$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 12, 2015 Check-out: May 15, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
135 out of 135
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
los angeles,california
Jul 21, 2011

best location in san juan

is such a pleasant location, with everything a short distance walk

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

recommended for everithing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pomidori
Business
San Juan
Aug 5, 2014

Just check other offers

We went to have some fun time. We had it, but definitly not in Hostal Playero. The only good-average thing was location. But since buses are driving every 1-2h you really have to take a taxi to old San Juan which is about 20 bucks per ride. but still beach was 100m away. Room wasn't clean and it's not imposible to find some bugs in the room. One receptor (the young one) was really nice compared to other one (older). But unfortunately you can't expect good english from anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tortik
Business
Montréal
Jul 1, 2014

DONT GO THERE. Pay a bit more and go elsewhere

Everything is so hold. That reminds me my grandmother’s stuff. The blanket was discolored, the sheets have some stain, the painting was falling off the wall, and the floor was ugly. I was afraid to touch anything. That was awfully. The shower was so tiny I could not turn without touching the dirty wall. The internet connection is very unstable on 2nd floor and does not work on the 3rd floor. Through the windows we can see a section of the hotel that’s been abandoned. That’s ugly. Paying to see ugly stuff, old stuff, and little technology does not worth it. I will never go back there. The only advantage is that we are 2min walking from a big street with stores and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Versatil
Business
Lawndale, California
May 22, 2014

Fantastic

Fantastic. Thank you so much for pleasant stay, I love the pool, your staff very friendly.i really recommend you guys, the price is fantastic too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Citizen82
Business
annapolis md
May 11, 2014

Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little work. But where it lacked in upkeep and made up for in excellent staff, location and amenities. I definitely feel that I got my money's worth from this hotel and would recommend it to anyone that wants to visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To beaches, dinning, and shopping

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chali
Business
Palmyra, PA
Apr 1, 2014

Personal

This is my second time in this hostal, and the experience was worst that the first time. No ameniies available, no breakfast. The room in this ocassion was terrible.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
GeorgeH
Business
New York, New York
Mar 17, 2014

DO NOT STAY HERE

This was the worst "hotel" by far I have ever stayed in. My family and I were so disgusted by this hotel that we ended up taking the lost in this hotel and paying an extra two grand to stay at the Hilton Condado Hotel. You are paying a grand or two to stay in a place that feels like a half way house. The pictures are very misleading. The "pool" is the size of a large bathtub. There are no privacy in the rooms you can hear people in the hallway and rooms as if you are standing next to the person having a conversation. This hotel advertises "free parking" but good luck trying to find any because they only have three parking spaces in front of the place, one being a handicap space. The "sun roof" is the literal roof and there are no elevators so have fun trying to break your back bringing up your suit cases. All in all this "hotel" was just plain old disgusting, it should be shut down. For the price your paying you might as well go somewhere nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget solo traveler
Business
USA
Mar 16, 2014

Solid location, pure value hotel

Pros: 1 block from the beach, 15 mins to airport Cheap compared to other area hotels Decent little pool Good A/C Cons: Basic of basic - rooms are sparse and pretty lame Dirty - my bathroom had hair in the shower (glad my girlfriend didn't come with me or we wouldn't have stayed!) Staff reminded you were in a value hotel (not really friendly) Little cafe downstairs is overpriced and not too good I'd recommend this if you're looking to stay on the cheap in a good location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bahamas Honeymooners
Business
New Jersey
Mar 2, 2014

Laid-back vacation

Great escape, away from a modern hotel and town, really islandy hotel, very basic, perfect for couples who want to keep it simple. Great Puerto Rican hospitality - with maps and great ideas for us, private beach space is walking distance, local breakfast and lunch spot, small cozy pool, short taxi ride to Downtown San Juan or a fun walk, less than 30 minutes

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayC84mx
Business
NY
Mar 2, 2014

1st trip to PR

Hotel was average, Staff - super nice and helpful, overall enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vidal martinez
Business
los angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Good for the money

checking in was easy. staff was nice. they had a nice small pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant. down the street across the street from the gas station on Mc Laire.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top