Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
106 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (106)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
106 out of 106
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
California
Nov 12, 2010

An Enjoyable, Relaxing Nice Place

Unfortaunately, my stay was not very enjoyable. This is because on my first night of check-in,, at around 1 am... A young Man with baggy clothing, and a shirt that featured a "thug" with a bandana covering his face scared me 1/2 toi the death. I have never been out of the Continental U.S. before and I was not able to gauge whether or not I was in danger. 2 men checked me in,, then the man who was much larger than I escorted me to my room as well as bedroom...I was really scared to go to sleep that nigh5t,,, next morning I discovered the incredibly friendly staff that worked at the hotel,, and I realized that the Oceana was beautiful!!! I loved swimming in the Ocean everyday,, eating the sweet bananas, toast, and coffee for breakfast every morning, and enjoying wifi on my laptop ewhile I sat under the Plam trees in their Court Yard....which is right in the middle of the building...I had such an enjoyable experience!! in the day of course,,, but at night I was really scared to go to sleep,, for fear that someone may break in...it was the guy from my first night...he really scared the heck out of me,,, and the other ?He turned out to be the BEST and NICEST man on the staff,,, he was really great! as I am sure tyhe man with the "thug" t-shirt on was too...because everyone there was great...Problem was the shirt ...I most def suggest to the staff to get some unifoms...Dude scarde the bejesus out of me, and I owuld still NOT suggest anyone to stay in the hotel all by their lonesome,, like I did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
not a bargain at all
new york
Nov 11, 2010

horrible hotel room

we arrived around noon on 9/11/10 to attend a 4pm wedding at a different hotel. planned to stay 1 night only (cruising the next day) we were informed that our room was being cleaned, so we had no choice but to stay in the lobby. finally at 2:45 we were able to walk up the 2 flights of stairs to our room that had the flimsiest locks on it (i immediately planned to take all valuables and passport id with us when we left). the lighting in the room was dim (single 40 watt bulb) floor tile was sandy and disgusting, did not care to take a closer look to find out why. needless to say, we all kept our shoes on the entire time. bathroom was DISGUSTING! mismatched face and hand towels only, water from the shower head was literally a trickle so my god daughter could only have a quick rinse off. we grabbed our stuff and headed over to my friend's hotel to take a proper shower instead. came back at midnight to find our bedsheets and pillow cases also were a mismatch with fuzzballs. air condition unit was a hang up on the wall with a remote control that turned off on its own during the night. we got up early the next day and check out ASAP. we elected to wait on the cruise ship instead of hanging around the hotel. bumped into 2 other couples who happened to share the same hotel and cruise vacation. they also were not happy with their rooms. one couple had plenty of water but it caused a flood (go figure). the other couple had reservations but the hotel had trouble finding and gave them a room with 1 bed instead of 2 and it was about the size of a closet. we all had a good laugh and decided we were lucky it was just for 1 night. we are not kidding about how BAD this room was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Kaufman, Texas
Nov 8, 2010

Hidden Gem

This is a very quant of the beaten path hotel. It is just 2 short blocks from the beach. McDonalds, CVS and a bakery are just a 5 minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel menu is good and the food was ample as well as tasty and affordable.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
p3pusher
Business
Boston, MA
Oct 11, 2010

"Great location and friendly staff"

I was apartment hunting, Would have stayed there more time if was able to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Plenty of places to have fun within walking distance....

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Irvington, NJ
Sep 4, 2010

Very Unhappy.

My experience at the hotel was a terrible one. My fmaily an I arrived back from our cruise early in the morning. A taxi dropped us off at the hotel and we asked if we can check in early. The front desk agent stated no. We had to stand outside in the hot sun until 3pm. When we finally were able to check in, the toilet didn't work and the staff said to use one down the hall. To make a long story short, the rooms were small, the sheets weren't changed daily, and the pool was dirty. It was just a bad experience. We checked out early and checked in to a better and reputible hotel. On all future tips I will stay in well-known hospitable hotel chains.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We looked for money savers but none worked out.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Single and having fun
Orange, NJ
Aug 31, 2010

An ok stay

The hotel was ok. Needs a lot of work. It is not in the best location. The beach is one block away however it is not a good walking area. The hotel could be cleaner. The towels, sheets and blankets are old. They are not washed well. They do not match. The pool is much smaller than it looks and was not kept clear of debris. The continental breakfast was a banana and bread. The lounge area was nice and cozy. The staff was helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Condado, had great restaurants. It is within walking distance of the hotel.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jersey Boy
New Jersey
Aug 30, 2010

Not the best but great location

The hotel pictures of the room can be very decieving. If you get the run of the house room, keep in mind that you will not get anything like what you see in the picture. I was a little dissappointed in the appearance of the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Do not shop locally around the hotel area. Be safe and take the taxi or walk to the nearest shopping mall.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LaPraguera
Miami, fl
Aug 29, 2010

worst hotel I've ever stayed

Although the hotel is at a very convenient location, The service was the worst when it comes to cleaning up the rooms. They only cleaned our room once from the 4 nights we stayed there. The room does not have a phone; even the phone directory was outdated by 4 years!!! the hotel personnel were good though; kind of friendly with a few exceptions.Here is a list of the things that we did not like:1. No cleaning2. No phone3. outdated phone directory4. The place was extremely dirty5. No room service provided6. No Iron7. No elevator8. No microwave9. Loose sink[...] the manager, is a good guy though. He helped us out a great deal and was very polite.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Aug 29, 2010

Great Staff, Adequate Room

The hotel is located 1.5 blocks a way from Condado beach. Once you get to the beach, I recommend walking east for a better, cleaner spot. The hotel itself has a very friendly staff, small pool, and has a Vegetarian Bistro on the ground floor. Our room had a small refrigerator (which we used for water, drinks, etc.), a 26" tv, and a tiny bathroom. If you're a taller traveler, I don't recommend this place. (The bathroom was small for me @ 5'8".) We didn't rent a car because we knew that this hostal would have limited parking. We took public transportation everywhere because it was cheap and efficient-- 75 cents (exact change only!) The restaurants are a quick walk away-- either on Loiza ave. or down Ashford ave. If you want to eat local food, I recommend Bebo's on Loiza ave. When you get to your room, please remember that you're in a caribbean paradise and the you will not spend that much time in your room. The room just needs to be clean and quiet, right? Overall, this hostal did the job-- what more can you ask for? The staff was super friendly and wil guide you to whatever activities you're interested in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go see the El Morro, Isla Verde Beach, San Cristobal Fort, Old San Juan, and Ashford Avenue.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Virginia
Aug 14, 2010

It was okay...

Hotel was okay. Room extremely small. More of a small condo than hotel. Water pressure was decent. If you don't plan to stay in the hotel for long periods of time, then its perfect. Beach right down the street, and hotel help is extremely nice and informative.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walgreens right down the street in case you forgot anything. Very convenient

Back to menu Return to top