$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.5
out of 5
107 reviews
Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little... See full review

  • World Citizen82
  • May 11, 2014
Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three... See full review

  • Doggone
  • May 17, 2013
Old San Juan boutique hostel offers simplicity near Condado Beach
The simple and unassuming Oceana Hostal Playero has hidden charm. Leather couches and Van Gogh-like swirls decorate the ceiling of the boutique hostel's artsy lounge. A shady stone patio with hanging vines overlooks the pool and waterfall, the perfect spot for enjoying the complimentary continental breakfast. The ocean can be glimpsed from the rooftop deck, as can stunning Condado Beach, just two blocks away. Oceana is the also the only smoke-free, vegetarian-oriented hostel in San Juan. All rooms have private baths and air conditioning.

 

Highlights
  • Condado Beach just footsteps away
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Rooftop sun deck
  • Complimentary beach chairs and towels
  • Vegetarian-themed restaurant on-site

 

Rooms

The 17 simple, cozy rooms at Oceana Hostal Playero have tropical touches such as palm-covered bedspreads, ceiling fans, wood blinds and rattan furniture. Modern tile work with wood accents and a basket of toiletries greet guests in the bathroom. Guest rooms and suites have windows overlooking the courtyard or Fortaleza Street. Some have private terraces. All have private baths and air conditioning.

Features

There is free on-site parking. Guests can relax at the pool with waterfall and rooftop sun deck.

Dining

The rustic red walls and warm pendant lights of the PuraVida Vegetarian Restaurant give the restaurant at Oceana Hostal Playero a warm, casual feel. Expect tapas such as portobello kebobs on grilled polenta and pan-seared tofu in a ginger and coconut sauce. Main dishes include veggie paella and veggie "lamb" in a mint and ginger curry. There are also some fish dishes on the menu. Dessert choices include ChoKahlúa, chocolate cake topped with almonds and strawberries and soaked in Kahlúa and coffee cream.

Transportation
  • Luis Muñoz Marín International Airport (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
Attractions
  • Condado shopping district (1 mi/ 1.6 km)
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Old San Juan Historical District (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • El Morro Fortress (4.4 mi/7.1 km)
  • La Fortaleza (4.5 mi/7.2 km)
Business
  • High-speed Internet zone downstairs

Hotel Map

18.4526 -66.0581
Area served
San Juan Metro, Carolina, Bayamon, Trujillo Alto, Dorado, Caguas, Guaynabo.
Nearby airports
Luis Munoz Marin International Airport (SJU) - 4 miles from the hotel, a 7-10 minute drive.
Area description
Hotel is located between Ocean Park and Condado, two of the most exclusive residential areas in San Juan, just a short block (a two minute walk) from the famous Ocean Park Beach and close to most points of interest in the Metro San Juan area. About 7 minutes from SJU International Airport, the Old City, the Cruise Ships Docks, major shopping centers, the banking district. An even shorter drive to Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico, new Convention Center and Luis A. Ferre Fine Arts Center. True walking distance to grocery stores, coin laundry, bakeries, banks, ATM's, casinos and night entertainment, fine dining, tennis courts, 24/7 pharmacy and supermarket, hospitals, public transportation and much more.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Oceana Hostal Playero also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5

Oceana Hostal Playero Rooms

Standard Two Double
This Guest Room has two double beds, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Run of House - Non Refundable
** Hotel's bedding choice / guest room is subject to availability, NOTE THAT THIS IS A NON REFUNDABLE ROOM TYPE. The Run of House may have a queen bed or two twin beds, and will be assigned at the hotel's choice at time of check in. Guest must accept the room assigned. All rooms feature private bath, air conditioning, cable tv, and compact refrigerator. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Standard Queen
This Guest Room has a queen size bed, bath with shower or tub, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, refrigerator, cable TV. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.
Fully Equipped Suite
Spacious Suite with either a king or queen bed, plus two double futons, bath with shower, air conditioning, quality linen, contemporary decor, cable TV, and a full size equipped kitchen. Complimentary Supreme Continental Breakfast.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Museo de Arte de Puerto Rico: 0.5 mi
  • Ocean Park: 0.6 mi
  • Bellas Artes: 0.8 mi
  • Museo de Arte Contemporaneo de Puerto Rico: 1.1 mi
  • San Juan Gate: 1.3 mi
  • Fine Arts Cinema: 1.7 mi
  • Puerto Rico Convention Center: 2.3 mi
  • Isla Verde: 2.6 mi
  • Port of San Juan: 3.5 mi
  • Jardin Botanico: 3.5 mi
  • Castillo de San Cristobal: 3.6 mi
  • Castillo San Felipe del Morro: 3.6 mi
  • Fortaleza Street: 3.9 mi
  • Plaza de Armas: 4 mi
  • Parque de las Palomas: 4 mi
  • Calle del Cristo: 4.1 mi
  • Paseo de la Princesa: 4.1 mi
  • Museo del Nino: 4.1 mi
  • Bacardi Rum Factory: 4.1 mi
  • La Fortaleza - Palacio de Santa Catalina: 4.1 mi
  • El Viejo San Juan (Old San Juan): 4.1 mi
  • San Juan Cathedral (Catedral de San Juan): 4.9 mi
  • Museo de Las Americas: 5.4 mi
  • Arecibo Observatory: 46.2 mi

Dining

Puravida's Flavors
Puravida, Oceana's own on-site restaurant serves a blend of International, Puerto Rican and Vegetarian cuisine to delight your palate in a very casual, cozy and intimate atmosphere.
Lounge
Puravida's comfortable lounge is a place to relax or have a good chat, enjoying a cup of freshly brewed espresso, made with Puerto Rican grown coffee beans. or a glass of wine or... what about a 'mojito', Hemingway's favorite pain killer.
Nearby Restaurants
Multiple restaurant options within walking and driving distance.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (107)

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
2.3
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CHKDIBUMPA
Hartford, CT, USA
Feb 9, 2012

CORRECTING THE PAST

we first was not going to stay due to the reviews but when myself and my sister got there we were welcomed with a big hello from a staff member, over the following days i met more of the staff they where all help full sat and talk with me when i became bored and even suggested places for me to go which turned out to be fun. they were polite and the whole experience was a great one they even went as far as to make sure i enjoyed my birthday with signing and a cake. the cook was delicious to look at as where his meals...I will be returning again and i suggested my brother to spend his aniversary there as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bebos resturant is just down the block and around the corner they have the best food in that area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vidal martinez
los angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Good for the money

checking in was easy. staff was nice. they had a nice small pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant. down the street across the street from the gas station on Mc Laire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggone
North Carolina
May 17, 2013

Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three nights and there was no maid service the second day! No one knew why not and we did not pursue the issue since we were leaving! Just a little work and this could be a very nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a Cab

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddddd
New york
Apr 14, 2013

Sucks

Worst place ever...non accommodating mold in bathroom pool so small and filthy couldn't stay a single night... Worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

Horrible Hotel

The pictures they have for this hotel are nothing what it looks like. We got there and the guy in the front was not polite at all. He showed us the pool which was pretty Disgusting and little. The were no elevators so we had to carry our own luggage up three flght of stairs. The room was disgusting i didnt even want to lay down on the bed. The bathroom stink was broken. The breakfast was absolutely disgusting. One banana some toast and some heated up pastries in the microwave. No parking when we came back late at night. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. YOU CAN GET A BETTER, NICER, CLEANER ROOM FOR THE PRICE THAT WE PAID!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ileana from CT
Connecticut
Nov 14, 2012

NOTHING LIKE THE PICTURES, DONT BE FOOLED!!!

TOO EXPENSIVE FOR THE CONDITIONS OF THE ROOM AND PLACE. The pictures on this website are nothing like what the hotel looks like. The pool is small and gross looking. the hotel is full of clutter. The staff was not polite at all. There were NO elevators and we had to carry our own bag up three flight of stairs. The room was small and dirty looking. The bathroom stink was broken not attached to the wall. The breakfast was disgusting. They gave you a banana, cold toast, and some re heated pastries. There was no parking at night when we came back. The only good thing was that the beach was a block away. I think for the price that we paid i def couldve gotten something way better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

ONCE OU LEAVE THERE THEIR ARE A LOT OF NICE PLACES IN THE AREA. GOOD FOOD AND ENTERTAINMENT.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
NO NO DONT STAY
New York
Nov 10, 2012

The WORST

This hotel is the worst! i will never recommend this hotel to no one! Everything was so out dated, the rooms were disgusting and the comforters on the beds had holes on them. The manager was very rude and disrespectful when we complained about the rooms. oops i almost forgot there was used dishes in the sink and the size of the pool was ridiculously small maybe less then 10 people could fit in that dirty small pool. i was so dissapointed in the hotel room and the hotel itself. PLEASE DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS "HOTEL"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CalBoricua
Antelope, California
Sep 23, 2012

California/Boricua

No elevator...Outdated appliances..Very low water pressure...one dresser and one night stand(dirty)...Fan full of old dust...we asked for the iron board and used in the bathroom to put our toiletries...every day we have to asked for towels... very thin walls...outdated mattress they added a foam with ripped corners and looks like a moving blanket on top...they will served you the breakfast, 2 pc toast one banana, one jelly,one butter,coffee and a cookie, you dont get to pick any of this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

We took the ferry from Fajardo to Culebra for a couple dollars...the ferry schedule at the port is not up to date...make sure you confirm both departures..Culebra beaches are beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pleasant traveler
washington dc
Sep 3, 2012

great time

Great staff very friendly and very close to the beach only a block away!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tashaunda
Minnesota
Jul 12, 2012

wasn't what i expected

they never cleaned our room unless we asked.And when they did clean they didn't sweep the floors. The staff was shady and when we asked questions the girls weren't that friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the ocean is a short distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
arthur from Chicago
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 6, 2012

Fooled

The hotel lacked beauty, wasn't at all what I expected, it's a huge downgrade for the needs that special something.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

It's perfect for a student overnight stay with no expectations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search