$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Bwalt
Business
Tampa, FL
May 12, 2011

Not bad

This place is ok,kind of shady though we flew in early so the room wasn't "ready" even though they had 30 rooms and 2 rooms occupied, so we went to check in after the room would be ready and it was an extra 30$ which the desk clerk pocketed. The room was ok, but their wasn't any comforters just sheets shower sucks, basically no water pressure, the toilet will flush about 50% of the time, for the amenites i thought it was a little overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You have to eat a Bebo's Cafe, cheap great food i ate there 3 times in 4 days, most servers speak english.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
dtw
Apr 26, 2011

I would not recomment to other

the hotel is not good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 16, 2011

It was a nightmare

Would never stay there again this hotel has no type of security, theres no parking you have to park in the street one night someone broke in to my car and stole my GPS cell phone car chargers, so in the morning I talk with the police and they said to tell the staff at the hotel to see if they would be responsible for my stuff since they dont have no parking, [...], another thing the officer told me is this street is [*]..... Another thing is the pool wow it is realy dirty I saw like 3 guest complaining about it the water is dirty it is full of leaves I was there for a week and never saw 1 person in it..... Another thing is the bathroom I could barely shower very little water comes out of the showerhead..... They have a little restaurant in the lobby but after everything I saw didnt feel like trying out there food, I even had a free complimentary breakfast never tried it.... Well this was my experience at this hotel I personally would never stay there again it is horrible

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

El Yunque National Forest its and amazing place to visit

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Mar 23, 2011

Creepy and crawly

The hotel was recommended to me and I read the positive and the negative reviews....I thought awww ..the negatives must be one off bad experience here and there. Trust me--so accurate it is scary, as is the hotel.[...] The hotel room had clean sheets and "clean" towels (laundered dingy grey stained towels). We slept with the lights on as we noticed that we shared the room with an array of local flora. Thankfully, two weeks out, there is no evidence that any natives returned home with us. [...]. I will not recommend this hotel either. While they were nice enough to help out in a difficult situation, it really felt unsanitary and sometimes down right scary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you have to see Bacardi tour, do it yourself. Not worth it with a separate tour.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rai
Business
NYC
Mar 19, 2011

"The beach is down the block"

Great trip on such short notice enjoyed beach, sightseeing and shopping and the food in the area is great!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take your own GPS

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jville, WI
Mar 18, 2011

OK for the price

Our room was OK but had water damage from above. It was also located next to the common area but luckily that area wasn't used much while we were there. One plus was free parking and we walked easily to the beach and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
midwest
Mar 10, 2011

overstated ambiance

[...]. Pool was not fit for gold fish, breakfast was dry toast toasted on one side, a single jelly pack and a brown bannana and 1 cup of coffee or juice. One day they added a 1 inch cinnamon roll. The tile floors in our room were swept, not mopped. Walking barefoot in our room was impossible. The people at the desk were helpful and friendly and spoke english. The court yard design gave a sense of safety in a neighborhood that was not. No resturants for 4 blocks, the vegetarian restaurant on sight was high priced for the amount you were given. Would be a nice one night stop. For the price there are much better choices.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ocean is one block away. Beach was nice during day. Police told us not to walk the beach at dark.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Elaine Q
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Feb 27, 2011

Great staff

Great location, super-helpful staff. Clean, relaxing bar/pool area. A good hotel when you are just looking for somewhere to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A great location for beach access. Get a 6 pack of Medalla Light a towel and relax. When the Empanada man comes by get a couple. Its the best three dollar meal in San Juan. A good traditional restaurant is La Tasca de Yiyo at Loiza and Taft.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MONTERREY, MEXICO
Feb 8, 2011

the worst hotel I stayed before

very poor service, rooms very dirty, had rooms available and would not give them early, very bad experience, very expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zajaz
Business
Tallinn, Estonia
Feb 1, 2011

Great location, old rooms

We were staying in this hotel for 6 nights. The location is great - beach is in 20 meters form the hotel. With the car airport, San Juan center, major car rentals and big shopping center are in 10 min driving distance. There is also big grocery store (24/7) in about 1 km. There is also WIFI in hotel, however it was visible only outside the room. The room we were lived in was big, but a bit old, noisy (compressor near single window) and dark. We were also expecting more form the breakfast. To conclude I would like to say that it was nice hostel for its price. If you are not planning to spend whole time in hotel and you ready to handle a little discomfort - this hostel perfectly suits you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top