$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 3, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
2.4
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.4
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.9

48% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ELF Family
Family
Puerto rico
Aug 25, 2014

Oceana Hostal Playero

Nice place, excellent price and location for few nights if you're going to be on Condado Area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Pomidori
Couples
San Juan
Aug 5, 2014

Just check other offers

We went to have some fun time. We had it, but definitly not in Hostal Playero. The only good-average thing was location. But since buses are driving every 1-2h you really have to take a taxi to old San Juan which is about 20 bucks per ride. but still beach was 100m away. Room wasn't clean and it's not imposible to find some bugs in the room. One receptor (the young one) was really nice compared to other one (older). But unfortunately you can't expect good english from anybody.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tortik
Single
Montréal
Jul 1, 2014

DONT GO THERE. Pay a bit more and go elsewhere

Everything is so hold. That reminds me my grandmother’s stuff. The blanket was discolored, the sheets have some stain, the painting was falling off the wall, and the floor was ugly. I was afraid to touch anything. That was awfully. The shower was so tiny I could not turn without touching the dirty wall. The internet connection is very unstable on 2nd floor and does not work on the 3rd floor. Through the windows we can see a section of the hotel that’s been abandoned. That’s ugly. Paying to see ugly stuff, old stuff, and little technology does not worth it. I will never go back there. The only advantage is that we are 2min walking from a big street with stores and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Versatil
Family
Lawndale, California
May 22, 2014

Fantastic

Fantastic. Thank you so much for pleasant stay, I love the pool, your staff very friendly.i really recommend you guys, the price is fantastic too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
World Citizen82
Single
annapolis md
May 11, 2014

Great Stay

Over all the our stay was excellent. The hotel was a little older and could have used a little work. But where it lacked in upkeep and made up for in excellent staff, location and amenities. I definitely feel that I got my money's worth from this hotel and would recommend it to anyone that wants to visit the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To beaches, dinning, and shopping

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Budget solo traveler
Single
USA
Mar 16, 2014

Solid location, pure value hotel

Pros: 1 block from the beach, 15 mins to airport Cheap compared to other area hotels Decent little pool Good A/C Cons: Basic of basic - rooms are sparse and pretty lame Dirty - my bathroom had hair in the shower (glad my girlfriend didn't come with me or we wouldn't have stayed!) Staff reminded you were in a value hotel (not really friendly) Little cafe downstairs is overpriced and not too good I'd recommend this if you're looking to stay on the cheap in a good location, otherwise look elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JayC84mx
Friends
NY
Mar 2, 2014

1st trip to PR

Hotel was average, Staff - super nice and helpful, overall enjoyed my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vidal martinez
Single
los angeles
Feb 3, 2014

Good for the money

checking in was easy. staff was nice. they had a nice small pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restaurant. down the street across the street from the gas station on Mc Laire.

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doggone
Couples
North Carolina
May 17, 2013

Good Deal

Grounds could stand some extra paint and cleaning! The room was clean and nice. We stayed three nights and there was no maid service the second day! No one knew why not and we did not pursue the issue since we were leaving! Just a little work and this could be a very nice place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Get a Cab

Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maddddd
Family
New york
Apr 14, 2013

Sucks

Worst place ever...non accommodating mold in bathroom pool so small and filthy couldn't stay a single night... Worst

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top