$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2015 Check-out: Aug 21, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalBoricua
Business
Antelope, California
Sep 23, 2012

California/Boricua

No elevator...Outdated appliances..Very low water pressure...one dresser and one night stand(dirty)...Fan full of old dust...we asked for the iron board and used in the bathroom to put our toiletries...every day we have to asked for towels... very thin walls...outdated mattress they added a foam with ripped corners and looks like a moving blanket on top...they will served you the breakfast, 2 pc toast one banana, one jelly,one butter,coffee and a cookie, you dont get to pick any of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Fajardo to Culebra for a couple dollars...the ferry schedule at the port is not up to date...make sure you confirm both departures..Culebra beaches are beautiful.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tashaunda
Business
Minnesota
Jul 12, 2012

wasn't what i expected

they never cleaned our room unless we asked.And when they did clean they didn't sweep the floors. The staff was shady and when we asked questions the girls weren't that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the ocean is a short distance

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arthur from Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Fooled

The hotel lacked beauty, wasn't at all what I expected, it's a huge downgrade for the needs that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's perfect for a student overnight stay with no expectations.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
trent14
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

trents trip

staff tried. but was certainly not what i expected

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

stay with one cap driver

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Puchunguita
Business
Bayamón, Puerto Rico
Feb 28, 2012

needs update

The first room they gave us was in the lobby, Bathroom is small, towels old, pool dirty, the same complementary breakfast evryday. The parking is free and the beds are comfortable and the staff is nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Old San Juan, the food is better and cheaper than in Condado, and you can take the bus for .75 to get there

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
One Night for Business
Business
Montgomery, Alabama
Feb 27, 2012

Good for the cost

It was a single room with a small bathroom attached. There is nothing spectacular about the accommodations other than it is a place to bath and sleep. The location to the beach is amazing, especially considering the cost. The bathroom had a slight musty smell to it but considering the age of the building and the tropic climate it is in I was not surprised. It seemed that sand was everywhere, including the bed, but given how close the hotel is to the beach this too is to be expected. Overall, I would go there again if my primary focus was to spend time on the beach and not in the hotel room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach!

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHKDIBUMPA
Business
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 9, 2012

CORRECTING THE PAST

we first was not going to stay due to the reviews but when myself and my sister got there we were welcomed with a big hello from a staff member, over the following days i met more of the staff they where all help full sat and talk with me when i became bored and even suggested places for me to go which turned out to be fun. they were polite and the whole experience was a great one they even went as far as to make sure i enjoyed my birthday with signing and a cake. the cook was delicious to look at as where his meals...I will be returning again and i suggested my brother to spend his aniversary there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebos resturant is just down the block and around the corner they have the best food in that area

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
HATE THE PLACE
Business
mora, mn
Jan 13, 2012

not happy

not happy at all, worst place ive ever stayed in, dont be fooled by the low price there is a big catch, and you will be caught, terrible dont stay here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a very nice place to eat puerto rican food, great price, great staff, just down the road from oceana

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Damaris
Business
Camuy, Puerto Rico
Nov 14, 2011

Oceana Hostal Playero- Ocean Park, San Juan PR

It's a pleaseant place to stay, near many ammenities from Old San Juan and Condado main Tourism Places. Was nice. Maybe they can implementy more varietty of dinner. Their staff are good and you feel confortable with the attendance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
los angeles,california
Jul 21, 2011

best location in san juan

is such a pleasant location, with everything a short distance walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

recommended for everithing

Back to menu Return to top