed in the appearance of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop locally around the hotel area. Be safe and take the taxi or walk to the nearest shopping mall.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Boy
Business
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best but great location

The hotel pictures of the room can be very decieving. If you get the run of the house room, keep in mind that you will not get anything like what you see in the picture. I was a little dissappointed in the appearance of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop locally around the hotel area. Be safe and take the taxi or walk to the nearest shopping mall.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaPraguera
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 29, 2010

worst hotel I've ever stayed

Although the hotel is at a very convenient location, The service was the worst when it comes to cleaning up the rooms. They only cleaned our room once from the 4 nights we stayed there. The room does not have a phone; even the phone directory was outdated by 4 years!!! the hotel personnel were good though; kind of friendly with a few exceptions.Here is a list of the things that we did not like:1. No cleaning2. No phone3. outdated phone directory4. The place was extremely dirty5. No room service provided6. No Iron7. No elevator8. No microwave9. Loose sink[...] the manager, is a good guy though. He helped us out a great deal and was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago
Aug 29, 2010

Great Staff, Adequate Room

The hotel is located 1.5 blocks a way from Condado beach. Once you get to the beach, I recommend walking east for a better, cleaner spot. The hotel itself has a very friendly staff, small pool, and has a Vegetarian Bistro on the ground floor. Our room had a small refrigerator (which we used for water, drinks, etc.), a 26" tv, and a tiny bathroom. If you're a taller traveler, I don't recommend this place. (The bathroom was small for me @ 5'8".) We didn't rent a car because we knew that this hostal would have limited parking. We took public transportation everywhere because it was cheap and efficient-- 75 cents (exact change only!) The restaurants are a quick walk away-- either on Loiza ave. or down Ashford ave. If you want to eat local food, I recommend Bebo's on Loiza ave. When you get to your room, please remember that you're in a caribbean paradise and the you will not spend that much time in your room. The room just needs to be clean and quiet, right? Overall, this hostal did the job-- what more can you ask for? The staff was super friendly and wil guide you to whatever activities you're interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the El Morro, Isla Verde Beach, San Cristobal Fort, Old San Juan, and Ashford Avenue.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaPraguera
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 29, 2010

worst hotel I've ever stayed

Although the hotel is at a very convenient location, The service was the worst when it comes to cleaning up the rooms. They only cleaned our room once from the 4 nights we stayed there. The room does not have a phone; even the phone directory was outdated by 4 years!!! the hotel personnel were good though; kind of friendly with a few exceptions.Here is a list of the things that we did not like:1. No cleaning2. No phone3. outdated phone directory4. The place was extremely dirty5. No room service provided6. No Iron7. No elevator8. No microwave9. Loose sink[...] the manager, is a good guy though. He helped us out a great deal and was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 14, 2010

It was okay...

Hotel was okay. Room extremely small. More of a small condo than hotel. Water pressure was decent. If you don't plan to stay in the hotel for long periods of time, then its perfect. Beach right down the street, and hotel help is extremely nice and informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens right down the street in case you forgot anything. Very convenient

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Aug 14, 2010

It was okay...

Hotel was okay. Room extremely small. More of a small condo than hotel. Water pressure was decent. If you don't plan to stay in the hotel for long periods of time, then its perfect. Beach right down the street, and hotel help is extremely nice and informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens right down the street in case you forgot anything. Very convenient

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
The Wifey
Business
New York
Aug 3, 2010

the worst hotel I've been

was the worst experience I had in my life, they will offer wireless internet and not have it available in the rooms, no complimentary breakfast, the rooms are very small dirty and smell bad, no elevator, do not recommend this hotel is not worth staying here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top