$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 7, 2015 Check-out: Apr 9, 2015

Oceana Hostal Playero

2 stars
View map of 1853 McLeary Ave., Ocean Park, San Juan, 00911

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Oceana Hostal Playero

Overall score

2.5 / 5
5.01.0
114 out of 114
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
2.7
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.8

47% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Goldcat
Business
Seattle, WA
May 31, 2009

You get what you pay for

The experience was not very pleasant, although the first room they provided was big, by the time my wife is ready to take a shower, the water pressure was just a trickle. The refrigerator does not work and most of the electrical outlets were not working. We got transfered to another room and this time it has water pressure but the room has a puddle at the middle of the room and the room smells musty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
You will feel comfortable
Business
Panama City Panama
May 30, 2009

retired

The staff was very freindly and very helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bigh, the traveler
Business
Los Angeles
May 2, 2009

A dump

We arrived along with a few other guest around 2:20, but they would not allow check in until exactly 3:00. The location of the hotel was just next to the beach, which was great, but a ways from San Juan. Approximately 3 - 4 miles. Many restuarants about a 20 minute walk from the hotel. As for the hotel I would suggest people pass on this one. It offers a continental breafast, skip it. We tried it once. The hotel was not very clean, had a strange smell. Floor in our room was dirty. From our room there was no view of any kind. The pool could be categorized as an over-sized bathtub. Mold in the shower and no window in the bathroom. My wife left her earrings on the sink, and after the second day they were gone, we filed a report, of course no word as of yet. After having paid when I made the reservation, they charged my credit card for the stay after we had checked out. Called the hotel, got no results, called Orbitz, still waiting for refund. On the whole, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, even just to sleep over night. Because of the uncleanliness, I did not feel comfortable there. It is a cheap hotel, but remember, you get what you pay for. On a stay such a stay as this, the hotel is not the attraction. We got up early and went to the beach until lunch. Again, the beach is just a 2 - 3 minute walk, and after that we went out to sight see until late and back just to shower and sleep. Bus stop near by and cabs galore. We chose to walk and ride the bus most of the time. I repeat, avoid this hotel if you can. Harold

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you know the city, renting a car would be a good idea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
FriendsonVacation
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 28, 2009

Off the beaten path

We visited this hotel the last weekend of march, 2009. We were somewhat skeptical about staying here at first from reading previous reviews, but gave it a try due in part to the price and proximity to the beach. Once we got there, we were pleasantly surprised! The hotel is not even a block away from the beach!! Upon arrival, we were upgraded from hotel rooms to villas which were HUGE! They could accomodate atleast six people each! The particular villas had king sized beds, full size futons as well as twin beds along with eat-in kitchens with table and chairs. The kitchens were also equipped with electric stove tops and refrigerators. This hotel is very laid back, relaxing and can be quiet romantic...day and night. They host a restaurant and bar in the hotel as well as a cozy lobby with big over-sized furniture that invites you to sit and not want to leave. There is also an open air courtyard area surrounded by plants and decorated with lights with scattered tables and chairs throughout which can invoke great conversation. A Lap pool is also situated in this area with a mosaic tile waterfall in front. The staff was always pleasant and helpful. A special thanks to Jorge for directions to Casa de Bacardi! I only have a few gripes... First..the water pressure is terrible in the bathroom shower and sinks! The shower water is literally a dribble. It's just enough water pressure for you to stand under the shower to get wet. Second..The wi-fi works well in the courtyard and lobby, but not in the rooms. Third..there is a shared deck that was in between my villa and the villa across the hall, located on the side of the hotel. This deck and wall that it is attached to, was covered in bird excrement. I suspect it comes from birds that feed on the beautiful, but overgrown tamarind tree that is planted in the courtyard and juts out onto the lower part of the roof. A simple power washing along with pruning the tree could make this a more enjoyable place to sit and look out onto the street below. Lastly...the continental breakfast has much to be desired. I think if the hotel offered some type of meat and/or eggs along with the borden's block of cheese, muffin, toast and fruit they already provide, would make breakfast a little more enjoyable. I would recommend this hotel if you are wanting to try something different. With it's electic, cozy and laid back atmosphere,it provides a welcome change to the usual hotel chain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

This hotel is about a 3-5 minute drive to Downtown Old San Juan. if you are looking for authentic food instead of the regular retsaurant chains...visit Cafe El puenta( spelling?) as well as the bubbling cauldron cafe. Great food!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Apr 27, 2009

awesome hotel!!!!!!!!!

omg!!! this hotel was awesome.... my bf and i stayed at the villa (which is their suite) it was clean & comfy...the hotel is near the beach the food and breakfast is good at the hotel i recommend you eat breakfast at the local spots to save money..this hotel is 20 minutes away from old san juan take the bus for $.75 and you will be happy with your site seeing..save save save your money for taxi if you need to go to the night clubs or the airport other wisw take the bus if you need to go in town....the hotel is near burgerking,walgreens,a church, all these places are walking distance... the hotel staff were very freindly,helpful and gave us every thing we asked for when we come back to puerto rico we will stay at oceana its the best and a good price!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! its not the RITZ CARLTON but is number one on my list

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
sniedel
Business
detroit, mi
Apr 25, 2009

non vacation location!

friendly service, but the food and the drinks are to expensive for a low level hotel like this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rivera83
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 22, 2009

You get what you pay for..Great Location

Great location. it is about half a block from awesome ocean park beach and hotel very accessible. it is between old san juan and isla verde. The breakfast could have been better. We preferred going to Dunkin Donuts than having string cheese, a banana, and Sunny D. Overall it was good value, we just went there to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Liz and Jeff
Business
Hampton, VA
Apr 22, 2009

Great place to stay...great value

The staff were all very friendly and accomodating. The atmosphere was relaxing and comfortable. Great location--close to San Juan and Condado Beach. There is a beach right around the corner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san jose, ca
Apr 22, 2009

rennovations

friendly staff, but slow with food and drink service. renovations were being done while we stayed so that was annoying, but it looked nice when they were all done. NO TELEPHONE in the room was bad. calling from my cell phone cost a ton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Supermax 24 hour grocery store.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Oceana Hostal Playero

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SW Travelers
Business
Santa Fe, NM
Apr 22, 2009

Hospitable, friendly and funky!

We had great interaction with some of the other guests due to the relaxed breakfast and dinners available on site. The hotel also arranged a delightful tour to the rainforest for us. We could walk to the beach, but it was too windy and rough to actually swim.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Easy to catch the bus home from the old town main bus depot, but tricky to catch the bus to town, as they don't come by very often.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top